We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another "Average" Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Endeavour Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Maitland
Kempsey, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another "Average" Motel”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

A concrete encased quadrangle of rooms so typical of Aussie motels.
Rooms are not large but offer reasonably good accommodation and are clean.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant has reasonably good "value for money" meals including dinner available to your room.
On a very noisy highway so opt for a room at the rear

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    44
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
24
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed one night driving from QLD to Sydney. It was Easter and the restaurant was closed. This is a very old motel in need of a refurb, double glazing the windows would help with the road noise ! The room was cramped with too much furniture for the size of the room. It was supposedly a queen size bed - but it was smaller than ours at home ! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we had a good stay at the motel but we found the room was very hot and the air con could not be adjusted as there was no remote to be found but we will be back again . Staff was friendly and breafast was great the only motel where we didnt have to ask for poached eggs. John & I have to go back to Maitland as what we went for was cancelled and we have to rebook

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

we stayed in a 2br apartment in their apartments which are separate from the main precinct. we booked at 2br apt with double in 1/2singles in other. however even though i confirmed the alternate apt we were moved to had the same bedding setup as we'd initially booked, i was disappointed to find it hadn't (and that the apt was up a flight of exterior stairs). that being said, the staff were more than accomodating in ensuring we got a trundle in the 2nd bedroom, and also when our fridge went on the fritz they replaced that immediately. the parking was well-appointed but not marked out for room numbers so it seemed a free-for-all and one night i had to park on the street when all parks were taken (bad esp. considering it was raining, i was staying on my own with 3 kids and they were all asleep when i got back!) overall our stay was okay but i would probably not choose them again. the price was family-friendly but this might be the main pro of staying here. Also when i checked out i advised the management of my unhappiness with our issue and the staff promised to pass it on - but i was not contacted again. we didn't eat in the restaurant or swim in the pool but would have had we had time, both looked welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungendore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed one night here and the room was very comfortable, clean and the staff were helpful.
There is a restaurant on site, which is very good as there doesn't seem to be any other options on the eastern side of Maitland. The menu is very meaty, in fact I couldn't find a single vegetarian option. As I'm an omnivore, this was fine for me, but others may find it limiting.....The menu does offer 'viking cutlets'. I have no idea what these are or what they have to do with the Captain Cook Endeavour theme, nor indeed what that has to do with Maitland.......

If needing to stay in or near Maitland, then this motel is good. It was full when I was there on a Monday night so do not rely on just turning up. The price is what you would expect to pay in a town boosted by mining.

Room Tip: Outside my room was one of the outdoor table/chairs, undercover, for smokers. If you are annoyed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motomoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stay at the Endeavour whenever I am in town on business as it is convenient to the office. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the service is always friendly. The meals out of the restaurant are decent quality and I like that they cook special requests for those times when you are sick of restraunt food! Traffic noise is worse in some rooms than others but it's something that you expect when booking into a motel on the main road. Overall, I like this place and the people that work/frequent here and will continue to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back if traffic noise will be an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here for two nights in so called "Family Room". Without offence to anyone, this room looked more like a jail cell than a motel room. As it was facing the highway, I had a bit of trouble with falling and staying asleep thanks to trucks compression braking as they were slowing down for traffic light.
In my room I had few guest cockoraches. I did not enjoy their company so, as I was leaving for work in the morning, I killed one and left him on the floor right in the middle of the room.
When I returned in the afternoon, he was still there, after my room "has been cleaned".
The hosts, however, were very friendly and helpful, no complaints there. Food in the restaurant was also not too bad.
With a bit of TLC, this could be a nice place, but as it is now, I don't think I'll be in a hurry to come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Maitland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Maitland
0.2 mi away
The Windsor Castle Hotel
The Windsor Castle Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maitland
52 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
266 reviews
3.3 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
1.0 mi away
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in East Maitland
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Endeavour Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Endeavour Motel

Property: Best Western Endeavour Motel
Address: 233-237 Newcastle Street, East Maitland, Maitland, New South Wales 2323, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > East Maitland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Endeavour Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Endeavour Motel, conveniently located on the New England Highway in East Maitland, giving easy access to Newcastle, Hunter Valley vineyards and to the historic town of Morpeth. Featuring 100% non-smoking motel style rooms, self contained apartments and luxurious spa rooms all with a modern design, comfortable queen or king bed, split system air conditioning, free Foxtel, free WiFi and free off street parking. The relaxed and smart Endeavour Restaurant offers an impressive selection of meals, certain to please all palettes. The fully licensed restaurant offers a la carte as well as blackboard specials. Gorgeous whole grilled fresh fish and hot and cold seafood platters are a speciality, with a variety of delicious Australian style a la carte meals also available 6 nights a week with room service only available on Sundays. The breakfast room is open for a hearty cooked or continental breakfast every morning. We have limited Pet Friendly Rooms available. Please contact our friendly reception staff to make a booking as a small surcharge will apply and are subject to availability. Business guests will enjoy the convenience of small conference facilities, printing, fax and photocopy services and wireless broadband. Maitland is dotted with heritage buildings and the motel is central to many of the towns attractions. It is home to many annual festivals and local events including Hunter Valley Steamfest, Groovin' the Moo, Bitter and Twisted Beer Festival, Morpeth Jazz Festival and many more. The local Maitland Markets held at the Maitland Showground on the first Sunday of each month is the biggest in the region. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Maitland, Hunter Valley make a reservation at BEST WESTERN Endeavour Motel today and save! **PLEASE NOTE ** We currently have no swimming pool, as we are under re-development. We apologise for any inconvenience and appreciate your patience during this transformation. Our professionally trained staff will still provide a superior service in all other areas. Best Regards Ray Davis Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Endeavour Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maitland
Maitland Best Western
Best Western Endeavour Motel Maitland/East Maitland, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing