We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to have a warm soak”

Mount Maunganui Hot Salt Water Pools
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Mount Maunganui Self-Guided Audio Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a warm soak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had visited these pools previously on our last trip to NZ and returned again recently with our 2 young children for another swim.

The children's area was perfect for our 2.5 and 1 year old to have a paddle safely. Our oldest enjoyed the slide and just splashing around under the jets. My husband and I could still sit in the water and have a soak while keeping a close eye on the kids.

The hardest part is getting out of the nice warm pool and stepping into the cold air!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kated28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    101
    23
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Salt Water Pools”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great way to spend a rainy day. The salt water made you really buoyant and was fun. People of all ages were enjoying themselves so lovely and warm. We walked around the bottom track of the Mount and it was raining and cold so we headed for these pools to warm up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 523lync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm, wet and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was the nicest pool I have ever visited, you can swim, float or just stand under one of the many water jets and have a water massage. Great place you leave refreshed and warm.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for aching joints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We used the hot salt pools every day while staying at Mount Maunganui during a very cold week. They were crystal clear. The different temperatures of each pool were great. We started in the cooler pool and used the warmest last.On some occasions we even went back to the cooler pool to freshen up.Very relaxing and helps aching joints. Good to see an area roped off for walkers. An ideal place for people recovering from knee operations! There were several staff on duty at all times The changing rooms were clean and with nice warm showers.We will be back.
.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 42Allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
197 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Soak your aching joints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

After several long runs and walks at the Mount stopped in at pools after checking out of hotel. Was mild day but not cold. Changing rooms not heated. Not cheap at $10.00 per adult especially as we only stayed for an hour. Remember to take fresh water in with you to drink and rinse your face and eyes. See from other reviews a pass out is available. Heat would be hard to bear in summer..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VicnJen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Maunganui Hot Salt Water Pools also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Mount Maunganui Hot Salt Water Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing