We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up the Mount Summit”

Mount Maunganui Summit Track
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Mount Maunganui Self-Guided Audio Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Up the Mount Summit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are a moderstely fit couple in our 50's and we found this track challenging but rewarding. Certainly worth the hike up for the panoramic views and awesome photography opportunities

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,506
    355
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Around the Mount - one of the best walks ....ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a family tradition: whenever at the Mount, you walk around it. This is not the Summit track, but an easy walk that is suitable for all ages and abilities. Mostly flat and lined with gnarly old pohutukawas (New Zealand Christmas Trees) which flame with red blossom in the summer. There is the sea all around from the calm of the harbour to sloshy waves and the beautiful Mt. Maunganui beach. Ships enter the harbour just metres from the path. Suitable for baby strollers, children and older people. About 55 minutes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceduna, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hard but worth the views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great little hike and worth the effort. My kids dragged us up at 4.45pm (in winter - so it was nearly dark) and it was certainly worth it. Go on...just do it. If you are a fitness addict do what so many others were doing and run up to the top.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Finally knocked the B off!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A cloudy mid winter solstice was the perfect day to do the Mount! There was a good selection of paths and steps to the summit so I went with a slower friend and enjoyed some stunning vistas on the north side across Matakana Island and up the coast to Waihi Beach.
The heart was certainly pounding but the spots to stop, rest and gaze were frequent enough to encourage me to keep going. Thr sun came out as we reached the large summit area which had 360* views and plenty of kind folk to take a photo to prove you made it!
The steps down the eastern side were steep and the views of Mt Maunganui beach breathtaking ( I was very glad we hadn't scaled the hill on that side!)
I'll be back to do the circuit track and maybe the 'fast track'.
A Must do- shame I didn't do it 30 years ago on my first visit.

Helpful?
Thank margot_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Limbo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Mount Maunganui is an extinct volcano over 200m in height. This track is is too steep to call it a walk but at the same time too short to call it a hike. It's gets windy so a jacket is recommended but no other special gear is needed. It is easily accessible from the Maunganui town center but it is far enough away to require some planning beforehand.

The walk to the top takes about 30 minutes and the view is quite good. Drop by if staying in the area but not really worth a special detour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank E150A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Maunganui Summit Track also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Mount Maunganui Summit Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing