We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui
Nearby Hotels
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Wave Motel(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baywatch Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westhaven Motel(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Belle Motel(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Motel(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquarius Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Palm Motel(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Atrium Apartments(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
27
12
4
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
12
4
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousefish and chip shopfull kitchenwithin walking distancelaurenbbqdishwashermotelapartmentensuite
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked in here for five nights in the school holidays. It had lots of good points and some not so good. It was a lovely surprise to find it was serviced every day. Lots of little extras like paper towels, chocolates, tea bags, coffee, toilet paper replenished every day. They could do with some more towel rails in the bathrooms - just not enough for a family of four. Also some hooks in the kitchen to hang the hand towel and tea towel would be really good.

The owner was very helpful when the toilet cistern wouldn't stop running - he fixed it straight away.

It really was too noisy at night with the traffic. The hush glass didn't make a lot of difference. It is situated on the main road to Papamoa. Also the walls are paper thin and you could hear every movement next door.

The kids enjoyed the spa. We probably won't stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Joanne1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

By booking the accommodation I asked for a ground floor unit but was told that not one was available for that specific time. During our stay I noticed that not one ground floor unit was occupied and we were the one of the very few guests.

From the outside it looks all nice and looked after, however on the inside it was another story.
The sea view was nowhere to be seen.
We ended up in an en-suite room on the first floor beside the owners apartments, that was the end of our freedom leaving, arriving and all our doings were checked, we could hear the arguing from the hosts easily through the walls. A sliding door between the apartment and the passage what could not be called a door could not be closed properly.
The building smelt mouldy overpowered by a chlorine smell.
The room very small, a bed with walls and we were only able to walk around on our side around what meant no place for our suitcases which ended up in the bathroom, no chair or table, very few plugs. When you had the heater plugged in this left no plugs for charging your phone. The room was also very noisy by the street traffic as the motel is situated along a main road, also there was no off street parking for the car.
The shower flooded badly and thanks for a little drain beside the toilet it did not run into the room. Just one towel rail which just fitted a hand towel and the worst no curtain for the bathroom window.
First evening the TV did not work, as it was already late the owner should have a look at it the next day, next day it stopped working after 5 minutes and he did know what it was and we were left without TV again. The day after it he told he knew the problem and in the evening it did not work at all anymore. We were so fed up, that we gave up altogether.

Room Tip: The groundfloor at the rear of the complex.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pluisthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our time at the Boatshed was perfect in every way. Clean units and very comfortable beds Serviced daily Handy to all amenities .Beach across road Our hosts couldn't do more
Recommend to anyone staying in the Tauranga area Will stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack007Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was a lovely surprise. Close enough for all local amenities, Walking distance to the beach and heaps of space to relax in our apartment at the end of the day. Hosts, Rae and Ken were very informative of things to see and do locally. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Unit 4 was our choice with lovely see views. At the end of the day we sat out on our deck and enjoyed a BBQ
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Have now stayed at The Boastshed three times and never been disappointed. Well equipped apartments, spotlessly clean and serviced daily. The hosts Rae & Ken are most welcoming and go that extra mile to help. Great to find free WiFi too. Not only that, they rang when I left some clothes in the bedside table drawers to find out how they could return them,. That is real hospitality service. Many thanks for another great stay.

Room Tip: The apartments facing the sea are the quietest
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blades001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews