We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect peaceful seclusion with luxurious...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cozy glamping with amazing views of the hills of Mid Wales.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cozy glamping with amazing views of the hills of Mid Wales.
Relax with a good book, views towards the Brecon beacons Large comfortable bed, with under floor heating and Freeview TV.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Cozy glamping with amazing views of the hills of Mid Wales.
Relax with a good book, views towards the Brecon beacons
Large comfortable bed, with under floor heating and Freeview TV.
Wonderful views at breakfast
Lounge and separate bedroom
Full kitchen facilities including fridge, oven, sink and breakfast bar.
A real home from home, very well equipped kitchenette.
Hot showers
Beautiful private bathroom
Fluffy towels and linen provided.
Get away from it all, in style.
Peace, quiet and surrounded by nature
Alfresco dining
Shepherd's Hut next to the quarry
Llandrindod Wells
Royal Welsh Show in July
Powys Castle, one of 600 in Wales
Builth Wells
Red kites share the hillside with you
Go dolphin watching
Romantic get away
Book and blanket and relax
Try fossil hunting, great for all ages
Roam for miles
480 million years old
Recent finds
Keep warm with beside the firepit
MMMarshmallows
We're so proud of this
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Howey, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Janet W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“perfect peaceful seclusion with luxurious connection to creation”
Reviewed 6 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Although intrigued and attracted by the notion of having the welsh hills to ourselves, I was worried that we would be cold, Absolutely not! in fact I was even too hot which is unheard of! We loved the quarry hut, it was superbly equipped, no attention to detail left unattended, finished to a high specification, we loved it and have already recommended it to our friends. It's cosy not cramped and great value.

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2018
So pleased you had a lovely break with us, and you loved walking in the Mid Wales hills. Thank you for your lovely review, and for your recommendations. Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unbelievably perfect!”
Reviewed 23 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I literally fell in love with this place. Its peace and quiet - heaven on earth! Fresh air, stupendous views all wrapped up in a golden nugget of luxury glamping! Underfloor heating, super comfy beds, all the necessities that you need....AND fossil hunting on your doorstep. Emma the owner was so friendly and helpful. I cannot praise this place enough. Its remote - so don't be expecting a costa coffee shop in the local town or constant Wi-Fi, but this is a place to UNWIND so do so. Perfect, perfect views. The owners best hope I don't come into some money or I will be snapping this up for every week of all the years I can pay for!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceiswyn
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fossils, views, and unbelievable comfort”
Reviewed 11 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
2
people found this review helpful

There are very few places in the world with fossils of this quality and quantity, and even inexperienced fossil hunters can find something well preserved and recognisable. But this is not just a good place for palaeontologists; it also offers amazing views, seclusion, and good hiking possibilities (unfortunately I didn’t have time to try any of the interesting-looking tracks).

The hut itself boasts central heating, hot water and electricity, and although tiny is well-thought-out. A lovely haven of comfort to return to after a day out in the wilds!

Note that while access is down a farm track, it’s fairly well maintained and even a low-slung car can be got down it with a bit of care.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, so glad you had a great stay. You are welcome anytime. Best wishes Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B
1 review
“A brilliant fossil location and incredible accommodation!”
Reviewed 26 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Just returned from a trip and my wife and I loved it! The hut is clean, warm and comfortable and contains everything you could possibly need! We were lucky with the weather, but the nights were cold and we enjoyed being cosy and warm sitting watching the light fade on such an amazing view.

The fossil hunting was great and with the quarry only five minutes away, it was easy to take a break for a coffee without intruding too much on the hunting! A lovely experience!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2018
What a lovely review, thank you so much. Glad you had a great time. Best wishes Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil O
1 review
“Get away from it all.”
Reviewed 18 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My self, daughter and grandaughter thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was the first time we had been to Wales for an extended period. We spent a lot of time in the fascinating nearby quarry searching for trilobites but made time for trips to Llandrindod Wells and Aberystwyth (which took longer than Google said it would). We passed the red kite feeding station but didn't leave ourselves enough time to stop, however, we did see a lot of kites around the area.
The Hut was wonderfully well equipped and cosy. You could feel the effort and thought that went into the hut. (Thank you Emma). We ate outside when we could just to see the views. Warm drinks around the firepit as the sun went down was great. Unfortunately the weather was too cloudy to see stars, so we'll have to book again.
We really felt that this was a perfect holiday. Things to do, places to go and a real sense of getting away from everything. in fact we only saw one person near the hut and he was lost, so we pointed out a path we had walked the previous evening and he was happy. All was well with the world again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
What a lovely review thank you. We're glad you loved Mid Wales as much as we do. You and your lovely family are welcome anytime. Best wishes Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachaelt0...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 14 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a super stay here. Totally home from home for us, and we loved it. There was 4 of us (including 2 young children) we didn't spend much time inside because the weather was glorious! But what a beautiful little place to stay! The double bed is very comfy and I love the idea of it being 'tucked away'
The hut was very clean. The kids loved the little Welsh cakes as an extra! Very kind! We walked most evenings and the views are amazing! There is plenty to see and do around here! All in all a great, great stay! If we ever visit the Welsh Show again. We will be back! Thanks so much Emma & Family!

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, glad you had a wonderful time. Emma & Lyndon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The shepherds hut is beautifully fitted out and really comfortable. There were four of us two children two adults and never a dull moment. The views and peace and quiet were great, sheep cows fossils and red kites. And all within easy reach of a supermarket...we will be back

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, you are welcome anytime. Best wishes Emma & Lyndon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing