We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Lanzarote”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marisa Home

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Orzola, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ed D
New Ross, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Lanzarote ”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Firstly our host Vanessa was ever so help, a lovely lady who kept in contact over the months prior and during our visit, answering any questions that we had.

'Marisa Home' is a beautiful small traditional house, very well kept, immaculately clean, with all the facilities you will require, and it felt safe during our visit.

It is located 2km (walking distance) south of Orzola on the LZ-203, and about 500m from Lanzaloe.

The house is situated on the private grounds of Vanessa's family, whose home is in immediately close proximity, and notable dog lovers.

Orzola is a sleepy little fishing village. Dotted along the north east coast are some of the most beautiful little quiet beaches (3km - 5km from Marisa Home).

Lanzarote is an island to be explored so that you can truly appreciate it, so car rental is recommended. Everywhere on the island is within easy access, and it's very simple to navigate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Muchas Gracias!
Saludos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjtilley
Barton on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Casa”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Vanessa sent perfect location directions for the Casa. Rural location, great views of the mountains. Lovely beach nearby with lots of rock pools to keep children amused. Orzola is a 40 min walk so a car helps but there is a bus when you get there to travel elsewhere but a hire car does make it so easy to travel around island. Plenty of sightseeing to be done. Ferry to the other island well worth a visit. Supermarket in Orzola not the best but fine for essentials, plenty to choose from in other towns. A couple of restaurants in the town were good, plenty of fresh fish on the menus. The Casa is exceptionally clean, all essentials to cook with are there. Great feel to the Casa, internet was so quick, tv in Spanish of course. It's a great place to stay but if you like to be in the middle of things this is not one for you. We love to stay in quiet locations so this was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Muchas Gracias por vuestra opinión.
Encantada de vuestra estancia en Marisa Home.
Saludos
Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander661...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I recommend this villa highly. We wanted a relaxing holiday away from crowds and noise and this is what we got. The loudest noise was from the small birds in tree outside the lounge window and an occasion dog bark!
The house with very well fitted out, with lots of small details which made it feel like a home from home.
Vanessa was waiting for us on arrival and had left us tea bags, water and cooking essentials like oil, vinager, herbs and spices.
The house is a 30 minute walk in to orzola, which is a sleepy backwater surrounded by beautiful volcanic mountains. If you are wanting a nightlife with bars and restaurants opening late this is not the place for you. But for us it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Muchas Gracias por vuestra opinión, encantada de vuestro paso por Marisa Home.
Saludos.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olegs T
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in Marisa home for almost 2 weeks and leaving here almost felt like leaving home.
The place is charmingly rustic with open views from the front yard and cosy feeling to every corner of the house. The owner Vanessa is very welcoming and helpful. The house is stocked with everything for everyday life and there are basic supplies such as tea, coffee, spices etc. in the kitchen. We had local wine and cheese as welcome gift on arrival.
There is a lot of work and imagination put in design and decoration with nice little details everywhere.
The house is best suited to a couple or family with 1 or 2 children. It is about 1.5 km (1 mile) south of Orzola on LZ203 towards Ye / Haria. Although it is possible to walk to the village and beaches it is still the best to have a car or at least a bike if staying here.
Staying here made our vacation even more enjoyable and we would definitely consider staying in the Marisa house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect isolation ”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A truly idyllic rural retreat, off the beaten track but for anyone looking to experience the real lanzarote this is the place. It is spotlessly clean and wonderfully presented, Vanessa has gone to great lengths to provide a beautifully authentic holiday home. It is a great base for exploring the stunning north and within 20 minutes of some of lanzarotes best attractions. Can't recommend it highly enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Muchas Gracias!! Un placer haberlos recibido en Marisa Home!!
Una familia muy agradable.
Saludos
Vanessa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurraKara...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A super rural retreat.”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We chose this particular area of the island as we wanted to be away from the main tourist areas. We certainly weren't disappointed.

Marisa Home was a delight, we definitely didn't want to leave at the end of the week.

On arrival we were met by our host, Vanessa who was very welcoming, introducing us to the cottage and ensuring that we had her telephone number in case we needed to contact her during our stay.

The cottage was ideal for us, being functional, comfortable, extremely clean and situated in a quiet rural setting. The local village, Orzola, had adequate supermarkets and restaurants as well as regular ferry crossings to the island of La Graciosa.

I would certainly recommend this cottage to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lantNorth...
north yorks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for five nights. Ideally should have had a car as it was half an hours walk into the village. It was very clean and very quiet at night. We enjoyed nice meals in Orzola and a trip on the ferry. The restaurant just over the road was very nice. If you're looking for peace and quiet then would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing