We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Glamping experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Lunsford Farm
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Denise and Andrew have created a wonderful feather down farm location at Lunsford farm. Upon arrival we were greeted at the well stocked honesty shop and we were surprised to have a sea-view location for the four tents. The playground/campfire for the kids is perfect, the swing, woods for playing were safe and let us parents stay out of their way (and kids out of ours) fishing with Dennis was the best. And the pizza was great! Thank you for a nice midweek holiday! G S J S

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Spikeenroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our stay at Lunsford was fantastic. We were a large party of girls down on a hen do for the weekend (2 nights) and lots of people arrived late as they were coming straight from work. Despite this, Andrew and Denise were absolutely amazing. They greeted everyone and directed them to the tents and made sure everyone had what they needed. Nothing was too much trouble and they went over and above to make sure we had a good time without being over-intrusive. They are some of the best hosts I've ever had the pleasure of staying with.

The accommodation was great. The tents are brilliant and really cosy, even when the weather was bad. The setting is idyllic with clear views of the sea which is only a 10 min walk down the hill (this isn't too strenuous - one of our party was 7 and a half months pregnant and she managed) through the farm. If the weather had been better we might have braved a dip but it was too cold even for us northerners.

The site around the tents is really quiet and about 300m from the farm house. There is a big fire pit, a couple of tree swings, a see saw, and a pizza oven. The tents are far enough away from one another to be private but if you were in a group (as we were) they were close enough to all spend time together.

The farm is a working farm and we got to spend time feeding the lambs and learning about some farm processes. It's a shame we weren't there long enough to do the other activities (like the farm walk and fishing) which both looked like loads of fun.

We had a lovely barbeque on the Saturday night with meat that was all locally sourced. It was really reasonable for the quantity and quality we had - I was a bit reluctant to take this option at first as I was budgetting for everyone but I would definitely recommend it. as the meat was delicious and noticibly better than the stuff you get in the supermarket. Andrew lit the barbeque for us and made a space near the farm where we would definitely be dry so we could really enjoy ourselves.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxed countryside holiday. Having stayed at another Featherdown Farm for a similar event both were fantastic. They obviously cater very well for families but the style of holiday would suit any party who like being outdoors, aren't afraid of British Summertime and who want a great experience. Andrew and Denise were particularly outstanding. Hopefully we'll come back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruthwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights with our two young kids. We have stayed at other Featherdown Farms and this is by far and away the best. Rolling hills full of new born lambs, sea views, friendly and professional hosts, a bluebell wood and a horse called Thomas. Who could ask for anything more?

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had a brilliant time at the farm. The children loved it and did not want to leave.
What helped was the great weather when we were there.

The farm is a working farm in the village of Pett. It has mainly sheep.
The 4 tents are about 500m away on a hill overlooking the sea. The sea is about a km away, and you can walk there on mostly farm land.

The tents are well-equipped with proper a double bed, two bunk beds, a cupboard bed, a proper toilet, a wood-fire stove, a tap, a dinning table, 4 chairs and 2 deck chairs.
There is a bench and table, and barbecues near the tent.
The kitchen is very well equipped.
The tent has no electrcity. You get light using paraffin lamps and candles. It is dark so you should bring a torch.

There is a see saw and swing near the tent.
There is also a play area down the slope with a swing and a rope to climb up the slope.
The children loved playing there.

Electricty and showers can be found at the shower block at the entrance of the farm about 500m away. You can walk or drive there.
There are 3 showers and 2 toilets which are modern and clean.
The honesty shop is there too where you can buy tent supplies, drinks and food. The prices are reasonable.

We arranged for fishing lessons in a fishing pond in the farm. A nice elderly gentleman gave the lesson. Alas, no fish were caught.

Cooking was quite an experience. The wood stove took some time to generate heat, and there was slow-cooking.
We also hired a barbecue and ordered a barbecue meal. The lamb was really good.

There was a chicken coop nearby to collect eggs. There were also baby lamb in a pen to feed and pet. The farm has a friendly retired horse Thomas. The children loved the animals.

Farmer Andrew gave a farm tour on the second day. We learnt a lot.

We visited nearby towns like Rye and Battle.

Would recommend this strongly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our stay was wonderful. It was very cold for the time of the year, but I am convinced that our children never had more fun than in this wonderful spot in the English countryside.

You can let your children run free from morning until evening - there is a lot to discover and no dangers luring in the surroundings (and nothing they could break, either).

The walk down to the seaside is an exciting excursion for the whole family, and a panoramic views opens up for photographers and nature lovers. You can book fishing lessons with a gentle elderly man, who will do everything to make your kids catch a fish. The farm tour is more like a two hours excursion, so take some food and possibly a carrier with you if your kids are under 4 years.

There are four tents close to each other, so there is always company for the time of your stay. Your kids will be thrilled to make new friends within only a couple of hours. You can socialise with the other parents over a roast of lamb cooked in the stone oven next to the tents. In case you larder empties unexpectedly: the products in the honesty shop were very good, and the wine was excellent.

I really recommend this to any family from urban regions!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansconstanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have just returned from Lunsford Farm, and what a fantastic experience!! We particulary enjoyed the farm tour and feeding the chickens and collecting the eggs. The 4 tents share a sea view and my boys (9 and 3) had a great time playing with the other chlldren in the wooded area.
The local pubs were just a short walk away (or drive for little legs) and served great food (both the Royal Oak and the Two Sawyers). Nearby towns of Rye and the beach at Camber Sands make this a great location for a family holiday. The attention to detail in the tents and luxury shower block added to the enjoyment. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Fantastic place with a young family. Mine are two and three years old and we have been coming for three years. They both loved it this year but well suited up to ten or so I would say. Just four glamping tents in a beautiful secluded spot with views over the channel. Andrew and Denise always make us feel so welcome and we expect to be back again next year. There's plenty to do on site (including a great "dell" with swings and rope climbs plus farm tours, fishing tutorials and chicken feeding /egg collecting) plus great local food at pubs like The Royal Oak) but also lots to do in the area. Can't think of a better UK holiday for a young family.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pett
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Manor Farm Oast
Manor Farm Oast
#1 of 1 in Icklesham
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Sawyers
Two Sawyers
#1 of 1 in Pett
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Freshwinds Camping
Freshwinds Camping
#1 of 4 in Pett
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Feather Down Farms at Lunsford Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Lunsford Farm

Address: Lunsford Farm Pett Road, Hastings TN35 4HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings > Pett
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pett
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feather Down's 'farm of the year' in 2010, we have stunning views out to sea, just 10 minutes walk away. Our four tents were voted Coastal Glamping Site number one by Coast magazine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farms At Lunsford Farm Pett, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing