We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borve Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Borve B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food, great owner!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but were lucky enough to have a lovely meal in the restaurant. The dining room staff was operating short handed due to a family death, but they tried their best to pick up each other's slack and for the most part did a very commendable job. They appeared to work very well as a team.

The menu offered a wide variety of dishes, and what we ordered was prepared very well indeed. My only possible complaint would be that the portions were overly generous, but that's not a drawback for everyone. At one point during our meal, the owner stopped by our table and told us a bit about the history of the hotel and restaurant and how he came to own it. He very generously gave us a quick tour of the hotel's guest houses after we were finished eating. We enjoyed talking with him and would consider the chance to meet him as one of the definite attractions of Borve Hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggywinkle1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    38
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
23
71
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We hired a room for a birthday party. We started off in downstairs bar where we had to go and find someone to serve at the bar after 20 minutes or longer waiting. After finally tracking the "'manager" down, we were told "We're fully booked in the restaurant and run off our feet". Basically - "You're not getting a drink". Thankfully, one of our crowd who knows the staff well, went to find someone to serve us and was successful. Then, we were were approached by said "manager", who moaned to us that "the kitchen are getting restless". This was despite the fact the table was booked for 7pm. We were approached by
the manager at quarter to 7 and everyone was there before 7. When we were taken up to the room, the staff promptly left and we were left to it. No-one came to tell us we would have to go up and down the stairs to get our own drinks. Nice touch guys!!! Food finally came, well some of it, and was average. We were told to help ourselves to glasses. If you're a fan of self-service, Borve House is the place for you! "Management came to complain about the noise. There were less than 20 of us, no music etc and we were definitely not noisy. Perhaps if there had been the proper ratio of staff employed that night, there would not have been people up and down for rounds of drinks. Towards the end of the night, the aggressive "manager" approached one of our tables and spoke to one of our guests in a very derogatory manner. After telling him the drinks, a whole round of around 6 drinks including a bottle of wine, were going to be poured down the sink, she proceeded to tell him "these drinks are for the sink". She then told us to "drink up and get out". All in all, we are very disappointed in what was meant to be a special birthday celebration. I would definitely recommend not to book this place for any sort of celebration or function unless you are not from the island, are throwing money at the place or are special guests of the owners. This place should really look after their own first of all. I can safely say that despite most of the staff being very pleasant and knowing the chefs are talented, I and other guests of the party celebrations will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mermaid1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I had a disappointing meal in the restaurant of this hotel on our last night in the Hebrides - badly cooked and tasteless steak. My husband had previously stayed here and really liked the hotel, so we are hoping that this was just a one-off. The chalets are very well-equipped although the rather exposed location of them is not to my taste. As ever in the Hebrides, the service was charming and the management did reduce the bill (we hardly ever complain about food, incidentally - we're normally very positive. My husband's steak wasn't as bad as mine.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RideYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Harris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

First time at Borve Country House Hotel.

The meal was lovely. As a group we had arranged to stay in one of the Chalets. Again, fab, all very new looking. Light, airy and spacious. Lovely decor & spotlessly clean.

In summary lovely relaxing evening with a group of friends. Already planning a return. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed in self catering chalets and they were amazing. Very clean, modern furniture and appliances. Excellent bed. Well equipped kitchen. Nice deep bath. Location is brilliant. Staff were absolutely excellent and good attention to detail. Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotislander123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Borve County House Hotel at the end of October 2013. We chose Borve for B & B because we were spending 5 days in the area, while carrying out a house clearance and settling affairs for a family member who had died suddenly a few weeks earlier. Although we tried to make a holiday of our visit, the circumstances were obviously stressful and it was a very sad time for us. When the staff heard of our difficulties, we were upgraded from a bedroom in the hotel to one of the beautiful chalets to give us more privacy and space during our stay, which we greatly appreciated. We dined in the hotel every night and found the meals to be excellent without exception. Indeed it became a welcome haven for us to return to every evening after the stresses of the day!

We would like to very much thank Greta, Lewis and the girls who, with their help and kindness, made our stay much more bearable. We would wholeheartedly recommend the Borve Hotel and would hope to return there some day but under happier circumstances!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynG792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently had the great pleasure of staying in the Borve House Hotel. Having previously visited a number of years ago it was a pleasant surprise to witness the newly upgraded facilities. The whole building has been totally transformed. The original building, where we stayed, has been extensively renovated to an exceptionally high standard and we were also privileged to be shown around some of the newly built self- contained cottages. To complement the fantastic facilities and beautiful surroundings we also received a very warm Hebridean welcome. In particular we would like to thank Dougie, Kay, Greta and Lewis who could not have done more to make our stay as memorable as it was. We very much hope to return soon. Calum & Mairi

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calumamacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borve
14.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
16.7 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
14.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hal O' the Wynd
Hal O' the Wynd
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borve Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borve Country House Hotel

Property: Borve Country House Hotel
Address: Borve, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Borve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Borve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Borve Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borve Country House Hotel Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing