We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but no free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great location, but no free wifi”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I first stayed here back in 2010, and have come here regularly since. Being an ex-local I lamented the demolishing of the Oceanside tavern, and the immediate area, but also saw the inevitability of the redevelopment of the area. The new restaurants at ground level serve the area well, the hot pools across the road have been redeveloped too, a new boardwalk on the beach front and improved facilities, together with the reforestation of the 'mount' volcano and what I remember as 'leisure island' have improved the look and feel of the area since the 70's there is no doubt.
The hotel rooms are large spaces, complete with basic kitchens, with fridge, microwaves, fridges, and plates/cutlery. there is a heated pool and spa, and gym. I found the service excellent, and there was secure parking in the basement. This place is all about location, and it's about as good as it gets, being right next to the beach, the mountain, and the hotpools. However, they let themselves down severely by being stingy with wifi, charging $25 for a 10 hour block is a ridiculous when you've already paid a premium to stay here. Free wifi would have hit this place a lot more 'excellent' votes I'm sure!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeroenSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    79
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
84
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Quite simply, everything you need!

The rooms are clean, spacious, serviced daily, fully stocked if you want to cook for yourself and have quiet heat pumps/ air conditioning.

The mountain, the sea, cafés, restraints all within a minutes walk.
Some wonderful shops, bars, restraints and cafés as well as a children's playground just a 5 to 10 minute walk way.

Staff are helpful an polite.
Looking forward to my third time back there in a couple of months.



Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GMtech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on my first trip to Tauranga and this place was very nice. Excellent views, clean and comfortable rooms. The location was excellent very peaceful right next to the wonderful beach. Will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorercarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location with friendly staff. Can't wait to come back and stay in Summer with the kids. Lots of shops and great restaurants close by. Huge apartments! Very spacy and definitely the best apartments and size kitchens I have seen in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwigirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for the close location to the ocean and Mt Maunganui. There are lots of cute restaurants and shops nearby. However you would have to drive to the actual center of Tauranga. The rooms are big with a nice kitchen, but a little long in the tooth. We had a ground floor by the entrance with a view of "the Mount" which actually was pretty quiet.

Room Tip: You might like a higher floor for more privacy. Pick a view of the mountain as any other side would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kristin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are absolutely massive and layout is ok. Entry and exit before & after hours seems to be a little clumsy but everything was otherwise great. Aircon would have been ++ as weather was humid.

First time in Tauranga therefore am not sure about the price point.

Good food options around and general great atmosphere compared to Tauranga city centre.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if I can find a good deal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mellies_world01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Arrived here late in the day, looking for somewhere close to beach and restaurants for an overnight stay. Greeted by friendly helpful staff at reception and booked into a studio apartment smoothly. The room was clean and tidy but felt it was a little dated. Due to our late arrival in town there was not a lot to choose from and the apartment we got was ground floor level with no view apart from other buildings. Not really a problem as we were only after somewhere to stay for the night before moving on but did feel it was overpriced.
Very handy to beach, local restaurants and shops

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.0 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,087 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#5 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
194 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers

Property: Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Address: 1 Maunganui Road, PO Box 5032, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Maunganui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers offers premium Mount Maunganui hotel and apartment accommodation. You can't beat our superb location - we're nestled directly under the famous Mauao at Mount Maunganui and right opposite the beautiful main beach. Whether you are travelling to Mount Maunganui for a family holiday, business or corporate trip, or just for a weekend getaway - Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers has something to suit you. Our accommodation includes: • Resort Executive Studio guestrooms • Resort One Bedroom Suites • Resort Two Bedroom Suites • Resort Honeymoon Suite • Twin Tower 2 Bedroom Apartments with a garden, harbour or ocean view • Twin Tower 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment Exquisite Location: Oceanside Resort and Twin Towers is ideally located for you to make the most of everything Mount Maunganui has to offer. From your accommodation you have access to one of the country's most popular surf beaches, a plethora of walking tracks up and around the dormant volcano, and wide array of cafes, bars and restaurants. Perfect for Conferences: We have a well-equipped Conference Room and Board Room available for hire - combine it with our hotel accommodation and you'll have a corporate event to remember! Onsite facilities include two heated pools, gym, sauna, parking, internet and cafes & restaurants with charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Twin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing