We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the sticks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagnell Country Cottage
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were running late arriving and it was dark. Fortunately, the instructions were excellent and we found it OK. A mile down a slightly bumpy farm track the cottage sits above a small stream. We stayed two nights and it was difficult to fault - a large comfortable room, airy clean bathroom and a large residents lounge. Cottage is, perhaps, a misnomer as it is a good size house.
Breakfast good and a friendly landlady.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

As we stay away regularly in B&Bs and 3 & 4* Hotels we have no hesitation to say “Such a pleasant experience”. Although up a long, well made, farm track it was well worth finding especially with such a warm welcome given by the owners. There is a very homely visitors lounge with a comprehensive collection of books, CD's board games, local guides and TV. etc. Our room that overlooked the rear garden was spacious and well furnished with an extremely comfortable bed and bed linen. The bedroom windows overlooked the sloping rear garden that could be admired when sitting in bed in the morning when we appreciated the peace and quiet whilst we drank our first cup of the day! The en suite bathroom was also light and spacious complete with a four piece suite and over-bath shower..

In the morning our host provided a wide variety of breakfast options and my full-English was all freshly cooked and delicious.

We have no hesitation in saying; give this excellent B&B a visit when wishing to stay in Somerset.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyDaysBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My Husband and I have just spent 2 nights in this beautiful cottage, in such an idyllic position, with both long and short walks right from the door. Eileen was a wonderful host, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was excellent. The cottage was well kept, clean and spacious.
The bed was really comfortable and after a long walk we slept so well. The local pubs serve excellent food and are very conveniently located, we can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lovely stay at Bagnell Cottage. Beautiful surroundings. Very peaceful and tranquil. We were given the self-contained 2 bedroom cottage with own kitchen, living room and conservatory. Very private. Great night sleep on a very comfy bed. Lovely owners - very friendly. Breakfast was delicious. There are lots of dogs and cats present but do not go into guest rooms. Good parking. You can walk to nearby places but it's down a very very long track (nice walk though).

Room Tip: Private cottage is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlayerKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Thank you SO MUCH Eileen. We spent a weekend here whilst attending our neices wedding.
We were made to feel we were completely at home. Our own lounge and beautiful bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor. I had to make a small bouquet for the bride and Eileen gave me so much practical help with scissors, pins etc...even offering me to pick from her garden if I so wished.We would certainly return here...you need to be hungry to eat the breakfasts though!!!!
Can recommend the Cat Head Inn at Chislesborough...five minutes drive away. My husbands sleeps very cold all year (health reasons) and she made his bed loaded with lovely thick extra covers, so much appreciated..even offering to put on the heating in July.Wonderful/

Room Tip: All rooms very private and quiet but ground floor wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannettel147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed 4 nights from 24th June. The praise given to Eileen in the other reviews is definitely well earned. The cottage is situated in a very peaceful location and has lovely gardens which you are welcome to use. The room was very clean with nice comfortable beds and, as reported, the breakfasts are great - keep you going all day. There are plenty of places to visit by car in the locality. Don't worry about the 3/4 mile drive from the "main road" to the cottage - we never met anyone else on the road and it seemed shorter the more we used it! Satnav is lost once you get to Bagnell Farm: but just drive past it another 100m to the end of the road and there you will spot the cottage. Thanks again Eileen for the superb hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this quiet B&B whilst attending a family event at Castle Cary. The cottage is off the beaten track so make sure you have clear directions for its location. We received a warm welcome from Eileen who showed us around her garden - lots of water features. Our bedroom, overlooking the garden, was welcoming and spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped - tea, coffee, biscuits, bottle opener and tea towel! There is a small fridge in the lounge/dining room for the use of guests. There was an excellent selection of breakfast options - my husband is a vegetarian - all freshly cooked and presented. If time had permitted, we would have liked to explore more of the local country walks - there is, apparently, a footpath to Montecute. A very enjoyable short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrannyAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bagnell Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagnell Country Cottage

Address: | Little Norton, Norton Sub Hamdon TA14 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Norton Sub Hamdon
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Norton Sub Hamdon
Price Range: £89 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagnell Country Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAGNELL COTTAGE is a non-smoking Bed & Breakfast with a special difference - it is surrounded on all sides by the beautiful Somerset countryside. This stunning, secluded hamstone cottage really is the place to get away from it all, pamper yourself with peace and quiet and fill your lungs with fresh clear country air! Situated near Yeovil, 10 minutes from the A303 on the Somerset / Dorset border, there is plenty to see and do for all ages and tastes, all within easy traveling distance. Set in a secluded valley within a 200 acre private estate with private drive access. Private car park Non-smoking Wifi Quality home cooked breakfast using local produce Striking rural views Bookings are now being taken for Bagnell Cottage's self-catering apartment set within the main grounds. This self-contained, private space sleeps four people and is available for week-long lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bagnell Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagnell Country Cottage Norton Sub Hamdon, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing