We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, excellent staff, great location”

Borve Country House Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Borve
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
260 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent staff, great location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We chose Borve Hotel as it was recommended as a great place for food following a day touring the west coast of Lewis and we were not disappointed. The staff are very attentive, but not overly pushy, very pleasant and welcoming. The menu choices were excellent, something for everyone, even our vegetarian. The service was very quick and the food plentiful, beautifully presented and delicious. We mentioned how pleased we were with our meal and service to a charming gentleman who came to chat to us, not realising at that stage that it was the owner, Mr MacGillevary. He then very kindly gave is a tour of one of the hotel's self catering cottages which looked very comfortable, beautifully furnished. He should be very proud of his excellent local team of staff and their excelllent food and service. This is one place you should dine or stay when visiting the Isle of Lewis. You would not be disappointed I am sure. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely country meal!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

+
My partner and I went here round about August,a bit of spontaneity! We already went here for our first romantic meal together,in November 2012.It is situated just about a mile down the road from where I live,so I know most of the staff,they are all very helpful,friendly,and very welcoming.The atmosphere and ambiance is lovely,the service is always very good,and most of all,you get a lovely meal well worth paying for! Keep up the good work! Thank u!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmeralda850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Went with friends for dinner. The service was so friendly and the menu varied. My meal was very nice. Everyone enjoyed their meals, and most had no room left for pudding as the portions are more than decent! The wine was very good and inexpensive too. Everything looked freshly cooked and the food good quality at a reasonable place. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RingwoodHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little disappointed!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We visited last month for an eve meal. We had scallops to start and they were beautifully presented and very tasty! Main course was pork belly which we love but it was very disappointing! The meat was dry and a little tough! The fat was soft and hairy which was rather unsightly and unappetising to look at! Sweet was amazing - mint aero cheesecake! Service was excellent - a very pleasant, obliging and efficient waiter!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annadhubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had a super meal here. Service very friendly and good.
Food was delicious. There were three of us and each ate 2 Fish courses after which no one had room for a Pud!! Thanks for a lovely evening. Well recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rissoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borve Country House Pub also viewed

Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to Borve Country House Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing