We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”

The Playwright Marbella
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Elviria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$86
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Playwright Marbella, located in Elviria, serves a wide selection of dishes to a very high standard, with a variety of cuisines to suit all diners. Restaurant – Bar – Live Entertainment Established since 2011 in Elviria, Marbella, The Playwright has developed an enviable reputation for creating an atmosphere second to none with food quality and service to match. The combination of great food and live music has made The Playwright successful and popular with locals and holiday-makers alike. Our menu has innovative and fresh, locally sourced ingredients at its core. Infused with an International flavour and a selection of Specials every evening, there is something to suit everyone’s palette on The Playwright Menu Special lunchtime menus (2 course for 15€) from October to April and Early Bird Specials (3 course for 27.50€) are always popular. We can cater for special occasions for small or large groups.
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The play wright is a perfect restaurant for any occasion, whether your on holiday with family, friends or a couples holiday it has something for everyone. They had a fantastic offer on when we visited, 3 courses for around £40 a head. Each course got better as they arrived to the table. It is a little bit out of the way if your in Marbella itself and there is a lot to offer in Marbella however we had a villa in Elvira so it took us 2 mins to drive down and we left the car there and picked it up in the morning. The service is brill, our waitress was from a town near from where we originally live so we ended up having a lot of laughs with her. Defiantly somewhere to visit if your struggling for food places to go, the square near the play wright has lots of local bars and restaurants too, so you can even go for drinks and a dance afterwards, that's if you haven't over indulged :)

2  Thank Nikita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaCatchpowle, Public Relations Manager at The Playwright Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We're so glad you had a great time with us, and really appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 423 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing food.Friendly efficient staff.Brilliant music.What more can I say"My favourite restaurant in Elviria.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaCatchpowle, Public Relations Manager at The Playwright Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Great news to see a 5* rating. We appreciate it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 2100. Arrived 2105. We were asked if we would like a drink at the bar, to which we agreed. We were shown menus twenty minutes later. After finishing our drinks and having been left at the bar for over half an hour we decided to leave. The manager seemed apologetic but we still left. To his credit he offered the drinks on the house, we paid anyway. We spent 150€ in the Argentinian restaurant about a two minute walk away.

I just find it ridiculous that a restaurant can't manage a booking for two people efficiently.

It's a shame really, the food looked superb. Their loss.

4  Thank muammar g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We visited the Playwright on two occasions during our last holiday as it was one of our favourite places to eat.

Fantastic mojitos as an aperitif. The food on both occasions was excellent. Special mention goes to the fish dishes of seafood soup, mussels in a chilli and coconut sauce and the tempura sole. My husband had the mushroom fettuccine and would have licked the plate if possible! The cheese board had a fantastic selection of cheese beautifully presented on a slate. My husband thought the live music was a bit cheesy too! The staff were friendly and attentive. We will definitely be back and keen to recommend this restaurant to others.

1  Thank Nikkijyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaCatchpowle, Public Relations Manager at The Playwright Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you loved our food, despite the extra helping of "cheese" ;)
See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Simply excellent and friendly and offers a superb selection of
Mouthwatering dishes and a superb range of beverages. You'll love this place!

Thank Aniljain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaCatchpowle, Public Relations Manager at The Playwright Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thanks for your straight talking, to the point review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Playwright Marbella also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to The Playwright Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing