We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, homely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Dog Farm B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Black Dog Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Chapmanslade B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Black Dog Farm over Easter weekend and had a lovely time. Fraser and Lyn are incredibly friendly and accommodating - making the effort to learn the names of everyone who was staying and even remembering that it was a guest's birthday. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The b&b is just over 10 minutes' drive from Longleat and about 30 minutes from Bath so conveniently located for a bit of exploring and sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stopped at this B & B for 2 nights in the Wiltshire room which was for 3 people as we traveled as a family. The room boasted views across Wiltshire and also that there was a whirpool bath. However upon arrival the first thing that was mentioned was the fact that the whirpool was not working, much to the disappointment of my son! I felt that this had not worked for a while - but I may be wrong. We arrived at 3.50, and although this was only 10 mins early the room in actual fact was not ready for us! Cups, towels and bins all had to be sorted! We were informed of the Saniflow toilet, which I had never used before - but god it makes a noise!! Bascially its a shredding style loo! The room itself was tidy and clean, however the views were a little disappointing - all I could really see were the front hedges! We were never shown the front room as advertised on the website. We took this opportunity to nip into the nearest village as we needed supplies for our day trip to Longleat. When we got back the room was ready and our breakfast requirements were needed (via a form) for the next morning, this was fine, however I did expect to receive one the following night but didn't get one, so be careful what you pick your first night might be what you get for the rest of the stay. However saying that the breakfast was lovely, and large portions too. Unfortunately the next night after our long day at Longleat, when I went to run a bath it was cold! We asked them about this and a reply of "we don't normally expect people to have baths at this time of the day!" was what we got (it was 4.30pm!) They did put the heating on for the water, but we were again left a little disappointed. Overall it was ok, I have paid less for more accommodating B&B's though. I don't think I would rush back to stay, however Fraser did say he had a lot on with an upcoming farm show, but that shouldn't detract from catering for your guests. Fraser and his family were lovely but just seemed a little unorganised.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser M, Owner at Black Dog Farm B&B, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Ali,
Thank you for taking time to comment. I’m sorry your stay was not up to the 100% standard we aim for. As you say, I was distracted that weekend as Chairman of the local horticultural show but that’s no excuse. I’m very sad that your son missed out on the whirlpool bath which couldn’t be fixed until after the bank holiday. The lack of hot water was a result of the guest in the next room being unwell and using it all during the day, something I would have spotted had I not been at the showground! We would love to see you return and be provided with a visit to completely enjoy.
Best Wishes
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I had a a 4 night stay with a friend at Black Dog Farm (which is near Longleat in Wiltshire) from the 16th -20th July. The owners ,Fraser and Lyn Mills, are a lovely couple and nothing was too much trouble and they are kind, never to be forgotten people who smiled a lot and from the moment we got there until it was time to go home they made us so welcome and I hope to see them again next year if possible. I really miss them and their dog Simba. It is a small, cosy,B & B and very restful. Elizabeth G.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happiness80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser M, Owner at Black Dog Farm B&B, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Elizabeth,
It was a pleasure to look after two such adventurous ladies who were enjoying life to the full. Thank you also for the photographs, and I'm sorry Simba wouldn't pose properly for the camera! Please call in for a cup of tea if you're in the area.
Best Wishes,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapmanslade
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
2.7 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dilton Court Farm
Dilton Court Farm
#7 of 15 in Westbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Bell Inn
The Old Bell Inn
#10 of 26 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dog Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dog Farm B&B

Property: Black Dog Farm B&B
Address: Chapmanslade, Westbury BA13 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury > Chapmanslade
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chapmanslade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Dog Farm B&B 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Dog Farm is a Grade II listed farmhouse close to the Wiltshire/Somerset border. We have lovingly renovated the building and created an elegant, comfortable home whilst retaining much of the traditional detail. A warm welcome awaits our Bed & Breakfast guests and after a good night’s sleep in one of our spacious en-suite bedrooms, a delicious breakfast will be on offer to start the next day. Black Dog Farm is a 10 minute drive from Longleat House, Longleat Safari Park and Center Parcs. Nearby are the market towns of Warminster, Westbury and Frome. Westbury offers a high speed mainline rail link to London Paddington while Warminster has rail links to Cardiff, Salisbury, Southampton and London Waterloo. We are situated between the World Heritage Sites of Stonehenge and Bath on the ancient route from the port of Bristol to those at Southampton, Portsmouth and Weymouth. The farmhouse dates back to the 1600s and was once a coaching inn on the road taken by Georgian and Victorian high society wishing to sample the medicinal waters of Bath. There are local Roman and Arthurian connections (but not a lot to see!). We have three large en-suite bedrooms. All have facilities for making tea, coffee and hot chocolate. They also have digital TV, DVD and free wifi. The Somerset room has views across the Somerset and Wiltshire countryside, a 6’ double bed and we can add a child’s bed or cot if you need one. The Wiltshire room has twin beds and the en-suite bathroom has a shower with a whirlpool bath. It also has a sofa bed for an extra guest if required. Our Standerwick room is a lovely old beamed room, furnished in a farmhouse style with a comfortable queen-size bed and an en-suite shower room. The pretty arched window looks down on the kitchen garden as well as the ponds and stream. All our guests are offered a full English Breakfast or Continental Breakfast. This is a very important meal and we hope to set you up well for the day ahead! Fraser makes an art form of the traditional English breakfast and really enjoys producing mouth watering, freshly cooked food. We have an extensive list for you to choose from and can cater for special diets on request. We make every effort to source our fresh food from local butchers and farms. The eggs are from our own flock of free range chicken and the bread is made freshly on site each day. Honey and marmalade are made locally and other produce is bought from Fair Trade sources wherever possible.. We really enjoy the garden and are happy to share it with our Bed & Breakfast guests. Our Pekin Bantams range free in the garden during the day and go to bed at sundown. They earn their keep by ridding our garden of bugs, and are also very entertaining! We encourage a wide range of wild birds to feed in the garden and there is a very good view of them, as well as the bantams, from our breakfast room. There are some lovely woodland walks, especially in bluebell time. Deer, badgers and other wildlife can be seen from the farm, and we encourage wild birds. We can recommend several exceptionally good local pubs and restaurants for an evening meal and there are many interesting places to visit locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Black Dog Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Dog Farm B&B Chapmanslade, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing