We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and fun”

Thistle Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had hoped to go there for mezze night but it wasn't on. However, when we booked one of the staff said she would ask the chef if he could do some extra greek starters for us, which he did. The food was good and filling, if a little bit different from the traditional greek style. However, we had a great blether with the chef after the meal and really enjoyed our visit. We visited the pub side of the business several times during our holiday and again enjoyed the banter with staff. They serve a local real ale - so good we had to visit the brewery!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab Greek Meze”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Often visit for Meze nights with friends throughout the year. Fab food with a great homely atmosphere. Well done Nikos, Jim and team.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jules162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good and questionable”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have mixed views about the Thistle. Have had nice meals but also had a very tough Steak They willingly changed it and said sorry but it was because of their supplier. Sorry but if your supplier is giving you rubbish then give him the boot. Having said that made to feel welcome every time we have visited. s previosuly stated the Meze nights are very good.

Helpful?
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Owner fitted us in for the Mezze Evening at the last minute. Are we glad he did! What super tastes! Lots of flavour and a great selection. Staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book by its cover!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Well done to chef Nicos.

The food is delicious. We ate from the Greek menu and it was blooming fantastic. We ate wild goat, rabbit stifado, beef stifado, pork souvlaki, gigantes,tatsziki and and fresh crunchy Greek salad. All dishes were superb but for me my favourites were the salad and the rabbit stifado. The rabbit was so moist and it was so refreshing to see something like this on any menu. The same goes for the wild goat.

We did have Greek desserts also but for me they were a bit of a let down! Yes they were tasty but I like my baklava a little dryer. The pastry on top was soaked in syrup but I prefer it to be crispy. The same goes for the galatoboureko. Too much syrup and pastry on top was soaked and not flaky they way I believe it should be to give a difference in texture.

From the outside the building may not ouze appeal. The interior restaurant space is comfortable but its not a five star dining lounge more cafe like taverna.

Overall, I lovely place to visit and the Scottish menu looks great too. Cant wait to go back.

Very reasonable. For four people we had 3 starters to make a mezze, 4 main courses and 2 deserts and 2 rounds of drinks. I would say £80 was great value as the portions were more than enough.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

St. John's Town of Dalry, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing