We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing honeymoon experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon experience!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

This is an amazing resort - my wife and I spent 5 nights in a plunge pool villa on our honeymoon and were thoroughly impressed, and didn't want to leave.

Some specific stand out positives:
- the room was impeccable... Stylish decor, private feel to the deck and plunge pool, fridge full of complimentary drinks, massive bath
- muffins and orange juice left waiting outside our room before we woke up
- free first cocktail at the bar very night
- awesome infinity pool but we hardly went there as our own pool was fantastic
- the resort was nearly empty during our September stay so felt extra exclusive

Some points to improve on:
- not a lot of options on the dinner menu
- limited boat schedule to the mainland and also to the sister Gayana resort
- the pantai grill restaurant was only open for 2 out of 5 nights (I guess due to the weather but they could have let us know difinitively either way so we could make plans)

Overall we would love to go back, thanks very much!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    139
    42
    24
    11
See reviews for
116
272
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
romsey,victoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Bunga Raya is a gorgeous spot in the world. Stunning Accomodation nestled in the forestation of this little island. Accomodation is excellent, gigantic bed and loved the gift of sarongs. Bathroom products fantastic, love the soap leaves skin feeling invigorated. Morning breakfast baskets are very nice touch. Spa facilities are very special nestled in bushland with views over the bay, however staff need to learn not to speak to one another when treatments are in progress. Golf buggys awesome way to get around. Pool devine. We found food to be great but could get boring if there for long period of time. Biggest down fall and most dissapointing after such a fantastic stay was during a dinner at sister island we returned to find our iphone had been stolen by room attendants. Please dont be careless with your belongings. Our phone was charging as my husband was expecting an international call after dinner. This greatly inconvenienced ourselves and did make me feel slightly unsafe. Managaement handled the situation as best as could have been asked under such compromising circumstances. Otherwise gorgeous part of the world and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 days at the end of our honeymoon. We just wanted to relax & chill out after our time in the Jungle, that is exactly what we did. They made every effort to make our stay special with a bottle of champagne, a complimentary massage & flowers & candels in the room every night. The rooms were fabulous, the infinity pool area was sublime, just as good as the website photos & the beach was clean & quite. The staff were all very friendly & helpfull. The only thing which needs to be improved is the variety & quality of the European food for the prices they charge it was not good enough, that said the Malay food was great. I would recomend going to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in a beach villa with private pool, which was right at the beach. The cottage was not very big, but spacious enough. There was also a hot tub in the bathroom where the windows could be opened towards the beach. Free water and softdrinks are available in the minibar. Staff was very friendly, but unfortunately the food was not too great, both for dinner and breakfast. There is not a lot of choice, since you can only have dinner at the Bunga Raya or at the other resort on the island, Gaya Eco resort. At the other resort, in restaurant Alu alu, the food was even worse, but in the Macac the food was nice. Free snorkelling equipment is also available.
Boots to and from the KK are only available three times a day. If you want to go at another time, it costs RM150 per trip.
Definitely a nice place to stay for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had a great time here. After all the flying, driving, and boating to get there it truly is a sight for sore eyes. So relaxing, staff wonderful, rooms amazing. You can also go over to the other sister resort on the island (gayana resort) and do great snorkeling and scuba. My only criticism was the food which was really quite average. If they could fix that up the place would be perfect !

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We visited Bunga Raya in the beginning of April '12. This property is really great. If you want privacy, choose Romantic villa (Treehouse) #45. It is situated on the hill, surrounded by forest. All the amentities is modern, but the bed is really squeaky :))) Preliminarily we have booked the villa with the plunge pool, which is very close to the beach, but it was too noisy (neighbours are so close that you can hear even a whisper), so we changed it to the Romantic villa. The last one villa is a little bit far from the sea (about 50 meters up to the hill), but it was not the problem for us. We were really surprised by the service in that hotel! Inspite of the fact, that GM of the hotel is from Europe, the staff has no any standards of the service. Here is no any "automatic" service and for the first two or three days it may become a problem, because you can't receive service which is habitual to most of tourists in 5 star hotels. You have to tell the staff about everything! For example, you have to ask for ashtray, napkins, toothpicks, adapters, etc. But after the couple of days you understand that it is great because you can ask everything and the staff will do this!!! They even travelled to KK (local name for Kota Kinabalu) to buy some special goods for us!
Finally, the property is great for romantic hideaway and the staff and the service are also great, but you have to get into the way of their type of service. My overall ranking is not excellent only because of GM, which is unable to provide really 5 star service.

Room Tip: Plunge pool villas are very close to the beach, but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGolubev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We traveled 12 h to go to this resort and we are so disappointed!

Rooms are dirty and need to be well renovated.

Three stars hotel standard but not luxury at all!

Food is not good at all. We were by the sea but they served us frozen fish filet smelling so bad! We had to return so many dishes such as a burger because it was only a piece of fat!!!

They also never served us what we've ordered even if we repeated 5 times our order!
They make mistakes for bills and overcharged us all the time.

Pool is so dirty we couldnt let our kids going inside without being scared of dermatological issues... We had to negotiate with them to clean it! It was done once but not the other days.
But we were lucky because at Gayana hotel it was even worse: pump was broken and water was green almost grey! No manager seemed really worried about the situation...

They dont spray the resort, so after 5 days you will cumulate between 20 to 40 mosquito bites all around your body! Nice!

The only real "plus" is the nice location in a beautiful bay ( really far from orang outans except if you go to the zoo by boat + 45 min drive).

Bunga Raya needs real professional management or should sell to 4 seasons hotel or another REAL luxury chain.
Staff is nice but need to be well trained and managed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caaaasssh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
2.3 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Property: Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Address: Polish Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As sensual and exotic as the hibiscus flower that bears its name, Bunga Raya Island Resort is a luxurious jewel set on a coral reef island just off the coast of Borneo. A secluded island hideaway of 47 timbered villas, the resort is framed by white sand beach and virgin jungle. Hillside villas reflect the simplicity of the Borneo architectural style. A hilltop spa blends the finest Traditional Asian and Western treatments using restorative powers of indigenous plants and oils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunga Raya Island Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Bunga Raya Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing