We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good plus (not quite excellent)”
Review of Lake O'Hara Lodge

Lake O'Hara Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yoho National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake O'Hara Lodge
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very Good plus (not quite excellent)”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It would be easy to rate this 'excellent' simply because of the setting which is astonishingly beautiful. The lodge clearly gets many return guests; they are all misty-eyed about the place and it's easy to see why.

But... it is VERY expensive.

So, is it worth it?

1. We had a Guide cabin which (if occupied by just two people) means you get a bedroom, separate living room and full bathroom.The bed is small - a queen - not that comfortable and a bit squeaky making us very conscious of every movement - which alltogether didn't make for the best night's sleep.

2. The rate includes full board (only pay for wine, beer etc) and the food is superb. We were really impressed with the quality - at every meal. There is very little choice but that does not matter.

3. The staff, led by Alison and Bruce Millar, were excellent - very friendly, helpful, attentive and knowledgeable.

4. The location is incredible - totally secluded (nearest public road is 11kms away - access to the Lodge is by a fire road in their bio-diesel bus). There is no telephone service, wifi or television - you are effectively cut off. And it's this 'solitude' in a truly beautiful setting that draws people to Lake O'Hara again and again.

5. The hiking is brilliant; challenging but worthwhile. Taking it easier, there is a lovely circuit of the lake or paddle out in a canoe.

We really enjoyed our two nights at Lake O'Hara. Very glad we went there. But don't think we will be joining the ranks of those guests who return year after year.

Room Tip: Gulp and spend the extra on a lakefront or guide cabin. The lodge rooms looked very small and had sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria Il
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

You may think the cost is too high for a summer camp lodge, until you spend a couple of nights there. You are transported to a pristine Mountain environment , where you can hike In almost too much privacy.. All your needs are provided for, including very special meals or a trail lunch and tea each afternoon.

I was only cautiously optimistic when I realized the bathrooms were shared and you slept in twin beds; however it was never a problem. People were respectful, quiet and friendly. We made many friends who became like family. Most vacationers are repeat customers. It was an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Just be prepared for any weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t1andjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lake O'Hara Lodge is probably one of the most beautifully situated inns in the world. What strikes you first is the complete silence that surrounds you as you sit on the front porch of your cabin admiring the clear blue lake just steps from your door. Being a city girl myself, I truly loved hearing just the sound of wind through the trees and the distant waterfalls.

The rooms in the cabins are neat, comfortable and cozy-romantic. The chairs set up outside the door were the perfect place to enjoy post-hiking wine while resting your tired feet.

The food at the Lodge was very good. The lunches they pack for you to take on your hikes were good--the sandwiches were well thought out, not just a ham and cheese slapped on bread. Dinner was always a nice affair with the food being prepared well.

The staff was wonderful. Every single person we encountered was friendly and efficient. The whole operation runs like a well-oiled machine.

We were lucky enough to stay in lake cabin #6--which is closest to the water's edge without any trees or foliage obstructing that magnificent view. Any lake cabin numbered 1-7 have the best view of the lake, surrounding mountains and distant water fall.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. If you are fortunate enough to land a reservation, grab it up!

Room Tip: Lake cabin #6 has the best unobstructed view of the lake, mountains and distant waterfall. Any lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I can not say enough about my experience at Lake O'hara. It is hard to get a reservation, so start early and be flexible about your dates. Food, service and staff could not have been more perfect. The views and the hiking are to spectacular. I felt like I hade the whole planet to myself when I was out hiking. I am planning to go again next summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VRChewning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was our first stay at the Lodge, and we met other visitors who had been coming for decades. We quickly learned why people from around the world return year after year. From the moment one arrives the service in the lodge is personal but professional. We requested vegeatarian meals and were provided well at three meals a day plus delightful afternoon tea. The hikes in the area are varied, interesting, and beautiful. We have asked the management for a return stay next year...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was our 3rd time and we have put in our request for next year. The hospitality and professionalism of the management and the friendliness of the other guests is just great. Almost everyone is a repeat guest, often coming significant distances across Canada and the USA.
The food was once again outstanding with a good selection of BC wines as selected by Bruce to complement the food.

Room Tip: In the Lodge, which accommodates 15 people in 8 rooms, you share a bathroom (separate male & fem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My fourth visit and stay at Lake Ohara Lodge. The food is delicious and never ending. The staff attentive and alwys willing to please. This is five star hiking in one of the most beautiful spots in The Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CanadaGirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yoho National Park
6.9 mi away
No photo provided
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,635 reviews
8.4 mi away
No photo provided
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,321 reviews
5.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
10.4 mi away
No photo provided
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake O'Hara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake O'Hara Lodge

Property: Lake O'Hara Lodge
Address: 2nd Ave., Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Yoho National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Lake o`Hara Hotel Field
Lake o Hara Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing