We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very eco resort but expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is my 1st time to this resort island & for those who like nature & eco environment, this is the place in Sabah. If you have high expectation after you have paid expensively for this resort, you may be disappointed because in many circumstances, it didn't meet my expecation! The TV reception was poor & after having reported for 2 days, it's was still the same! The foods were expensive & with minimum choice! The promised of replenishment of free can drinks in the fridge never happen! Maybe the Team in this resort are not well trained though they tried very hard! Anyway, they have nice & friendly staff in this resort, a typically Sabahan!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanifflai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Set against the backdrop of a tropical paradise island, this resort is offering tranquility, stunning views and is totally surrounded by nature. Guests need to be comfortable spending almost the entire time in the resort though as it is very remote. The hotel could offer some more activities and clear the beach more regularly of wood and other things. They also could improve the menu choice or vary a bit more. Food and drinks prices tend to be on th high side, and service quality needs to improve if they want to be up there with the other top resorts. But still, definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillsecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

After one night in KK, four of us took the boat transfer to Bunga Raya for a three-night stay. We were welcomed to the island with cold towels and refreshing drinks, followed by a speedy check-in to our deluxe villa (our friends had their own deluxe villa as well). Our villa was amazing - like a treehouse in the jungle with sliding French doors, a huge balcony overlooking the beach and modern conveniences including good wi-fi and a flat screen TV. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and nicely decorated, making the whole stay immensely enjoyable.
We were transported around the resort by golf cart - just call the front desk and they'll come pick you up. We spent some time at the spa (bamboo massage was great), the beach (bar service nearby and free snorkel gear), and the picturesque infinity pool (soaked while we watched macaques in the trees).
We had a decent dinner at Bunga Raya's restaurant, and a fabulous dinner at Alu Alu - the seafood restaurant at the resort on the other side of the island (free boat transfer to get there) where you can literally choose your dinner from the tanks (shrimp, oysters and a wide variety of fish). Our third night we had the best meal of the trip - a menu selected by the staff in the privacy of the unbelievable wine room at Bunga Raya (recognized by Wine Spectator as having an outstanding wine menu). *Note: wine is generally extremely expensive in southeast Asia, so come prepared and breathe deep before you select your bottle. But what a treat! We were very happy we had inquired about the wine room (you should at least ask to see it!).
Overall, staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. A special thanks to Tomas and Xavier who went out of their way to make sure our stay was superb. This resort is relatively new and undiscovered i.e. not yet overrun with tourists so get here soon and indulge. We will surely return for another stay in our treehouse in the jungle.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed here for just one night and it was amazing - friendly staff who were attentive to our every need, beautiful facilities and just a great place to stay. Met my expectations based on the price tag - definitely worth a stay if you want to spoil yourself

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

From the moment I entered the beautiful check-in lounge, my two night stay at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa was the epitome of relaxation and luxury. Every member of staff we encountered greeted us with a smile and we felt right at home as they were always there to make our stay comfortable and stress-free. Our villa at Bunga Raya was stylishly decorated and still keeping in with the natural surroundings - best of all it gave us a restful night's sleep before waking up to fresh juice and muffins in the morning. Visiting Gayana Eco Resort showed us a different side to the island - one that we would love to experience more of one day in the future. The overwater bungalows are gorgeously decorated and provide all the high-tech mod cons such as wi-fi and tv/stereo system. We dined at many of the restuarants at both resorts and sampled delectable cuisine from authentic chinese dishes to light salads and snacks from the pool menu. From kayaking in the mangroves, snorkelling in coral reefs to feeling the wind in our hair on a jet ski - every type of water activity you could want is at these resorts to enjoy the lovely warm waters and stunning beach at Bunga Raya. Keen divers will love Gayana for its variety of courses and day trip options. These resorts are real gems that we are very happy to have discovered!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in the beach villa for 3 nights, recovering from the Mt Kinabalu climb. It proves to be a good choice. The beach is fantastic. Soft white sand, no rubbish, crystal clear water. It is just perfect. We are quite happy to spend a few days here on the beach to chill out.
The massage in the Spa is fantastic, just what we needed after the climb.
The food is ok. If you want more selection, you can go to their sister resort - Gayana or KK by boat. One tip - there is a boat schedule in the hotel menu. But it may not be up-to-date, ask the reception when you check in to print out the latest boast schedule. Also, you do need to book you boat ride with the reception even though it is in the schedule.
It is worth spending 1 morning in Gayana - book it with the reception and you can have breakfast at Gayana and then watch the fish feeding, snorkelling, diving (there is a dive shop) or kayaking...
The staffs are very friendly. The free mini-bar (including beer) is a nice touch. There are some room for improvements in the villa - mosquito screen on all windows, the wall paper needs a touch up and a bigger hot water tank. There is not enough hot water to fill the spa bath. We end up heating up 6 kettles of water to top it up.
In general, we had a wonderful time at Bunga Raya. We would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a beach resort near KK.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoohBear2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

we stayed here for four nights on a belated honeymoon in July 2011. From arriving at the boat terminal, the boat ride out in the dark, to arriving at the jetty, the rooms, the staff, everything was great! The setting is beautiful and only a short boat ride from town, I estimate from landing in KK to arriving in Bunga Raya would have been not much more than an hour and half. We were welcomed at the jetty, shown to our villa and given a quick tour of the resort by a very friendly staff member. The plunge pool villa was magnificent, and right on the beach. The resort is small, and compact but plenty of space / privacy, especially as it was not busy. The beach is nice and quiet and sheltered. As some reviewers have mentioned, there can be some rubbish washed up on the shore, or in the water, but the staff were out collecting in the mornings. It certainly wasn't a big issue for us. We snorkelled, which is nice - its not amazing, but it is easy, relaxed and there is some nice coral, and enough to see - we saw baracudda and small sharks as well as plenty of fish. I also did a dive one afternoon which I really enjoyed, good facilities and good dive master. The fish at Gayana are probably better, and it is an easy boat transfer to spend some time at Gayana. We also went kayaking, for the jungle walk, and had a fantastic massage at the spa. Food was good - the breakfast served in the main restaurant, nice variety. We ate lunch and dinner at both restaurants and all of the meals were good. The pre-dinner drinks were a nice touch too. There is still a little bit of construction / refurbishing going on, but again didn't affect our stay. Over and above all of that, the absolute stand out for me were the staff. They were so friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure that you had a good stay. They remembered names, where you were from, your preferences, and engaged in friendly conversation when appropriate. It was very noticeable by the staff attitudes that they are proud to work there, and the general manager role modelled these behaviours (sorry can't remember your name!).

All in all, a great holiday, and we were sad to have to leave!

Room Tip: Go the plunge pool villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freobhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
2.3 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
471 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
8.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Address: Polish Bay, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range: £160 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As sensual and exotic as the hibiscus flower that bears its name, Bunga Raya Island Resort is a luxurious jewel set on a coral reef island just off the coast of Borneo. A secluded island hideaway of 47 timbered villas, the resort is framed by white sand beach and virgin jungle. Hillside villas reflect the simplicity of the Borneo architectural style. A hilltop spa blends the finest Traditional Asian and Western treatments using restorative powers of indigenous plants and oils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunga Raya Island Resort And Spa
Bunga Raya Island Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing