We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danby Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killinick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for the weekend with my husband. Hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. Room very nice, absolutely spotless and well appointed, though bed very small, just standard double. Road noise was very intrusive as hotel is situated on the main road to Rosslare Europort. Nothing close by so we had to pay 30 Euro for taxi into Wexford for drinks/dinner on second night as the hotel lounge was not very comfortable although food is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

I chose this hotel on the basis that it was dog friendly and near rosslare ferry, staying overnight after arrival and again night before departure.
Location: The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Rosslare ferry, on the N59, before Killinick village.
On arrival, it was very busy, arriving during an Irish bank holiday weekend. It was quite chaotic but in a humourous way:- staff seemed to cover reception, serve as waitresses and man the bar at the same time. This is not a small hotel and there did not seem to be enough on duty, but despite this, and despite obvious tiredness, the staff were very friendly.
Rooms: The rooms for pet owners are not in the main hotel but in little, almost mini terraced cottages at the left hand side of the building. Whilst still attached, they have individual door entry.
Rooms are quite compact with small ensuite bathrooms with showers/frosted windows. the TV and hairdryer, tea & coffee were fine.
Pets: Outside there is a lawn with decking, which is adequate for morning, evening run for dogs, but to the right of the hotel is a larger lawn for a good dog run and staff were fine with dogs playing there.
Pet friendly Ireland: if bringing pets, do be aware that the tourist industry is very limited. Hoteliers and pubs will tell you that dogs cannot go into areas where any food is prepared or served, thus a pub lunch with a four legged friend is out of the question, as is a pub visit in most cases.
This appears to be due to a wide definition set for food safety, unfortunately. A narrower definition may better serve the tourist industry. The result is that in this hotel, the dogs had to be left in the room while I ate in the bar area. Uncomfortably, some pet friendly hotels will not allow dogs anywhere, & have rules that also mean dogs cannot be left alone. Not sure how dog owners are supposed to eat. It is advisable to contact the hotels you plan to stay in to clarify the rules. Don't blame the tourist industry, I found the staff at hotels I stayed in really friendly and welcoming, but no-one wants the food inspector to shut them down.
This hotel, on a pet friendly basis, was great for me. I rate it on this basis. I did leave my dogs in the room, ensuring they were worn out & would sleep.
On second visit, again staff were really nice, I had booked the same room and would say this s a great hotel for dog owners. It was good value for the room and just paid extra for the dogs. Do use booking notes if using hotel engine as there are limited dog- friendly rooms.
I did not have breakfast but evening food hit the spot, typical bar food, & what I wanted after long drives.
Only warning is the dance in the function room. If on when you visit, it can be a bit noisy, but that can happen in any hotel.

Room Tip: Seek garden room if bringing pets. If there is limited mobility in your group, there are no lifts in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roaming13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We've been fans of Best Western hotels for several years and we found Danby Lodge to be yet another "hidden secret". We chose to stay here in readiness for an early start to Rosslare ferry terminal the following morning, which is only 15-20 minutes away, so it was just a one-night stopover. I wish we could have stayed longer! Our room was basic but comfortable with a double and single bed; a fair-sized bathroom with a sensibly-designed bath and shower; large wardrobe; tea/coffee facilities and good bedside reading lamps. Our only disappointment was that the small TV screen was way up high on a wall bracket and difficult to see Everything was clean and smelled clean and fresh. Our window looked out onto the garden at the side of the main building and we were also quite close to the road but traffic noise wasn't a problem. The hotel doesn't have a lift by the way.

We had an evening meal in the bar and were pleasantly surprised by the extensive menu and wine list. Both the food and wines were realistically priced. We slept well and woke very early for the 9am ferry. We booked "room only" so didn't sample the breakfast.

The surrounding countryside is very picturesque and the hotel is within easy reach of Rosslare Harbour and Wexford.
Overall we felt our brief stay was good value for money and we collected Best Western Reward points too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portsidejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

very clean and spacious, excellent parking, and a very quiet night, the staff were very nice and extra helpful, the room I stayed was very large and comfortable. my bed was VERY soft not something I like but then again how can you really complain about that. unless your a dick of course! I will stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were more than happy with the hotel. The meals were lovely. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The hotel is in a great spot as its in between Wexford town and Rosslare. Perfect for young and old.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Room quality excellent, staff excellent, food excellent.
Booked this as an overnighter before a ferry crossing back to Wales, manager was so very helpful and so were the restaurant and kitchen staff. Best steak I had in Ireland!
Room was maintained to a very high standard and more than ample car parking.
Definitely recommend this to travellers to and from Rosslare.
10 out of 10.

Room Tip: If you want a ground floor room then do tell the hotel because they will accomodate.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyeddie1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at Rosslare Danby Lodge on the eve of crossing from Rosslare to Pembroke and we were pleasantly surprised with the quality and service provided. The room was clean and very comfortable, the wifi good and the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We enjoyed a few drinks and dinner in the Lounge Bar which was well presented and very good value for money. Highly recommend the Rosslare Danby Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killinick
3.9 mi away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
281 reviews
2.1 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.1 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,862 reviews
0.0 mi away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel

Address: Rosslare Road, Killinick, Rosslare, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Danby Lodge Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare > Killinick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killinick
Price Range: £47 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel is located in the beautiful South East of Ireland. This delightful family run property is located on the N25 between Wexford Town and Rosslare Harbour. An Ideal location in the sunny South East with the wonderful Rosslare strand nearby, this family friendly hotel has much to offer. Whether it is a relaxing break or a stopping point for the ferry, the BEST WESTERN Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel will welcome you like you are one of their family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danby Hotel Killinick
Danby Hotel Rosslare
Danby Lodge Hotel
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel Killinick, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing