We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza in years”

The Walled Garden at Mells
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Mells
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best pizza in years”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We often visit this garden - it's so interesting, almost wild and yet peaceful - this time we had lunch from the wood fired pizza oven - it was superb, a real treat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 623pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    38
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Pretty garden”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Pretty garden overlooking lush green hills. A nice small kitchen for light meals, snacks and afternoon tea.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VR747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tuscany meet Somerset”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

as if a real plant nursery nestled behind old walls and adjacent to a beautiful 15th century tithe barn in the heart of the picturesque and quintessentially English village wasn't enough they now make the most brilliant pizzas.

it's definitely not fast food thank goodness as each pizza is handmade to order before being popped into the wood fired oven. it's all outside which just adds to charm. we enjoyed four seasons yesterday and that was just the English weather but wow was it worth it. you bring your own wine or other tipple of choice (they do serve non alcoholic drinks as well as fab tea and cakes).

three Saturdays on the run with family and friends is as good a recommendation as I can give!

Helpful?
1 Thank UKHoT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

LOVE LOVE LOVED this place hope it keeps small and quaint and hidden!! Beautiful setting Beautiful gardens so Tranquil to sit and have Lunch in the beautiful surroundings cant wait to revisit to sample the stone pizza!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AMD805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Keep this place a secret, it's wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I don't have a bad word to say about this idyllic secret garden. Wonderful setting, pretty gardens, friendly staff, tasty food and dog friendly.

My only fear is it becomes too popular and busy.

My favourite lunch location ever (even the toilet and it's gorgeous flower arrangement is cute)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekerBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walled Garden at Mells also viewed

 

Been to The Walled Garden at Mells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing