We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely winter getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyams Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely winter getaway”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were delighted to discover these cottages in beautiful Hyams Beach for a mid winter escape. The booking made with Angie was last minute but very smooth, and we found the accommodation to be everything it advertises, set up with plenty of everything we needed, spotlessly clean and so close to the fabulous cafe and beach. Native birds, friendly locals with happy dogs, beautiful gardens and incredibly gorgeous beaches for long walks. What else could you wish for?! On leaving we met Wendy who cleans the units and she was cheery and enthusiastic. Definitely a little gem we plan to return to :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage One at the front (on the street). It was whisper quiet, with beautiful glimpses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinclairsCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for four nights over Easter 2013. The cottages are very cute, well kept and offer a beautiful view from the verandah into Jervis Bay and out to Point Perpendicular. They are for couples only and the layout of the cottage doesn't lend itself to larger groups.
As their website suggests cooking facilities are limited to a kitchenette in each cottage and shared BBQ facility. There is a nice cafe nearby which does good coffee and meals but you need to go to Vincentia or Huskisson to access pubs, restaurants and shop for food.
Hyams Beach draws many visitors and the nearby streets were very full over the Easter break, which is not unexpected. The off street parking for the cottages was particularly valuable given the number of visitors to the beach.
The cottages are good value for money and are what we expected in the price range of $300 per night peak period by the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Myself and my wife fancied a quiet weekend away from Sydney, somewhere not too far as we didn't fancy being stuck in the car too long. We had tried Sussex Inlet before so were after something new.

Hyams beach is an absolute little gem of a spot. There are some stunning beaches around, very secluded with practically no one on them. During our short stay we had Parrots in the tree outside our quaint little cottage, saw a pod of dolphins in the sea opposite and even had a little beach wallaby hop over to me and eat an apple out of my hand at one of the remote beaches.

The accommodation itself is very nice. If you are a read a book type and love to turn off the phones & tv's then this place is perfect for a nice quiet weekend. away. Rustic charm comes to mind for the little old fishermen's cottages.

I would definitely recommend for a weekend away, or more if you are lucky enough !!!

Room Tip: They seem to be all good rooms, even the most basic little cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hey_funboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in cottage 4 (yellow) & was warmly welcomed by Wendy, the cleaning Lady, who was super friendly & recommended where I should go 'exploring' in surrounding areas... Which I did, thanks Wendy! ;)
Also had the pleasure of meeting Ange, the owner, who was also so lovely & hospitable.
The cottage was very clean.
I made the most of the verandah each morning/evening, as you get a stunning water view!
Waking up & falling asleep to the symphony of waves crashing onto the shore was just magic!
Beautiful Birds would visit late afternoon, & perch themselves along the verandah.
The only negative comment I can make is that I only used the spa once, as it is extremely loud & for that reason, unenjoyable.
All in all, I really enjoyed my time here :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicMungbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages for a long weekend and it was one of the best weekenders we've had in NSW. The cottage was AMAZING! Absolutely incredible - in terms of cleanliness, detail, feel, atmosphere, comfort, positioning, service, facilities and amenities. The style and feel of the old fisherman's cabins was still there - with the luxury of modern additions.

We were in cottage # 2 - none of the cottages obstructed the views of the ocean for anyone. Literally 10 seconds away from the beach - the nicest and whitest stretch of sand (and softest sand too). We were even lucky to see a pod of dolphins swimming close to shore.

Up the road you have the local cafe - great food and coffee. And a little convenience store too which means we could quickly grab something and cook it back at the cottage if we wanted to.

The cottages are designed for couples so no children and absolutely peaceful.

It really felt like our home away from home.

Thank you to Angie and Glenn. We will definitely be coming back and have been letting our friends know about the cottages.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cottage for 2 nights, 3 days and had an amazing time. The cottage is a minute walk from the beach - there's two sides, a smaller one and the main one. We were amazed at how white the sand was! Beautiful beach! It's very chilled the way the cottage is run - we were a little confused when we arrived (as we're used to checking into a hotel), we met one of the workers who just gave us a key and told us to leave it on the door when we left - no deposit or credit card needed.

The cottages used to be used by fisherman long ago. They're pretty close to each other though we had no problems with noise from neighbouring couples (fyi you may like to keep your windows closed in case lol).

You can't really cook at the cottage - there's an electric grill or a bbq outside that everyone staying at the cottages shared. We decided that we'd just eat out. There is a cafe near the cottage (literally the only place you can get food at hyams!) food was good but totally over priced! Our suggestion - go for a 5min drive to Vincentia - heaps of restaurants there & there's a coles if you feel like grabbing some snacks or cooking at the cottage.

Overall we had a great time and would absolutely recommend it to couples! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early December. Hyams Beach is quiet and beautiful and the cottages delightful. They are small but comfortable and have everything you need.It is like staying in a dollshouse. All the staff were very helpful. The local Cafe is very friendly has the best coffee and also serves an excellent breakfast and lunch.The beach is uncrowded with the softest white sand. We tried to book an additional night but they were fully booked. We would love to go back. We came here after a week at a luxury hotel in Sydney and while it is not a five star hotel we enjoyed it just as much.

Room Tip: We had the lilac cottage on the front I think it is no1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JewelChapelHillNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyams Beach
2.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
284 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bannisters by the sea
Bannisters by the sea
#2 of 8 in Mollymook
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walters Holiday Flats
Walters Holiday Flats
#2 of 2 in Hyams Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dungowan Holiday Accommodation
4.7 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages

Property: Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages
Address: 53 - 55 Cyrus St, Hyams Beach, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Hyams Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hyams Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adorable colourful one bedroom seaside cottages exclusively for couples or solo travellers. Perfect for a romantic or relaxing escape. Only 60 meters across road to beautiful white sands of Hyams Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hyams Beach Seaside Cottages Hotel Hyams Beach
Hyams Beach Seaside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing