We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The curates egg!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The curates egg!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is a bit like the curates egg - good in parts! On the good side it has a good location - 10 minutes from the M5 and 15 minutes to the airport . Reception desk staff are welcoming - but why did I need a chocolate cookie on arrival - I had been stuck in traffic on the M5 for far too long and needed a G&T. Oh and its a long walk from the car park if its raining.
Bedrooms OK - but on 2 recent visits lamp bulbs needed replacing - whats the Housekeeper doing about it - nothing. The architect who designed the bedrooms saved a door in each bathroom and for some daft reason put a window in the bathroom giving a view of the bedroom - so if you are a bit pervey and want to see your love one having a dump you've got it!!
2 restaurants - MPW's in the hotel and a bit of a Bistro/pub in the GYM/The Club about 100 yards away. The food in the Bistro is OK but nothing special - burger and chips/ fish and chips and so on. A 2 course meal for 2 comes out about £35.
The MPW restaurant is quite smart - but could do with somebody with a hoover and duster - the Bankette was covered in crumbs and dandruff - but then the governor is a bit of a scruffy chap and he probably wouldn't notice it (a dirty soup spoon didn't help either) Service is good, if a bit effusive, I lost count how many times we were asked if 'this' and 'that' course was OK and must have heard 'no problems' and no 'worries' about 30 times - what ever happened to 'thank you'?
A starter of Brushcetta without toasted bread was a bit odd - the manager didn't seem to know that a Bruschetta dish comes with toasted bread - and I can only think that the Chef doesn't check food leaving the kitchen. A 3 course meal for 2 with a couple of glasses of wine comes out about £70 . Overall this restaurant is not a patch on the one at Newcastle

Room Tip: A room at the front has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    744
    438
    215
    129
See reviews for
492
1,014
73
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend, visiting friends in the area. We were disappointed from the off really. The decor is drab, I think its meant to be contemporary but it looks tired. The room was okay but small, very little hanging space and some of the furniture is looking worn. The biggest disappointment though was the restaurant/lounge. We needed to eat quite early as we had made arrangements to meet friends and when we arrived in the eating area early evening, it wasn't entirely clear what our options were. The chap in charge was not really interested and made no effort. We had thought we'd eat in the lounge as we were dashing out, but it was dirty and noisy with very loud music, the tables had beer stains on them and sticky tops. The bar menu was covered in splashes of drink and food, yeuk! So we ate in the main restaurant, where the young staff made a great effort (eventually, once we'd made ourselves known), but then to pay £70 for 2 very average main meals with 2 glasses of wine was the icing on the cake.
Breakfast on the sunday morning was more pleasant, but luckily we'd hardly spent any time in the hotel over the weekend, as when we checked out we were surrounded by people complaining.
The young staff were very keen but did not seem to be supported by the manager on our first evening, whereas on the Sunday morning there was a much nicer atmosphere amongst the restaurant staff, which made us feel more relaxed.
Definitely wouldn't go back and definitely would not recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front with the fab view but as mentioned by someone else its noisy with people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loop104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed on Saturday night. Lovely grounds and pleasant hotel. It was busy and expensive but we enjoyed our stay. Fried eggs at breakfast were poor. Obviously been sitting for a long time and were congealed and inedible. Breakfast spread was good apart from that and we would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandhappy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a 1 night stop over for a Bristol flight the next day. Easy and quick to find from M5 and a short journey to airport.
Check in was easy we were met with friendly reception staff and the usual warm cookie. Found our room easily although it was located at the far end of the hotel had it's own entrance opposite the car park to save a walk through the hotel. We had a standard room which had modern décor, clean with a free safe and tea/coffee making facilities.
The scenic grounds are well maintained and hold excellent views. We spent the afternoon and early evening enjoying the sunshine and sunset on the terrace bar. The drinks are little on the expensive side but certainly got us into the holiday mood. We picked from the snack menu which had a good choice and was tasty. You could also eat outside from the main restaurant menu if you wished.
Early breakfast was busy but we got seated quickly and staff explained where everything was located that we may want. Very tasty breakfast with plenty of choice for all requirements and was perfect to fuel up before our flight.
We have stayed at a couple of Double Tree hotels previously in London and Cadbury House almost feels like a flagship for the brand. Would recommend this hotel as an excellent stop over for Bristol airport and for other events alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Plenty of rooms and great restaurant, Pierre White, Entertainment and beauty salon. Fitness/gynmnasium. To think this was once a family home.

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmilton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had booked two rooms approx a year ago. I was told by the girl I spoke to that all the rooms were the same! When we arrived on the afternoon of the 20th it was a very hot day and we made our way to reception. In reception stood Jake, I think that was his name, by a pitcher of ice water and glasses. Not only didn't he offer to help us with our bags nor did he offer us a glass of ice water! The girls on reception were very polite and helpful and WE loaded up one of the trolleys and went up to our rooms. On opening the doors to the rooms at the back of the hotel, looking at the trees, we had to put the lights on as it was quite dismal. We explored our room 418 and not only was the TV not working properly but the room looked tired. We later transferred to two rooms at the much improved light, with a view, front of the hotel and paid the upgrade charge. We did expect 2 nights of Hilton Luxury but unfortunately it will remain a NON- DELIGHT in our lives. All four of us are in our 60's. The latvian waiter in the restaurant was excellent and nothing was too much trouble but other members of staff were more intent on chatting to each other.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Reception staff and check in very fast and hassle free. Room very clean and absolutely loved the shortbread with the tea and coffee, very unusual for a hotel but exceptionally delicious!!! Breakfast was well organised peaceful and hassle free. Good selection and lovely coffee. Great stay. Only criticism would be that there was no hairdrier in the room so I was pleased I had done my hair earlier in the day for our evening out!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelennRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
6.9 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health
DoubleTree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Congresbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing