We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Day”
Review of Prested Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prested Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Day”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We had our wedding here on 5th January 2013. It was a fantastic environment for a wedding - even though it was cold outside. The day was better than we could have ever imagined. Our wedding co-ordinator (Jill) made things go extremely smoothly, letting us know when we needed to be here or there and what was going on.The food was delicious - although we chose a single menu for everyone - it felt so much more than that. Nobody could fault the service or the food.
As we booked the venue before any rooms had gone we had exclusive use of the building which made it more special.
The rooms are all different in layout, which adds to the flavour of the place. Lovely beds and big chunky bedding that you can get lost in, together with tea & coffee facilities and bottled water.
There is a spa in the other building which we could have used but didn't really have the time (I was a bit busy!) so I can't comment on it, but I'm sure it's top notch like the rest of it.
The next morning breakfast was just as lovely as the meal previous. The hot food eggs, sausages, bacon etc. were constantly topped up, and a range of cereals, pastries etc. with tea & coffee on tap! It was clear nobody wanted to leave to the point that housekeeping began when we were still all talking - our fault not theirs!! We just wanted to repeat the day before.
All in all I can thoroughly recommend Prested Hall for a wedding.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike7692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    102
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
163
191
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Great food, people, accomodation and spa treatments. We are a diverse mix of people and everyone felt pampered, comfortable and welcomed - we will return!!! The nicest thing was, and we all work in and have stayed in the very best hotels, we all felt so comfortable and cossetted without any pretentious staff hovering around. So often we feel we have to sit up straight and behave (difficult for most of us!), but at Prested Hall, we were able to truly relax.

Sue Barnes
Lavender Green

Room Tip: Room 1 is wonderful but all others i saw were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay and Pamper Spa Day - Belated Xmas treat. Treatments at Spa were excellent as were the staff and Lunch included. Nice pool, but sun lounge relaxing area was lacking - tired and untidy. Also a bit humid for relaxing/reading inbetween treatments/swim for any length of time, and not really anywhere else suitable to flop. Hotel lovely, beautiful reception & dining rooms; attentive,competent staff are a credit to this hotel. Evening meal superbly cooked/presented and good choice on menu. Twin room a little small for the price, but made up for by the extra comfy beds/duvets & plenty of different hot drinks + bottled water + bics. Particularly liked the fresh flowers everywhere u looked and coffee caftiere in the bedroom as well as the dining room. (I've travelled a fair bit and never had that before.)

Room Tip: Small twin room, so if possible maybe try the doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwil244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My husband and I took his parents to Prested Hall for afternoon tea on Sunday 4th February 2013. We went around this time last year and I think it has greatly improved. It was lovely before, but we were left to our own devices a bit too much and I didn't manage to catch anyone's eye for a top up on the tea. This year the service was excellent, we had bucket loads of tea, and the scones were humongous! I hope this isn't a one off, as I plan to go back there soon :-) The scones were so filling I couldn't actually attempt the cakes, which is unheard of for me! So we had two boxes of cakes to take home. The brownies were our favourites, they were exceptional. Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Jemma83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton on sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Got married here on the 22nd November.

We had looked at loads of other venues but wanted something quite specific. Jill was our wedding planner, and was a great help through the day. We on had the ceremony in the oak room and then ate in the breakfast room.
Rooms were exceptionally clean and very comfortable, no complaints from any of our guests. Food was delicious, we picked one of the standard wedding breakfasts but the hotel were happy to make some tweaks and changes where we asked, (something other wedding venues were not prepared to do)
All extras were provided and we really felt the team went over and above, without invading our privacy.
Had my hair done at the health spa, lady was lovely and put me at ease on the day.

Can't wait for our valentines meal here

Only downside was the windy weather ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed for a weekend spa. The place is very welcoming as are all the staff.
This is a very grand place, lovely dining room and sitting area. The bedroom was so lovely, with TV, kettle and any beverage you could think of. Bed was really comfy had a great nights sleep. The bathroom really clean and lots of little extras we were not expecting. The breakfast in the morning was really lovely, more than you could ever want. The grounds were quite wet to walk on but really gorgeous views. The pool, gym, steam room and sauna were a luxury. The treatments were wonderful really relaxing and value for money. Lunch was also really lovely, it was a shame they were fully booked that evening as another night would really have been lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I went to celebrate my birthday this week,we had afternoon tea which was good and with never ending tea or coffee.There were to many cakes so we brought the remanider home.Very helpful staff and we will definately go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feering
9.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
13.4 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
13.2 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
17.3 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prested Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prested Hall Hotel

Property: Prested Hall Hotel
Address: Prested Chase, Feering, Colchester C05 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Feering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prested Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With contemporary style and comfort within an historic listed country house, this privately owned hotel sits discreetly amid 75 acres of Essex parkland, within 30 minutes of Stansted Airport. Partly surrounded by a moat, Prested Hall offers 15th and 18th century interiors, stunning Art Nouveau decor and elegant 1930s extensions. With 15 attractive en suite rooms and an adjacent health club,with additional serviced (Peresteda) apartments, the owners of Prested Hall have attempted to create a place of quality, where comfort, style and relaxation exist without cold formality. Hotel guests will find helpful staff, and attention to detail, with fresh flowers throughout the house, along with books to browse through, DVDs to borrow, real coffee in the rooms and, always, the pleasure of being away from city stress amid beautiful surroundings. Situated just off the A12, a 5 minute drive from Kelvedon station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prested Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prested Hall Colchester
Prested Hall Hotel Colchester/Feering, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing