We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended for Wedings - ignore previous review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for Wedings - ignore previous review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

I paid for the wedding referred to previously and I cannot diagree more with the reviewer - if I had another daughter I would happliy pay the same amount again! Yes there were some issues around guests getting into rooms - but the wedding kicked off at 2 PM so that was always going to be a problem with I think 4 weddings that weekend. The rooms we visited including the bridle suite were all newly furbished and very clean - matching some of the best I have stayed in - and I travel widely in Eurpoe. My son liked the free large cookies on arrival! The staff we came across were very polite, friendly and socialble - certainly NOT as described. The food at the wedding was brilliant with hardly any complaints from the 80 guests - my food was also hot which is a must for me. Wonderful location and fit for any wedding - please ignore the previous review .

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    723
    426
    210
    121
See reviews for
475
982
71
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Hotel is great, newly decorated. You get access to the gym and spa area for free.
Rooms are big enough for two adults. There is no minibar or hair dryer though.
Locations is great, set in the beautiful Somerset countryside.
The hotel bar is ok, nothing to rave about. Breakfast was plenty bit can get busy in the mornings. Staff are excellent!! Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed only one night but a lovely relaxing break. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we had a view of a hill and trees. If you get a room at the front of the hotel, you will have the most amazing view! The room was very clean and nicely decorated, although the window was quite small and with the hill/cliff right outside the window, it meant the room was quite dark.

We stayed on a Sunday so the restaurant was closed. I found this very disappointing. We could have eaten in the lounge bar but the menu was uninspiring so we ate at the health club instead. The food was fine.

There were a large number of families with young children staying and when we arrived in the restaurant we couldn't get a table so had to eat in the bar instead.

All the staff were very friendly, etc. etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raquelrattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

We attended a family wedding here April 2010 which obviosly involves travel for a lot of people but the hotel would not let anyone arriving on the day of the wedding early access to the room to get changed after travelling. So those people had to travel in their wedding clothes or use the changing facilities which are for the pool and gym!!
We called in advance so were advised they could not guarantee access but upon arrival it was clear they would not budge on their rule and therefore very upseting to a good number of people.
The food we excellent and the wedding went off very well and couldnt be spoiled by the jobsworth staff! Also be aware we booked 10 months ahead and the hotel was taken over by hilton group who proceeded to debit one of the partys credit card for an amount in October, when they spoke to the hotel the card was refunded but the same amount was taken again later the same week!! There was no apology from the management for this shocking service.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHands, Group General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, 23 April 2010
Dear Kaish0,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback further to your recent stay at Doubletree by Hilton – Cadbury House Hotel.

I was shocked to read your comments as I find them some of them unfair.

At Cadbury House our check out time for all guests including your own party is 12pm and then we turn these rooms round as soon as possible allowing guests to check in from 3pm, we try with all rooms to have them ready as soon as possible, however due to individual room requirements from guests these cannot be guaranteed. On the date in question we had guests checked in from 12pm and by 3pm over half the hotel was already checked in and making use of these rooms, therefore this was not a case of ‘jobsworth staff’ but honest team members who were trying their best to meet the needs of all guests departing and arriving.

You have also mentioned that a few guests were charged earlier in the year for their stays which were later refunded and I am sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused, however looking through a few bookings from the wedding some guests had booked on a pre payment rate, therefore meaning they would have been charged before arrival.

Kaish0, it is my intention at Cadbury House to not only meet all guests expectations but also to exceed them and this is something I hold dearly as a privately owned business and not a business that has recently been taken over by Hilton, however it is clear in this instance we have fallen short and for this I am truly sorry, however please do let me know if you are visiting this area again as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kindest regards

Mark Hands
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

We had a brilliant stay at the Cadbury House, and until arrival we didn't realise it was a Hilton, because it wasn't advertised on the site we used (double bonus)

The food was amazing, with two restaurants (one casual and one formal) and a bar area to eat in. The food in all restaurants was absolutely lovely. We forked out £50 for a double (two person) steak, that was cooked and presented to the table! It was AMAZING!!

The room was clean, beautifully furnished and a nice size.

The leisure facilities were lovely. A large pool, monsoon showers, sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi.Its offers the best leisure facilities 'in Europe' and has gain awards for this.

All staff are amazing, and very attentive.

Plenty to do close by if you have a car, including trips to Bath and Longleat Safari Park
.
We went for an anniversary weekend and couldn't have had a nicer, more romantic time. I would recommend to all!!

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkHands, Group General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, responded to this review, 3 April 2010
Dear Hannahd21,

Thank you for such kind comments...

I am pleased that you and your fiancee had such a great stay at my hotel and that you found everything to be just right.

Please do let us know when you are coming back as it would give us great pleasure to welcome you back as a returning guest.

Kindest regards

Mark Hands
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

Cannot fault this hotel and its gorgeous grounds.
However, we stayed here on a freebie using up Hilton loyalty points and maybe because we were not paying we were given an "unsuitable" room. The room was for disabled people i.e., the bathroom had no bath and the shower wasn't enclosed enabling wheelchair access with a large plastic seat. The height of the shower was too low for my 6 ft frame and couldn't be adjusted higher, large grab handles everwhere in the shower and around the toilet which was higher than normal, but the sink was too low!! The wardrobes hanging rail was very low. Obviously this room is specific for disabled people and it is commendable but frustrating when you don't get what I would call bathroom facilities in keeping with a luxury hotel. We had no tea in the room only coffee and no soap in the bathroom. We had checked in and gone straight out without really analysing the room and too late to do anything when we got back late in the evening.
I would suggest that this is a very good hotel but make sure when you book that you stipulate that you do not want a disabled room. We had been recommended this hotel but left disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimgironde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth. Cornwall
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

We were put up here for 1 night when our Easyjet flight from Bristol Airport was cancelled.

A
M
A
Z
I
N
G

The hotel is gorgeous. Lovely room, luxurios and comfortable. Breakfast in bed was great, the grounds and building are lovely .. as are the grounds .. I even treated myself to a massage in the spa .. what an amazing hotel and I can't recommend it enough.

I also was impressed we weren't treated in any way as second class .. there was no hint of "well you're only an Easyjet passenger .. we've got paying guests".

Only gripe at all is that the bathroom had a slightly musty smell, presumably from the shower curtain?

But this hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishWebDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health
DoubleTree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Congresbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing