We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb afternoon tea ”
Review of Prested Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prested Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb afternoon tea ”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Prested Hall for afternoon tea and it certainly wont be my last. What can I say, gorgeous sandwiches a plenty, homemade scones and cakes all in beautiful surroundings. The staff couldn't have been nicer, always making sure we had a full pot of tea and offering us extra sandwiches. All in all a fab afternoon which me and my mum loved. If you've not been try it, you won't be disappointed!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lodgesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    102
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
165
193
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place is perfect for a wedding. My sister booked the whole place and the rooms in the hall were modern, well decorated and worth the money. Can not recommend this place enough. Thank you to everyone at Prested - but especially Jill McGarth - who made sure that everything run like clockwork. Please pass on my comments and give her a big payrise !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveladdictuk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had our wedding here and it was amazing. Kathryn everitt was fantastic. Everything went as planned. All of our guest commented on how good the food and service was. The rooms are lovely we would 100% recommend prested hall as a wedding venue :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxyfirefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A bit of a mixed bag, but left me feeling distinctly underwhelmed!
Plus points - very comfortable bed, lovely large modern bathroom
with big fluffy towels, food in leisure club bistro very good and reasonably priced.
Minus points - room smelled like a charity shop - really fusty - had to have the windows open all the time (just as well as the room was very hot), very loud 90s pop music blaring away in empty restaurant until I had to ask Reception to turn it off at midnight so that I could get to sleep, had to walk over to the leisure centre at other side of ground to eat dinner in the leisure club bistro - no dinner available in the hotel itself, breakfast on day one was so awful that I did not even bother on day two. Worst of all when I commented on this to Reception on check-out all I got was a very grudging apology.
This hotel is trying to be something that frankly it is not - they charge for a top end country house hotel, but really need to smarten up their act if they really want to be in this bracket. Suggest they learn lessons from real Country house hotels (Swinfen Hall and Netherstowe House spring to mind). Horribly overpriced - very glad that I was on a Laterooms deal or would have felt very aggrieved. Bottom line - at this price you can do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenbehatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delabole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I visit this hotel from time to time on business. It's well located and has a good little public gym next door which visitors are free to use.

Being a creaky old building I this time thought about my booking and booked an upstairs attic room to save being woken by early risers or really late finishers. A good move. Spacious and airy compared to my previous stay in a room which seemed a little stuffy.

The venue is pretty well equipped but my big gripe is still the fact that WiFi isn't fed to the rooms...come on guys, it's so easy to do this and it is 2014 and you do target business travelers! The bin in my bathroom had also not been emptied since the last occupant and the antique mirror in the bedroom was so filthy that it took me 30 mins to realise I didn't have cracks and lines on my face.

Parking though is aplenty and safe and breakfasts are brilliant (I noted these are now served in a garden room which is far nicer than before).

This deserves the 'best in Feering' award and it was worth every penny but I think just a little more attention to detail would give this a truly 5* status.

Room Tip: Go to the top of the hotel for attic rooms...quieter and better views with windows that open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogtronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent hotel. Attention to detail very good. Sarah jane Morris performing in the evening lovely intimate atmosphere. Really good fun just hope that they do it again. Very comfortable beds and bed linen. The hotel is stunning oak panelling everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after attending a jazz night at Prested Hall. What a fantastic evening. The food was very good and much, much of it. The staff are wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms in the Hall are fantastic. The beds are so comfortable and soft. Everybody you speak to remark about the comfort of the beds.
I must be honest with you now. This was our second visit. Our daughter held her wedding reception there in February. That was also a fantastic day. The staff are again truly awesome. Well planned. Well organised. And the food was wonderful. The are a very high standard. Some are large, some are small. You take your pick if you arrive early. But after all it is first mentioned in the 14th century in the doomsday book. Much improved since then though. Best thing I can say is go and see for yourself. Say hello to Kathryn and Gill for me.

Room Tip: Room 1.Largest. Overlooks the rear grounds.Just lovely. Everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feering
9.7 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
681 reviews
13.2 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
298 reviews
13.4 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#5 of 23 in Colchester
161 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
785 reviews
17.3 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prested Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prested Hall Hotel

Property: Prested Hall Hotel
Address: Prested Chase, Feering, Colchester C05 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Feering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prested Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With contemporary style and comfort within an historic listed country house, this privately owned hotel sits discreetly amid 75 acres of Essex parkland, within 30 minutes of Stansted Airport. Partly surrounded by a moat, Prested Hall offers 15th and 18th century interiors, stunning Art Nouveau decor and elegant 1930s extensions. With 15 attractive en suite rooms and an adjacent health club,with additional serviced (Peresteda) apartments, the owners of Prested Hall have attempted to create a place of quality, where comfort, style and relaxation exist without cold formality. Hotel guests will find helpful staff, and attention to detail, with fresh flowers throughout the house, along with books to browse through, DVDs to borrow, real coffee in the rooms and, always, the pleasure of being away from city stress amid beautiful surroundings. Situated just off the A12, a 5 minute drive from Kelvedon station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prested Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prested Hall Colchester
Prested Hall Hotel Colchester/Feering, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing