We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely warm and welcoming cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagnell Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bagnell Cottage
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely warm and welcoming cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Travelling with my partner and our 7 month old son we arrived to Bagnell cottage on a dark and rainy friday evening. Upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Eileen (the owner) who showed us to our lovely clean and spacious bedroom and orintated us around the communial area then promptly left us to our evening. We stayed two consecutive nights and slept very well in a large and comfortable bed. We throughly enjoyed our stay and although the cottage does not cater for young children specifically so we had to take our own equiptment we felt very comfortable there and able to relax. A delicious full english breakfast is on offer each morning and cooked freshly to order at a time to suit you. Eileen was friendly, approachable and offered good local knowledge. Highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyJane81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

On arrival we were made very welcome. Room was large with very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent.
The setting was remote but very autumnal. The directions on the website were easy to follow and the views in the morning as we left were stunning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we arrived late on an awful Saturday evening. It was very dark and wet, and the Sat Nav didn't quite get us there! We then used the directions provided, and we found the location. Not easy to pick out the landmarks though when it's pitch black and pouring heavily with rain!

On arrival we were made very welcome which made our horrid trip worthwhile.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore and eat at the local pub that evening, but as we had a meal earlier that day, we ate our snacks we bought earlier instead, opened a bottle of wine and sat in the comfortable lounge provided for guests. Lovely! What a beautiful room.

In the morning we had a delicious breakfast which was nicely prepared and cooked. This was sufficient to last us the rest of the day.

Although we only stayed one night, the whole experience was truly delightful, and Eileen certainly catered for our needs throughout.

We are considering staying here longer next year - and hopefully will have a better day to travel with a chance to enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

I recommend staying here. It's so peaceful and quiet - a glorious retreat with a lovely bedroom.

Only one very minor thing - if you wish to use WiFi, the only area to obtain a signal was by the dining table located in the guest lounge - and that was quite adequate, but the signal was not strong enough to use fully in the lounge or into the adjacent bedroom. G3 - forget it, although mobile reception was okay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hungry-Thirsty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The website doesn't do it justice, it's set almost in a wooded garden so you almost feel like you're in a forest or jungle with a vast array of trees and beyond that open countryside. Beautiful and lots of other stunning properties nearby to gawk at en-route. Follow the directions given and use the different postcode provided for sat-nav and both will get you there easily - don't use your instincts because you'll never find it ! Room was comfy, heated, superb power shower, tasty cooked breakfast with extra yoghurt, cereals and fruit if you want it. Room well equipped - lots of little extras to make your stay more comfy: bottle opener, wine glasses, a flannel, good range of drink choices and hot chocolate (no peppermint tea so bring your own) and fresh milk downstairs if you want it. A quiet retreat with lovely 30 min walks to the nearby pretty village pub - tasty and better than expected quality. A torch is provided because it is pitch black outside (great for star-gazing), but I recommend you bring your own too just to be sure. WiFi works well in the residents' lounge, little-to-no phone signal in this area. Close to lots of National Trust properties and similar places to visit. You'll like it here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busyquizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were running late arriving and it was dark. Fortunately, the instructions were excellent and we found it OK. A mile down a slightly bumpy farm track the cottage sits above a small stream. We stayed two nights and it was difficult to fault - a large comfortable room, airy clean bathroom and a large residents lounge. Cottage is, perhaps, a misnomer as it is a good size house.
Breakfast good and a friendly landlady.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

As we stay away regularly in B&Bs and 3 & 4* Hotels we have no hesitation to say “Such a pleasant experience”. Although up a long, well made, farm track it was well worth finding especially with such a warm welcome given by the owners. There is a very homely visitors lounge with a comprehensive collection of books, CD's board games, local guides and TV. etc. Our room that overlooked the rear garden was spacious and well furnished with an extremely comfortable bed and bed linen. The bedroom windows overlooked the sloping rear garden that could be admired when sitting in bed in the morning when we appreciated the peace and quiet whilst we drank our first cup of the day! The en suite bathroom was also light and spacious complete with a four piece suite and over-bath shower..

In the morning our host provided a wide variety of breakfast options and my full-English was all freshly cooked and delicious.

We have no hesitation in saying; give this excellent B&B a visit when wishing to stay in Somerset.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDaysBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My Husband and I have just spent 2 nights in this beautiful cottage, in such an idyllic position, with both long and short walks right from the door. Eileen was a wonderful host, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was excellent. The cottage was well kept, clean and spacious.
The bed was really comfortable and after a long walk we slept so well. The local pubs serve excellent food and are very conveniently located, we can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton Sub Hamdon
3.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Norton Mill
Little Norton Mill
#1 of 1 in Norton Sub Hamdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagnell Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagnell Cottage

Property: Bagnell Cottage
Address: Norton Sub Hamdon TA14 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Norton Sub Hamdon
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Norton Sub Hamdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagnell Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAGNELL COTTAGE is a non-smoking Bed & Breakfast with a special difference - it is surrounded on all sides by the beautiful Somerset countryside. This stunning, secluded hamstone cottage really is the place to get away from it all, pamper yourself with peace and quiet and fill your lungs with fresh clear country air! Situated near Yeovil, 10 minutes from the A303 on the Somerset / Dorset border, there is plenty to see and do for all ages and tastes, all within easy travelling distance. Set in a secluded valley within a 200 acre private estate with private drive access Private carpark Non-smoking Wifi Quality home cooked breakfast using local produce Striking rural views Bookings are now being taken for Bagnell Cottage's self-catering appartment set within the main grounds. This self-contained, private space sleeps four people and is available for week-long lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bagnell Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagnell Cottage Norton Sub Hamdon, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing