We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little different”
Review of Prested Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prested Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something a little different”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Beautiful spacious room. Good quality antique furniture. Very clean. Really felt like home. I loved having bone china tea set for a pot of tea on demand. The cafetiere was a lovely touch. I must have my first mug first thing in the morning. We will go back there soon.

Room Tip: I would like an apartment next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    102
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
163
191
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our daughter was married at Prested hall on the 12th December. The day was simply wonderful thanks to the staff of this hotel with a special thank you to Jill McGrath who did the most amazing job throughout the planning and on the actual day. Everything was perfect - the food, the service, the rooms, the general atmosphere. I would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding venue and thank Prested Hall for making our daughter and new son in law's day so very special and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mithian
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for the wedding of two friends Pete and Shannon. They made an inspired choice, the venue was perfect and all the team there worked hard but were not intrusive, we stayed in attic room 16 which although a bit of a climb to get there, was delightful.

In short a lovely wedding and a lovely venue

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseinVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We got married at Prested Hall on 3rd November and not only is the venue perfect but the service, quality of food and accommodation are also faultless.

Our wedding organiser, Karen and the rest of the team were quite simply outstanding.

My Wife and I felt so relaxed on the day, confident in the knowledge that everything was taken care of to the highest standard.

We would whole heartedly recommend Prested Hall as a hotel and wedding venue. In fact if there is a better one then I would very much like to see it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was a guest at the wedding of a family member and was I impressed. We were warmly greeted and shown to our accommodation, which was in the Spa and Leisure centre, and the two double bedroomed suite was immaculate and to our delight spacious, with all facilities on offer. Kitchen with fridge, microwave, tea and coffee, table and chairs, two comfortable settees, television, ironing board, iron, and hairdryer. What a shame it was only an overnight stay! The wedding ceremony was conducted with respect and at the same time there was a warm environment.

All the staff were efficient and friendly, the function rooms were comfortable, the restaurant was beautifully decorated and the food was delicious. Nothing was too much for the staff. The evening buffet was also delicious and presented in such an attractive way you had to go and look even if you weren't hungry. We danced into the early hour of morning and after a very comfortable sleep in good sized beds and lovely bed linen, we met up for a hearty breakfast the next morning. The whole affair was relaxed and comfortable from beginning to end.

All in all wonderful for the bride and groom and for the guests who stayed overnight.
We drove back through the landscaped grounds and onto the A12 which is so close by and back to normality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We got a late deal 1/2 price room, massive bed lovely bathroom. Staff really helpful & friendly, really nice one night stay. Breakfast was a bit of a let down for me my wife's was fine, they had no haddock so I had kippers that were over cooked, we didn't have a chance to use the leisure facilities

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leightonm347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my husband got married here on 12th October 2013, and wow what a day!!!!! Jill and the whole events team handled the day with utter perfection and everything ran smoothly! Food and drinks are top of range, all our guests that stayed in house loved their rooms and found it hard to leave the next day! We will be forever grateful to the Jill and all staff of Prested for making our wedding day the BEST! All brides/grooms looking for venue BOOK IT!!!!! Jamie and Jessica A

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feering
9.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
13.4 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
397 reviews
13.2 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 23 in Colchester
157 reviews
17.3 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prested Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prested Hall Hotel

Property: Prested Hall Hotel
Address: Prested Chase, Feering, Colchester C05 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Feering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prested Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With contemporary style and comfort within an historic listed country house, this privately owned hotel sits discreetly amid 75 acres of Essex parkland, within 30 minutes of Stansted Airport. Partly surrounded by a moat, Prested Hall offers 15th and 18th century interiors, stunning Art Nouveau decor and elegant 1930s extensions. With 15 attractive en suite rooms and an adjacent health club,with additional serviced (Peresteda) apartments, the owners of Prested Hall have attempted to create a place of quality, where comfort, style and relaxation exist without cold formality. Hotel guests will find helpful staff, and attention to detail, with fresh flowers throughout the house, along with books to browse through, DVDs to borrow, real coffee in the rooms and, always, the pleasure of being away from city stress amid beautiful surroundings. Situated just off the A12, a 5 minute drive from Kelvedon station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Prested Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prested Hall Colchester
Prested Hall Hotel Colchester/Feering, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing