We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a room on the third floor facing the hill/grassy bank at the back. Unlike our last visit this was a slightly older part of the hotel and had a rather quirky see through window into the bathroom! Yes really! The bathroom door swung round isolating the toilet, or swung back in place to create a full bathroom. But why bother with a door when you have a clear window? Then just to add to the weirdness why not place a mirror in front of the window so anyone in the room can sit on the bed and watch your shower in comfort? The shower is a fixed rain-shower type and is over a very high edged bath – not easy to get in and out of and for the elderly, probably impossible.

The bed by the way was a comfortable King size with electrical sockets on one side, but not the other … not good for charging phones overnight. The air-conditioning was noisy and blew cold air directly over the bed and at bed level, so we soon killed that and opened the windows instead. There is 1 hour free WiFi per day, which soon disappears, failing that it’s pay through the nose, so I wandered down to the pleasant lounge by the lift to use the free public WiFi. Walking out onto the balcony from there gave an amazing view over the Severn Valley into Wales.

We didn’t use the restaurant as the prices were laughable, but we did dine once in the in-house Leisure Club down the road. The food, the service and the sensible prices made for a good meal. Downstairs we used the facilities a few times – gym and swimming pool which were good.

As the car park is down a hill from reception we dropped our bags off at the main door to check in and on check out went down the lift in the new part of the building and drove up to reception. Strangely on check out they tried to charge us for breakfast x 4 times at £25 per time, not even the £20 per time special offer they’d offered us and we’d declined, choosing to breakfast alternatively. In all fairness to them they immediately reversed this charge with apologies. Similarly, when our room was not serviced one day they apologised and rapidly set to, to resolve this.

We like the hotel, but suffered the inevitable drunken conference guest shouting in the corridor at night on one night, otherwise it was reasonably quiet, so we may well return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    730
    427
    211
    123
See reviews for
479
993
72
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Having arrived relatively late in the evening after a long day of travelling, we were not happy at all to be informed that there was no record of our booking, although we quite admired the flippancy when the booking was then found after what looked like some disorganised flapping around having not really paid attention to the name given when checking in.

The room was acceptable and offered reasonable value for money - the top floor had plenty of window space but proved quite noisy. There was a large corporate group out on the terrace when we arrived, who bizarrely had a contingent that watched our every move as we transferred our luggage into the hotel.

The old part of the property looks incredible, although the new build part is looking fairly tired from the exterior. All in all, good enough for a brief stopover and reasonably located for the airport, but wouldn't necessarily be the hotel of choice for anything else. At least the goodbye from the receptionist working early on the morning of our departure was a cheerful way to end a fairly mediocre experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan_Matador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent location, close to M5 & Airport. Third stay here and seems to be going a bit downhill Reception staff friendly & helpful but why oh why the WARM chocolate cookie?! By the time you arrive in your room, the chocolate is all over the place! Nice idea but PLEASE ditch the microwave bit! Rooms comfortable but those with the see through bathroom arrangement are ridiculous! The bar is dark , probably intending to create" atmosphere " but fails a bit on that point. Bar staff were helpful & friendly. Service in the Restaurant was friendly but not of a high standard. We were asked "How was your meal?" literally seconds after it had been given to us! An expensive meal which was less than excellent, this was also our experience on previous visits. Breakfast was good but the two members of staff could not possibly meet the demands of large groups arriving at the same time, and were harassed, understandably. Such a shame to have to give a less than good review as this Hotel is set in great grounds and is in such a good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is a bit like the curates egg - good in parts! On the good side it has a good location - 10 minutes from the M5 and 15 minutes to the airport . Reception desk staff are welcoming - but why did I need a chocolate cookie on arrival - I had been stuck in traffic on the M5 for far too long and needed a G&T. Oh and its a long walk from the car park if its raining.
Bedrooms OK - but on 2 recent visits lamp bulbs needed replacing - whats the Housekeeper doing about it - nothing. The architect who designed the bedrooms saved a door in each bathroom and for some daft reason put a window in the bathroom giving a view of the bedroom - so if you are a bit pervey and want to see your love one having a dump you've got it!!
2 restaurants - MPW's in the hotel and a bit of a Bistro/pub in the GYM/The Club about 100 yards away. The food in the Bistro is OK but nothing special - burger and chips/ fish and chips and so on. A 2 course meal for 2 comes out about £35.
The MPW restaurant is quite smart - but could do with somebody with a hoover and duster - the Bankette was covered in crumbs and dandruff - but then the governor is a bit of a scruffy chap and he probably wouldn't notice it (a dirty soup spoon didn't help either) Service is good, if a bit effusive, I lost count how many times we were asked if 'this' and 'that' course was OK and must have heard 'no problems' and no 'worries' about 30 times - what ever happened to 'thank you'?
A starter of Brushcetta without toasted bread was a bit odd - the manager didn't seem to know that a Bruschetta dish comes with toasted bread - and I can only think that the Chef doesn't check food leaving the kitchen. A 3 course meal for 2 with a couple of glasses of wine comes out about £70 . Overall this restaurant is not a patch on the one at Newcastle

Room Tip: A room at the front has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend, visiting friends in the area. We were disappointed from the off really. The decor is drab, I think its meant to be contemporary but it looks tired. The room was okay but small, very little hanging space and some of the furniture is looking worn. The biggest disappointment though was the restaurant/lounge. We needed to eat quite early as we had made arrangements to meet friends and when we arrived in the eating area early evening, it wasn't entirely clear what our options were. The chap in charge was not really interested and made no effort. We had thought we'd eat in the lounge as we were dashing out, but it was dirty and noisy with very loud music, the tables had beer stains on them and sticky tops. The bar menu was covered in splashes of drink and food, yeuk! So we ate in the main restaurant, where the young staff made a great effort (eventually, once we'd made ourselves known), but then to pay £70 for 2 very average main meals with 2 glasses of wine was the icing on the cake.
Breakfast on the sunday morning was more pleasant, but luckily we'd hardly spent any time in the hotel over the weekend, as when we checked out we were surrounded by people complaining.
The young staff were very keen but did not seem to be supported by the manager on our first evening, whereas on the Sunday morning there was a much nicer atmosphere amongst the restaurant staff, which made us feel more relaxed.
Definitely wouldn't go back and definitely would not recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front with the fab view but as mentioned by someone else its noisy with people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loop104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed on Saturday night. Lovely grounds and pleasant hotel. It was busy and expensive but we enjoyed our stay. Fried eggs at breakfast were poor. Obviously been sitting for a long time and were congealed and inedible. Breakfast spread was good apart from that and we would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredandhappy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a 1 night stop over for a Bristol flight the next day. Easy and quick to find from M5 and a short journey to airport.
Check in was easy we were met with friendly reception staff and the usual warm cookie. Found our room easily although it was located at the far end of the hotel had it's own entrance opposite the car park to save a walk through the hotel. We had a standard room which had modern décor, clean with a free safe and tea/coffee making facilities.
The scenic grounds are well maintained and hold excellent views. We spent the afternoon and early evening enjoying the sunshine and sunset on the terrace bar. The drinks are little on the expensive side but certainly got us into the holiday mood. We picked from the snack menu which had a good choice and was tasty. You could also eat outside from the main restaurant menu if you wished.
Early breakfast was busy but we got seated quickly and staff explained where everything was located that we may want. Very tasty breakfast with plenty of choice for all requirements and was perfect to fuel up before our flight.
We have stayed at a couple of Double Tree hotels previously in London and Cadbury House almost feels like a flagship for the brand. Would recommend this hotel as an excellent stop over for Bristol airport and for other events alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
5.1 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
6.9 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health
DoubleTree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Congresbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing