We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tudweiliog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gerwen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Tudweiliog B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We came here with our friends for a weekend. A lovely clean place, spotless. Gwenda was a fabulous host. Breakfasts were spot on. Excellent value for money and would return. Didnt find anywhere good to eat out though. Lion was disappointing. Just ok for a drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stingray81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

All I can do is ask you to read the very first review by Strumble. Nothing has changed. If you want a very early breakfast Gwenda will be up to cook it. The place is immaculate and a great location for a stop off if you are walking round the Lleyn Peninsula. The only thing missing is a sea view but you will have plenty of time for viewing the sea if you are walking round this part of Wales! The twin room with breakfast only £54, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We end up there to have a bite to eat on a sunny saturday, which made us wanting to return.
But, this time after walking 12km.
We were welcome by Caroline which after telling us we had missed the bus and that the taxis were very expensive for us to return home, kindly gave us a lift!!!

We were overwhelmed with such kindness.

Clearly we had to go back, this time....with a vehicle!

Strongly recommend to try this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langres, France
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Nice welcome from Gwenda, who lokked quite busy due to the fact she has family visitors at home.
Beautiful house, clean everywhere, with a large and well done car park located in a small village.
The room is large, good beds, welle equipped, coffe and tea facilities.
The bathroom is not ensuite, which is indicated on the web site but needed shampoo , shower gel ... not provided. We believe it was just a mistake.
The breakfast was delicious and strong enough to allow two French motor bikers to avoid a "pit stop" for lunch. Price is acceptable.
A good pub , the Lion is just 100 m far from the B&B, which is convenient and permit to let any vehicle on the car park.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We booked Gerwen to attend a family wedding in the area, so whilst accomodation was not the key reason for the visit, we were not disappointed.

The recommendation came from another B&B, and i guess if you are going to recommend another business you don't do so lightly.

The welcome from Gwenda the owner was great & we immediately felt at home. The room and facilities in general were very good and comfortable. Nice touches like proper tea & coffee & shortbread fingers in the room helped.

Our weekend was busy, and we had to leave early for work ( before 6am ). We told Gwenda that breakfast on day two was not required due to our departure time.It was a great surprise to be told that getting up to provide us with breakfast at 5.30am would not be a problem - i can't ever remember that in all my years of travelling .

The location was beautiful, only wish we were able to spend more time on the peninsula.

First time in wales, first time in Tudweiliog, will be back & Gerwen will be top of the list.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weegiesGandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We booked last minute on our way home from a holiday in South Wales. We could not believe our luck. We were warmly greeted by the owner who was extremely friendly and helpful, going out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The bedroom was elegant and homely with a range of refreshments. The bathroom, although not ensuite, was only for our use and was pristene. The towels were clean, soft and fluffy and reminded us of a luxury hotel rather than a B&B.
After a sound nights sleep we went into the dining room where our breakfast was brought to us. (We chose what we wanted from a menu the night before.) The breakfast was made freshly, and certainly one of the best cooked breakfasts we have had in a long time.
Excellent value for money. We wish we could have stayed longer!
We would wholeheartedly recommend this outstanding B&B!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigan_webbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I have recently returned from a short stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. There were no reviews on Trip Advisor and since the bed and breakfast bungalow is not listed by any tourist board I wanted to write a review to sing the praises of this lovely place. I know the Llyn Peninsula very well having visited for more years than I care to mention. The magnetic pull of the place continues to exert a strong attraction. I have stayed in many places nearby over the years and knew the village of Tudweiliog well. Google Earth helped me pinpoint the bungalow from looking at the photos on Gerwen's simple but accurate webpage. I decided to book hoping that it would be ok.

I need not have worried! This is a spotlessly clean, modern bungalow in an excellent position with off road parking. Do not give any thought to the lack of tourist board stars. Gerwen does not need any - you will soon find out that you have made a good choice. The bungalow has a shared bathroom but as I understand it the owner usually lets her two rooms to couples who know each other. You are unlikely to be meeting strangers at the bathroom door. I travelled with my mother and we had one room each. Naturally we were quite happy to share the bathroom. As it is a bungalow everything was ideal for my mother who has limited mobility. Usually I manage to find fault with old or lumpy beds- not here. We both slept extremely well.

Breakfast was lovely too. Fresh fruit, cereals, full English etc. Both rooms had a kettle and tea making facilities.

Every evening there was a fantastic coal fire lit. So cosy to come back to on a chilly evening. We really felt like we were at home sitting in front of the TV or reading.

Tudweliog itself is a small village based around the "main" road along the top of the peninsula. A great place for visiting the area and so close to the most beautiful beaches of Porth Towyn, Porth Iago, Porth Colmon and nearby Porth Oer (Whistling Sands). The RNLI station at Porth Dinllaen is near as is Morfa Nefyn and the golf course. Plenty of places to eat nearby too.

The Llyn peninsala really is a fantastic place and Gerwen is somewhere we would happily return to.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank strumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gerwen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerwen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gerwen Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tudweiliog, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tudweiliog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tudweiliog
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gerwen Bed & Breakfast Tudweiliog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing