We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of Sun Inn

Sun Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A grade two listed heavily beamed traditional pub. Two inglenook fireplaces, which roar away in the cold winter months and a large mature garden and courtyard in summer months. We operate a no booking policy, unless you are a group over seven. We offer six real ales, a wide range of wines and premium lagers. We look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We called in for a quick sandwich and a beer and really enjoyed the visit. You know you are in an old cocaching inn. The welcome was friendly from the staff and the regulars at the bar.

A good range of beers Bishop's Finger and Whitstable Bay Pale Ale were our choice.

The food choices were good and we were pleased to get far more than standard boring pub sandwiches. The filling choices are on baguette, bagel and sandwich (white or wholemeal) .

The wholemeal bread so good. The sandwiches even come with a side of chips or a soup.

We'll definitely call again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zenicepian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had an excellent meal here for Hubby's Birthday on Sunday. Chose from the brilliant value Sunday 'set menu'. Couldn't fault meal in any way. Plenty of choice - I thoroughly recommend eating here! Marvellous value for money, lovely atmosphere in this delightful pub, and very friendly staff - Thank you The Sun Inn for such an enjoyable meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Solange888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnFeering, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Its great to hear about your positive experience with us and look forward to seeing you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A colleague of mine were staying close to this pub overnight for work. Being two hard working lads from South of the River we thought we'd check out a good old fashioned Essex boozer and have a bite to eat.

Apart from low beams seriously impending my 6' 3" colleagues ability to stand up straight, the pub was lovely and quaint inside with small bar area and mainly laid out with wooden tables either side of the entrance.

Staff were lovely and helpful, especially the lady with 'the pink Ferrari'. Good choice of beers too.

Food is all cooked on the premises so you have to wait a bit, but personally I like that. I had the Steak and Stilton Pie for a tenner...worth every penny and I couldn't even finish it all.

Nice vibe. Good prices, good staff, nice beer. What else do you need in a boozer?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hogtronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnFeering, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had lunch here on a Friday in March, it wasn't very busy which surprised us as it was very comfortable and our food was good. We both had the special - fish and chips, and the batter was light and delicious. Staff were friendly and efficient, and we enjoyed it and will return.
The only drawback was that the advertised free wifi didn't work for us. We were told we had to access through Facebook or Twitter but we couldn't get on line so couldn't access either. The very nice waitress told us she couldn't understand it as no one else had that problem. We asked why there wasn't just a password and she had no explanation.

Thank PennyPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnFeering, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.
Regarding the free WiFi, you are required to log in to the service to comply with current legislation regarding public WiFi. We offer three ways to sign in to our service, Facebook, Twitter and via registration form. This then remembers you when you next visit. I will update staff on the issue and hope to resolve it the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What can I say!!!! We went for a meal on Friday and what a fantastic place. The pub was busy but the atmosphere was warm, friendly and really homely. My husband liked the choice of guest ales and was offered a taster before ordering a pint. We sat at a table near the open fire, chose what we wanted to eat and ordered it at the bar. The food was superb and even though the young girl who served us seemed quiet she did have the common courtesy to come and check that everything was ok with our meal. In all, a fantastic night out and we will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bingo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunInnFeering, Owner at Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Inn also viewed

 
Feering, Colchester
 

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing