We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a great week we had at the Pavilion's. We were made to feel extremely welcome by Tony and Raewyn (the Managers). Our room was set up perfectly for us as we arrived after hours. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from right at the front door. We loved going for walks around "The Mount". The beach right across the road meant the view from our apartment was constantly changing, watching large ships come and go, paragliding from The Mount and surfers catching a wave. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Mr Barry A
Thank you for taking the time out to write your response. We always appreciate contributing comments and will always try and excel further from them. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you utilized the many attractions that Mount Maunganui and the Pavilion Beachfront Apartments have to offer. We look forward to a possible return visit from you all. Stay safe and have a great year. Tony & Raewyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment,( 2a ) for ourselves and our son and his wife. They live overseas, and were really pleased with the views and location. The apartment was a bit dated, and 2nd bedroom a bit small. Also found the smell of cooking from the cafes a bit much and also the bottles being put in the big bins at night from the cafes annoying, Apart from that we would go back again.
.

Room Tip: 2a great view and deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Barbara B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have taken on board your points as we believe they are most valid. The apartment has just been purchased by new owners and they are looking at refurbishment. The size of the back bedroom is smaller I grant you that, however we are unable to resize it due to building codes etc. The onsite restaurant is currently working with the powers to be, to see if they can do more about lessoning the cooking odours from it. They have placed huge filter systems in the duct already. With respects to the bottle dumping. This is into the rubbish bins next door from the next door restaurants. Our body corporate has already sent letters of complaints to the Towers body corporate and they apparently looking at shifting the bins from that area.
We are pleased that you had a great stay and look forward to your return, where we will endeavour to assist you with making your stay even more memorable
Thank you again
Tony & Raewyn
Owners/Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Last minute search for accommodation and got a good deal on hotel.com for a 2 bed room apartment. High end with luxurious décor and amenities. Was well worth the price for 4 adults to stay. Full Kitchen meant we could cook and enjoy the fabulous view out to the pacific ocean.
Highly recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We took a 2 bed room unit with ocean views on the upper floors. The views are magic and well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony and Raewyn B, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Good morning Sanjay255068. We would like to thank you for taking the time out to place a review on Trip Advisor about our complex and your stay in it. It is very satisfying to know that you and your guests enjoyed your stay in what we regard as paradise, being able to enjoy the oceanviews from our spacious comfortable apartments. We look forward to your return where you will be able to allow us the privilege of making your stay even more memorable. Thank you again and have a magic year. Tony and Raewyn Business Owners/Managers Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely and close to the beach and shops - very comfortable bed, pillows and linen - shower has plenty of space for a wide 6' plus person - Car park is offroad at the back of the hotel and secure - ok the good stuff out of the way - Now what else are you paying for - front door to the room is not autolocking so please remember to secure the locking button - when you enter, beware the phone cable which is loosely attached to the wall - PLEASE ensure you either close the curtains to the room or the toilet area door if you use the toilet as pedistrians walking outside need only look into the room and can see you either seated or standing as you use - if you close the toilet area door, be aware of the excessive fan noise (hurricane) as there is NO external light or ventilation - whilst using the toilet you can not open the door or allow someone else into the area as the door will hit legs, its a tight area - toilet tissue dispenser is located in a very tight location (almost behind the user) - YOU CAN NOT use the bed with with the curtains open to enjoy the morning view or evening stars as footpath walkers have a CLEAR VIEW of you in bed! Please remember to pull the curtains and/or close the bedroom shutters (dusty) - No bedside lamps only ceiling fixtures - side tables are very cheap with paint chiping and do not suit the decor - table and chairs wobbled - decor furniture mismatched - no net curtains only sun/heating curtains over windows - electric kettle cheap, TV in bedroom 14" CRT on a network cable that snaked through the lounge (yes CRT), dvd player - radio in lounge would not change station - radio table was cheap - rubbish trucks on morning and afternoon collections STOP outside the hotel front door and make one hell of a noise - Did the business title match expectations, certainly NOT! The upstair rooms might be an improvement but I WILL NOT BE RETURNING to risk my piece of mind. Oh an NO air conditioning in the bedroom, only a ceiling fan in a closed off room with no external ventilation! Oh and lastly, when was the last time the fire alarms where dusted as they where thick over the grills......

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in advance of payment -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion A, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello Tim B, Thank you for your very detailed response review, I have passed it onto the owner of the Apartment that you chose to stay in. To address your comments as I believe that you have raised valid points that I wish to respond to. With respects to the rubbish trucks noise etc, this has been addressed by our Body Corporate again, with the complex next to the Pavilion as we speak. This particular issue has been ongoing with their rubbish collection. With respects to your other comments we are sorry that you chose the ground floor apartment to then discover that you were not pleased with it, Had you informed us during your stay we would have shifted you to one of the same costing upstairs on the side or back of the complex. I appreciate all views and comments because this is what helps our client satisfaction grow. However I do feel that had you raised any issue with us, we would have addressed it straight away for you. I am not sure if you knew the client with the response before yours, but they do seem to be have the same or similar wording. I have also informed Fire Security of your comments as they inspect and test all alarms monthly. As you have stated you wont be back, I will be unable to offer you a complimentary upgrade that would have allowd you a higher priced full oceanview apartment.
All the best for your future stays and thank you again for your comments, Tony Owner/Manager Pavilion Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great view, close to the Mount, cafes, restaurants and hot pools. Comfortable bed.
High seats at the high outside table give an excellent view of the Mount and the bay.

However:
This was NOT 5-star luxury accommodation, more like two or three stars at a 5-star cost.
Wifi cost $5 for 2 hours. When that ran out, we couldn't get more because the office had closed at 6 pm. This left plenty of time to record all the other things wrong about the place.
The TV channel could only be changed from very close to the set. The CD/radio was stuck on one local station. The owner-manager was casual in the extreme about these when we arrived, almost suggesting we were wrong to want to listen to or watch anything but what was now playing. (It was these that most soured our mood towards the place, and should be considered in reading any reply he makes to this.) Apart from this lack of service, many small things were second-rate:
The floor fan was dirty
The standard lampshade was faded
The pictures looked like pieces of wallpaper and were faded
The bar stools were corroded and too high for the kitchen bench
The low trolley was corroded
The mismatched furniture looked as though it had been bought from St Vincent de Paul
One of the dining chairs was rocky
The bedroom TV was a 14" CRT on a long cable running along the living room floor and through a doorway, showing only the same channel as the big TV, and one couldn't change channels from the bedroom.
The TV wiring was untidy
Both TVs (not HD), the DVD player and hot water jug, were all of minimum quality (bought from The Warehouse?)
There were no net curtains, making us choose between the view and privacy. The layout gave a clear view of a person on the toilet from the street (picture)
A martini-glass cutout in the gate from the street to the front courtyard allows passers-by to peep into the rooms (picture)
The glass salad bowl was chipped
Some of the cutlery and crockery was missing.
The fire alarm was clogged with dust
The bathroom fan was noisy.
The bedside tables, on strange large wheels as if for a hospital, had chipped paint,
and a cup-mark.
One of them blocked the bedroom-bathroom door, making it not truly en-suite (The poor design of the apartment has three doors close together where two should suffice)
There were no bedside lights, only downlights
The guest guidebook was unprofessional and confusing (Does the office really close at
the same moment that check-in begins on weekends, 2 pm?)
The policy on late checkouts is contradictory (are they available or not? It says they might be.) and harsh - starting to clean a unit after 11am should not cost late-departing guests another whole night's fee.
We only learnt that there was a washing machine and dryer in one cupboard as we were about to leave.
This was not a bad apartment - but for a tariff more like $100-125, not $200. The quality of the building and amenities would justify two or three stars at most. The lack of service made it a one-star experience for us.
I had no time to list all of this when checking out (there was no feedback form), and the manager seemed more inclined to argue the point than simply undertake to fix things.

Room Tip: From the photos, the upper rooms may be better. Room 1B seems full of hand-me-downs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hugh7_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

As much as I appreciate reviews and build from them, sometimes I wonder how you can further help people to make sure that they have had a magic experience. In this case on Mr Rall's I believe we as Owners/Managers did everything possible to make the two gentlemen's stay as comfortable as possible. The secure wifi (which in fact was $10 worth) @$5NZD where you can log in and out is owned by the provider, so this is a service we offer our guests. It can be purchased from the office or direct online. The design on the gate was completed by the developer 14 years previous, the front ranch-slider doors have roll up sun-blinds, The furniture was supplied by an interior designer, and as these are individually owned apartments that we contract to let, I have passed these valuable comments onto the owner to look at a possible refurbishment. The $5000NZD King bed and all the new linen have been installed in the apartment mid last year. I personally went in when asked to, to rectify the TV and Radio problem, once I turned on the 80 plus guest select decoder, all channels worked, and the radio had been shifted onto a odd channel frequency, however got it working and the guests decided they didn't require it on. I totally agree that the design of having 2 doors leading into the ensuite from the bedroom is poor. The back door by the bedside cabinet has never opened as it has no handles etc. Any other items that the guest has bought to our attention are being addressed as we speak. Upon a guests departure, we always ask about their stay, and if there had been any items to address, we would act on it immediately. If Mr Rall's wishes to again stay with us, we will give him and his partner an upgrade to a higher floor at the same cost, to allow him to review what clients pay extra for. Thank you Tony Brindle Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We arrived, tired, in Mount Maunganui after driving from Paihia. We parked, saw this place and decided to see if there was a room. The door was locked but the door phone was answered. We stated our needs and were offered a one bed ground floor apartment. Thankfully it was just perfect. Spacious, clean, full kitchen, comfortable bed, outside seating and looking out on the beach. Exactly what we needed. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion A, Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Julia T
We would like to thank you for your lovely comments and were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation after your long drive. We trust that the rest of your journey was up to your expectations, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again.
Thank you
Tony and Raewyn Brindle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a three bedroom suite. It was very nicely accommodated. front desk is only open limited hours, but key fobs get you or your car out of building. It's located just across the street from the beach where you can rent surfboards and kayaks, and it's short walk to a trail that winds around the mount. nice showers and well equipped kitchen. wifi is free for two hours, but then only $5 an hour. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay an would stay here again if we ever get back to Mt. Maunganui.

Room Tip: You have only a limited view of the ocean from most rooms. If you really want to have a view, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you Cabojim for your well thought out constructed views of the Pavilions. Yes our office hours may be limited compared to overseas complexes, but as we are not a large 24 hour complex, we believ that our hours of open work (7am - 7pm) along with being contactable by phone 24 hours, works well in most all cases. We would love to have an operation that we could open 24 hours. But thank you again and we look forward to accommodating you again.
Tony and raewyn - Pavilion beachfront Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#4 of 57 in Tauranga
1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
127 reviews
4.3 mi away
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Ma...
#9 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Marine Parade | Main Beach, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £143 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pavilion Beachfront 5 Star Luxury Apartments are located on the Main Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, East Coast Surf Beach. We have 1,2,3 and Penthouse Non-Serviced Apartments, which are fully self contained with full kitchens, Laundry, 80+ Guest select Sky TV, Minibars, Balconies, Free Secure Carpark and an Onsite Restaurant. We have Partial Seaview apartments on the side and back of the complex as well as full Oceanfront Apartments. All apartments are Non-Smoking inside, but smoking is allowed on the outside balconies which all apartments have. The 2 Bedroom Oceanfront Apartments have 2 bathrooms and have either 2 Queen beds or 1 Queen and 2 Single Beds. Some Apartments have foldout sofa beds on request. Just Park the car and walk to the famous cafe's, the Mount Natural saltwater Hot Pools, or into the Town centre within 5 minutes from the complex. Just sit on your Balcony with a wine in hand and watch the Ships and Cruise Ships go in and out of our famous Tauranga Port, or watch the beautiful Sunsets. Come and enjoy paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing