We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verandah with a view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyams Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Verandah with a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in cottage 4 (yellow) & was warmly welcomed by Wendy, the cleaning Lady, who was super friendly & recommended where I should go 'exploring' in surrounding areas... Which I did, thanks Wendy! ;)
Also had the pleasure of meeting Ange, the owner, who was also so lovely & hospitable.
The cottage was very clean.
I made the most of the verandah each morning/evening, as you get a stunning water view!
Waking up & falling asleep to the symphony of waves crashing onto the shore was just magic!
Beautiful Birds would visit late afternoon, & perch themselves along the verandah.
The only negative comment I can make is that I only used the spa once, as it is extremely loud & for that reason, unenjoyable.
All in all, I really enjoyed my time here :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicMungbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages for a long weekend and it was one of the best weekenders we've had in NSW. The cottage was AMAZING! Absolutely incredible - in terms of cleanliness, detail, feel, atmosphere, comfort, positioning, service, facilities and amenities. The style and feel of the old fisherman's cabins was still there - with the luxury of modern additions.

We were in cottage # 2 - none of the cottages obstructed the views of the ocean for anyone. Literally 10 seconds away from the beach - the nicest and whitest stretch of sand (and softest sand too). We were even lucky to see a pod of dolphins swimming close to shore.

Up the road you have the local cafe - great food and coffee. And a little convenience store too which means we could quickly grab something and cook it back at the cottage if we wanted to.

The cottages are designed for couples so no children and absolutely peaceful.

It really felt like our home away from home.

Thank you to Angie and Glenn. We will definitely be coming back and have been letting our friends know about the cottages.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cottage for 2 nights, 3 days and had an amazing time. The cottage is a minute walk from the beach - there's two sides, a smaller one and the main one. We were amazed at how white the sand was! Beautiful beach! It's very chilled the way the cottage is run - we were a little confused when we arrived (as we're used to checking into a hotel), we met one of the workers who just gave us a key and told us to leave it on the door when we left - no deposit or credit card needed.

The cottages used to be used by fisherman long ago. They're pretty close to each other though we had no problems with noise from neighbouring couples (fyi you may like to keep your windows closed in case lol).

You can't really cook at the cottage - there's an electric grill or a bbq outside that everyone staying at the cottages shared. We decided that we'd just eat out. There is a cafe near the cottage (literally the only place you can get food at hyams!) food was good but totally over priced! Our suggestion - go for a 5min drive to Vincentia - heaps of restaurants there & there's a coles if you feel like grabbing some snacks or cooking at the cottage.

Overall we had a great time and would absolutely recommend it to couples! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early December. Hyams Beach is quiet and beautiful and the cottages delightful. They are small but comfortable and have everything you need.It is like staying in a dollshouse. All the staff were very helpful. The local Cafe is very friendly has the best coffee and also serves an excellent breakfast and lunch.The beach is uncrowded with the softest white sand. We tried to book an additional night but they were fully booked. We would love to go back. We came here after a week at a luxury hotel in Sydney and while it is not a five star hotel we enjoyed it just as much.

Room Tip: We had the lilac cottage on the front I think it is no1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JewelChapelHillNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wairarapa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed six nights at the Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages in Mid November to celebrate our wedding anniversary. To be honest, we didn't want to leave! We had cottage #5 and we had such a lovely stay. The cottages have everything you need for a relaximg stay. The beds are super comfortable ( as are the pillows, which more often than not, in many hotels are not anywhere near as comfortable.) Great shower, with good pressure, plenty of windows to let in lots of fresh sea air. These cottages are across the road from the beach and from our deck, we had a lovely view of the sea. There was nothing we wanted for, with all the bbq tools, oils, sauces and condiments conveniently located with the bbqs out back. We could be at the beach within a couple of minutes walk and we enjoyed some amazing walks along the beach and through the national park.. The local store/cafe' was fabulous and their hot chocolate is delicious. Our hosts were right there if needed, in an unobtrusive way which we found wonderful. Now that we have been to Hyams Beach, we look forward to going back again, but for longer next time!
Many thanks for such a wonderful stay and congratulations on the restoration of those beautiful cottages, you have done a wonderful job.

Room Tip: We loved cottage #5 and the bonus of the wild birds visiting most mornings was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Hyams Beach is a hidden treasure, quite, friendly and very beautiful. Lots of lovely walks along the beaches or through the bush.
The cottages are converted fisherman's cottages across the road from the beach and with a lovely bush gully running though it. It is truly lovely to sit on the verandah looking out at the beach with native parrots all around you ( very tame).
The cottages are nice and comfortable, cool when it's hot and warm when it's not. The beds are great! These are very small, not a huge issue but don't expect to do much more than make a coffee in the kitchenette. Staff and the owners are great unobtrusive but will do anything to make your stay better.
Only one small cafe in the town - avoid it - quite happy to rip off the tourists - hop in the car and go to Huskinson or Vincentia.

Poor mobile coverage and TV signal is a bit dodgy - no Internet.

Not the cheapest place around but perfect for a secluded getaway in a beautiful par of the world.


Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Overall the Hyams cottages helped make a great romantic weekend away.

We stayed in cabin 4 and from the balcony had views out to Jervis Bay. Although it looked like it was booked out there was still a lot of privacy and it was still nice and quiet.

The location is opposite the beach and the cafe up the road does a great coffee. Make sure to take dinner though as there are no restaurants at Hyams beach.

A perfect spot to get out of Sydney and have a weekend away.

The only feedback I would have is that some bathrobes would be a nice addition as well as some bath room shampoos etc that had not just been re filled, especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyams Beach
2.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walters Holiday Flats
Walters Holiday Flats
#2 of 2 in Hyams Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.4 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sanddancers
Sanddancers
#1 of 4 in Vincentia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.3 mi away
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
By The Beach B & B Self-Containe...
#2 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages

Property: Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages
Address: 53 - 55 Cyrus St, Hyams Beach, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Hyams Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hyams Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adorable colourful one bedroom seaside cottages exclusively for couples or solo travellers. Perfect for a romantic or relaxing escape. Only 60 meters across road to beautiful white sands of Hyams Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages Hotel Hyams Beach
Hyams Beach Seaside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing