We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The resort is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures. The office at Jesselton Point and boat transfer are well organised and you really start your holiday when you arrive there. All staff were outstandingly friendly and were able to organise all of the activities we wanted to do. The food was wonderful and reasonably priced. Whilst there were plenty of other guests staying at the resort, the pool and ocean never felt crowded. The bed was comfortable and the villa private from other guests. If I had to be picky, all I could say is that the airconditioner was a little noisy and one evening there was a delay for our desert to arrive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    139
    42
    24
    11
See reviews for
116
272
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

First off, let me say that this is certainly a beautiful hotel, with great staff who are always friendly and professional. The island setting, the beach and the way the hotel is planned to blend into the environment works very well to make this an idyllic place.

Unfortunately, there were some hiccups from the booking which did not start us off well; we had originally booked a two bedroom villa as a party of two adults and three children as it was a family holiday. Subsequently we had an additional adult join the party, and we asked for an additional bed to be added. At first, we were told that there was insufficient space to add more than one roll away bed; however, when we said that it was fine, we only needed one extra bed as the kids were used to sleeping on one bed anyway, we were then told that resort policy did not allow more than 5 people in the room. As a result, we had to make a last minute booking (literally the evening before we flew in) for an additional room. When we arrived at the resort and saw the two bedroom villas, we realised the room had more than sufficient space for 3 adults and 3 children, which was very dissappointing, considering how much the 2 bedroom villa already cost, which was honestly exorbitant, relative to other resorts in this part of the world. They were however able to arrange for the extra room to be right next to the two bedroom villa, which helped, but it would have been more of a family holiday to have had everyone in the same villa.

Other than that one incident, the rest of the holiday passed well, and the kids enjoyed themselves doing the nature walk, the snorkelling and the visit to the Marine Ecology Research Centre. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable, and were always happy to oblige the kids requests to have a front row seat in the buggies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Relakjack,

Thank you so much for your contribution on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bunga Raya .In response to your initial booking request I can share that we must set some rules for our guest to follow when it comes to how many we allow to sleep in each room. Failing to adhere to this will not be looked at favourably by the authorities should an incident happen and your safety is our number one priority. I hope you do understand.
Please don't hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to discuss further.
We hope to see you back in Bunga Raya in the not too distant future.

Thanks

Tomas K Andersen
General Manager, Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent a couple of nights here to finish off our tour of Borneo and it was very peaceful. The staff are all lovely, especially the lady who showed us to our room. The rooms are beautiful, and we spent a very relaxing few hours walking around the property. The beach is beautiful. The food was only OK, it was fine for a night or two. Make sure you get the guided tour that includes a trip up to the suspension bridge!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lianne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When booking we were trying to decide between here and another resort on the island and I am so glad we chose Bunga Raya. The staff were friendly, service excellent, the infinity pool area was stunning and we just generally liked the feel of the resort.

We arrived just on the cusp of wet to dry season and we were told we were lucky to have arrived on such a perfect sunny afternoon. We walked along the jetty to reception taking in the beautiful surroundings of the sea, beach and the stunning jungle behind the resort and we just instantly felt relaxed.

We were booked into a Superior Room but we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Deluxe. This was much appreciated and we loved our room. We had an amazing view of the beach and ocean and a quirky living room which was separate to the main sleeping area.

Yes the beach did have a little rubbish and I do mean a little but not masses like some reviews make out on here. In addition they make an excellent effort to try and keep the beach clean and I didn’t have a problem with it. The colour of the sand is lovely and I think depending on what time of year you travel, the sea is clear. We were lucky that the sea was fairly clear for our stay. See the pictures I have attached, does this look like a horrible beach? No!!!!

The food was good and I especially loved the king prawn rice for breakfast. In fact I was slightly annoyed that I didn’t try it until our last morning and so I couldn’t have it again!!

On one of the days I didn’t feel 100% and one of the staff went away and made me a drink that he said would help settle my tummy and told me there was no charge. I thought this was lovely of him.

You should give the complimentary nature walk a go. It doesn’t last long, maybe half an hour but it is worth it. I remember seeing a chameleon, a snake (green tree viper I think), different types of birds and got a little sneaky peak at the Royal Villa too! You may see wild boar (at night), monkeys and water monitors around the resort too.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bunga Raya and I urge you not to be put off by negative reviews on here. Yes I think at some times of the year perhaps the rubbish on the beach is more of an issue than other times and the sea may not be as clear at certain times of the year but it wasn’t a problem when we were there so I have based this on my personal experience of what Bunga Raya was like when I stayed there. In addition if you want to stay on Gaya Island, I would say this is the best resort on the Island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa-summer-baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stunning resort and surroundings, the most courteous and respectful staff you could wish to encounter. Well maintained beach and grounds, even jungle wildlife pops up to say hello in the form of Hornbill's, wild boar and monitor lizards, all when it suits them of course and not in any way threatening. Exquisite food and plenty of choice. After one and a half weeks of site seeing, jungle trecking, river travel, cultural intrigue and internal flights, Bunga Raya is the perfect place to relax before the onslaught of the homeward journey and the thought of returning to daily routines. Down sides.........there aren't any!

Room Tip: Our room was up the hill. Fairly steep but well worth the view. we enjoyed ambling to and from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff at the bunga raya were excellent, very friendly, happy to help and full of knowledge about their country and culture. For those that haven't been to Borneo this is a great place to recoup after a long flight before you see what else the island has to offer. The only negative thing I have to say is that I did think the bunga raya was expensive in comparison to prices throughout Borneo.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We landed here after about 17hrs travel. It was dark (and hot) and we couldn't see much. We were led to our villa which was high up in the trees and thought we were a long way from the main bit. Come morning, being awoken by the sounds of the jungle we realised we were in the best place.

This resort is beautiful. Yes, the first morning there was rubbish on the beach brought in by the onshore breeze, but at 10am the tractor went along the beach to collect it all and when required throughout the day the staff would be seen also collecting rubbish. It is not the fault of the resort that the breeze is the wrong way and they do all they can to keep in clear.

The Pantai grill was a little disappointing but I may have just ordered the wrong thing. The Longhouse food was exquisite. The bar is busy at happy hour but the staff keep their cool and keep smiling.

Room Tip: The rooms are air-conditioned but it is so hot that it does struggle at times. Get the sunbeds on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debie_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Debie_James,

Congratulations on your marriage, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and left with lifelong memories. Please don't forget to visit us again should your travels bring you back to Sabah.

Best regards

Tomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
2.3 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
12.4 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Property: Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Address: Polish Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As sensual and exotic as the hibiscus flower that bears its name, Bunga Raya Island Resort is a luxurious jewel set on a coral reef island just off the coast of Borneo. A secluded island hideaway of 47 timbered villas, the resort is framed by white sand beach and virgin jungle. Hillside villas reflect the simplicity of the Borneo architectural style. A hilltop spa blends the finest Traditional Asian and Western treatments using restorative powers of indigenous plants and oils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunga Raya Island Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Bunga Raya Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing