We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Affair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calais Mount Resort
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked 3 nights and were given 1 free total 4 nights.

It was my mothers funeral and we were sad - When we booked in they also had upgraded us from a one bedroom to a three bedroom so our children from overseas could stay with us which was so thoughtful.

The rooms were very tidy, quiet and there was excellent secure parking.
Will go back there again.

Room Tip: We had a middle room which was very quiet. Second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 523lync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Calais Mount Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Yes, it is a good location, good price, not new but has everything you need. I'm always a little amused though when you go to the reception when checking out and they just take your $1000 and never bother asking you how your stay was, how did you find the service etc. etc.? Last year we had our unit properly serviced once during our 7 day stay. This year it wasn't serviced at all during our same 7 day stay. ???

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were 4 school friends catching up for a couple of days and decided on Mt Manganui. Calais was very reasonably priced and location was appealing. We were delighted to be upgraded to the penthouse upon arrival. Staff were very helpful during our stay. Easy walking distance to cafes, shops and attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJMaitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Fantastic location.Ideal for Families. Cleaning needs to be improved unless you are partial to cobwebs and poorly vacuumed carpet.Still good value for money if you can look past this.Attention to detail could make this a perfect place to stay for a long-term holiday. Well appointed apartments.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRetiredCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A friend and I spent one night here last night. A last minute booking after a days shopping at the Mount. The apart was reduced to a very good price for us by lady on reception as it was the smallest room available for the night. For which we were really grateful. The two rooms apart can sleep up to 6 people. Very spacious bedrooms, lounge area, dining room and other seating/pull out couch area. Huge deck area also. Bathroom on the smaller side, but still plenty of room.
Only negative was lighting, not very well lit rooms, but still ok. Underground parking for 1 car, but the lady let us put the two cars in for one night. Parking area a little tight for bigger cars, but I managed. Very close to harbour and ocean beaches. Close walk to town, About 10mins tops. Great icecream parlour virtually next door. Hot pools across the road. We spend 5-6 weeks here each summer in the holiday park across the road. So know the area very well. Nice to stay in an apartment for a change. And it would be ideal for holiday place to stay, so close to everything. Mount Bistro is down stairs here. Meals a bit pricey, but it seems to be regularly busy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here two nights while husband on business. Weather was atrocious so great to have basement parking and lift. Check in very quick and efficient, rooms getting a bit dated and as we were on ground floor there was no view except neighbouring high risers. Wouldn't want to stay here in high season as it was a bit noisy. Suited our purpose though and a great location

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Nicely located at the base of the mount and close to the sea and beach.

Check in was quick and easy, and very friendly. The room had everything I needed. Large double bed, flat screen TV, stereo system, kitchenette with fridge, cooker, microwave, sink and all the cutlery and crockery you need. The bathroom is a God send with a huge jacuzzi bath, sink, shower, washing machine and tumble drier.

A double door between the corridor and the living space stopped any outside noise from within the hotel, however my sleep was rudely awoken early in the morning by roofing works being carried out on a property outside my double doors/balcony, not the fault of the Calais Mount Resort though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atrium Apartments
The Atrium Apartments
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mission Belle Motel
Mission Belle Motel
#4 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#10 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calais Mount Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calais Mount Resort

Address: 6 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calais Mount Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the base of Mount Maunganui opposite the famous Salt Water Hot Pools which each guest will get a 20% discount card for multiple visits during your stay. 1 minute walk from the Harbour, cafes and Main Beach. Onsite Award winning restaurant 'The Mount Bistro' Apartments range from Studios through to Two Bedroom + Conservatories. We offer one of the lowest corporate rates in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calais Mount Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing