We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room, great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was very impressed with the staff both when I reserved the room over the phone and the counter staff when we arrived. Great room 338, with the view between the Twin Towers, beautiful gardens below and great location. Spacious rooms and loved the spa bath. Perfect place to stay for a night away.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pipolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    76
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
30
81
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spacious apartment with great facilites, comfy large bed and large spa bath. Due to being in Room 338 - a view of the beach between the two towers. We loved it - though was disappointed that when booked three night minimum with Wotif no mention about no room service (unless you pay). Any stay more than 3 nights then they will change towels, replenish tea & coffee etc - every couple of days. Thought that was a bit poor - particularly as you don't realise this until you read the room folder. Was there for AIM Games - Intermediate/Middle School sports tournament and we could have easily stayed for two weeks! Plenty of space in pantry & washing machine for longer stays. Mattress on fold out couch thin & uncomfortable for daughter but fixed problem by adding another mattress from the other couch & she become the princess & the pea.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an ocean view - Room 338 in the resort was just great. Would be a real shame to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeNZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights whilst on business. Executive studio is huge with massive comfortable bed, big wide screen TV & good sized bathroom with excellent shower pressure & hot water.
Lovely friendly & engaging reception staff (thanks Shannon!) The decor is somewhat dated compared to other hotels BUT the cleanliness & service makes up for this. The sauna is a good size & is efficient (have stayed other places where sauna is tiny & lukewarm) Didn't try out the gym or pools but again they were a good size. Directly opposite hot pools & the Mount and close to both beaches. Oodles of lovely cafes nearby too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaScorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This resort is situated right at the base of the Mount, less than 1 minute walk from a patrolled surf beach, and a range of cafes, so the location is perfect. The spa pool is enormous and a great place to relax after climbing the Mount. However, room choice is critical here. I strongly recommend ensuring you get a room with a sea view. There is at least a $20 surcharge for this on top of the rack rate, but it is worth every penny. Not only do these rooms have a million dollar view, they are also a lot quieter. Our one bedroom apartment was very clean, modern and comfortable.
But the amenities are incredibly miserable: no fresh milk, coffee plungers but no coffee (you have to purchase this), 2 thin old towels to last for 2 people for 4 nights as there is no room service, and although there is a guest laundry, you will have to pay for laundry powder. Come on Oceanside! At $180 - $280 per night, you should be providing your guests with service and amenities commensurate with your claims of luxury accommodation.

Room Tip: Always confirm you are getting a room/suite with a sea view when booking. This 'resort' is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank verzaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were in a 1 bedroom unit on the second floor. Here you get a nice view from a good balcony.
It is an apartment, well furnished and equipped, very large, washer, dryer, dishwasher-
everything !
The location is excellent, at the end of the peninsula across from the beach and the mountain. There is good public transportation right outside, restos, shops but the main grocery store is a bit far away - you need a cab or take the bus. There are nice parks nearby and a hike up the mountain is recommended for a wonderful view.
The price is not cheap but normal for NZ.

Room Tip: Upper floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I found that it could be a bit noisy at night when people were walking past my room, but other than that had a pleasant experience.

The room was quite large with couch, dining table and kitchen. The bed was huge. Bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Did a last minute booking for business. Had a huge studio suite with decent TV with all the sky channels. The bed was decent and was a king ... not that I needed it that big but it's nice to be able to dump all your stuff on the bed and still have room to sleep without having to move anything!

Place was super clean, staff were professional and friendly without being over the top creepy friendly like some hotels.
The sauna was great, the gym was well appointed.

The room was super clean and the towels were so soft it was like drying yourself with the easter bunny.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Property: Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing