We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country 16th century inn”
Review of Two Sawyers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Sawyers
Ranked #1 of 1 Pett B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Country 16th century inn”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Great customer service, the owner and staff were so friendly and helpful. Were upgraded to a huge room free of charge. Room was lovely and full of character. Bed was comfortable and bathroom spacious. Only gripe was we were freezing as heating didn't seem to work in our room. We had been given a small electric heater but this did little to heat such a large room. I'm sure if we had mentioned it to staff something would have been done about it however. As we only stayed one night we coped. Pub and restaurant downstairs, food looked great (we only had breakfast which was delicious). We stayed on Christmas eve so there was a lot of noise below our room until around 1.30am, this was fine for us but would have been a problem if we had children staying in the room too. I'm sure the noise isn't as much of a problem most nights though. Will definitely stay again and will go back for real ale and lunch.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just returned from a night at the two sawyers and had an enjoyable stay. We stayed in the Ash room which was plenty roomy enough and comfortable with fresh milk supplied for coffee and tea rather than the usual UHT. When we asked about a meal in the evening we were told that they were booked but they would fit us in somewhere, we sat in the bar for a while and instantly sensed a good atmosphere with lots of locals rather than diners enjoying one anothers company next to a nice open fire. The atmosphere was created by the warmth of all the staff who created the right balance of banter and professionalism. The menu was great and the food delicious and piping hot but be warned the portions are big and I only managed to get through half of my wonderful belly pork with mustard mash and spiced apricot and apple sauce, my husband did not complain about this however and enjoyed finishing it off. After a good night sleep we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast. I would certainly recommend this establishment and return, the only reason I did not give it full marks was because there was noise when we went to bed, not sure whether the kitchen was below us or they were changing barrels,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Two Sawyers earlier this month, just for one night. We had a superior room which was lovely & spacious with a great view, comfortably furnished. Is a great location & the pub itself is a wonderful old building full of beams & character. Make sure you eat in the restaurant as the food was very good, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just stayed for 1 night in the Ash room. Everything was clean and comfortable with a nice country atmosphere with quirky original features. As well as modern features such as a fridge stocked with bottled water and milk. Was borderline giving a five rating except for them dribble shower. The welcome was friendly and efficient. The food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast. Hearty and traditional. The location was just 5 minutes out of Hastings would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The delightful character of The Two Sawyers is enhanced by the local community of Pett who support this well run local pub and are friendly towards the pub's visitors. Well cared for large gardens with copious parking on all sides of the building. All of the staff are welcoming and obliging. The public areas are as one would expect, rustic but comfortable. Good ales and excellent food at extremely reasonable prices.
The accommodation was extremely clean and well appointed. A nice touch was the mini fridge with fresh milk and bottled water included within the tarriff, as was an excellent breakfast.We only wish it was our local! When next in Hastings area we will make a point of staying again at this delightful pub inn.
We feel this pub would receive more good reviews if it had a visitor's book.
Marion & Alan Griffin, Milton Keynes

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at the Two Sawyers for a long weekend break and found the staff very helpful and welcoming. There is a large car park and outside seating for the summer months. The food and drink on offer was exceptional, the breakfasts alone are worth visiting for!

The room was very generously proportioned but the sofa wasn't particularly comfy and the metal headboard on the bed wouldn't be my first choice.

The only other reason for not giving 5/5 is due to the age of the building, the noise from downstairs and outside from pub customers does travel and disturb light sleepers.

All in all, a very pleasant stay and a nice central location. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Remember the rooms are above a pub but don't let it put you off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Over the past week we have taken friends here twice and the food and service is excellent. The starters are huge and the quality and presentation are great. The atmosphere is buzzing and friendly and I thought we would be waiting a long time for our food considering that every table was full. But that is not the case. The staff are attentive, quick, friendly and they smile a lot.
You can always find a parking place and we will be back again very soon. I never ate it but according to my husband and our friend the steak pudding is the best ever!!
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyhastings50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pett
0.0 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 46 in Hastings
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Hastings
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Sawyers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Sawyers

Property: Two Sawyers
Address: Pett Road, Hastings TN35 4HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings > Pett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Two Sawyers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Sawyers Pett, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing