We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Wells Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Howey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Attention to detail in the rooms, through to the very handy and well stocked bar serving local bottled ales. We stayed for one night and only had the breakfast which is all made from local produce and on the strength of that I plan to return and try out the Sunday lunch. The little lake out the front makes for a very pleasant view, complete with swan. I can imagine this to be a lovely place to come to in the Summer. If I was to be critical, the only complaint would be the drive which is a little potholed.

Room Tip: Front rooms across lake would be good, but I was not dissapointed with the view to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgatens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    51
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
68
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We booked to stay but when we arrived we knew this place was not for us and decided to leave, we were showed the room which looked clean but dated. Can't comment on the food as we left and found somewhere else to stay. If you're looking for a B&B or guest house this will probably be fine for you, if you want a hotel it probably will not be. I must say the guy on reception was very amenable. The setting was lovely too.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank valleysviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Lovely location with fantastic views. Warm welcome on arrival with clean refurbished rooms. We were there on a Sunday night and I have to say the menu was limited, I would have expected a roast meal to be on the menu for a Sunday. However, the food on offer was, we were told, home made and yes it was very tasty. Such a shame though, that after all the hard work of preparing the meal that it was served on COLD plates. Come on Three Wells please warm the plates before service, you cold plate spoiled what could have been a good meal.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed as a group on a university reunion and I really can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The rooms were spotless and ours was a really good size with a lovely big bed. Mike and the team went out of their way to help us out - recommending local activities to keep us occupied and being really flexible to cater to our needs as a group. The bar was well stocked and food was delicious throughout with a special mention going to the amazing blueberry pancakes. Speaking to him about future plans, I can only see this hotel going from strength to strength. It is clear that the team are passionate about hospitality and I will definitely be back for a repeat visit. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I wanted a weekend away without the kids and just to spoil ourselves - we found a superb idyllic spot here

The hotel is tucked away in virtually the middle of nowhere on the banks of a lake and surrounded by fields filled with sheep and horses

We treated outselves to a suite which was huge! We had the most comfiest bed ever and a separate sitting area with a tv. There were also coffee & tea and we thought it was a lovely touch when we were offered a jug of fresh milk instead of the UHT in the room

We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and oh my it was absolutely divine! The food was exceptional

Breakfast in the morning was superb too. A choice of cereals and orange juice was there for you to help yourself. The cooked breakfast was superb too - the bacon was lovely and thick which is a rareity these days!

All in all we have found ourselves a little gem here and next time we want a retreat away from the humdrum and the kids we will be back!

Thank you for a fantastic weekend

Room Tip: Have a suite and treat yourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We wanted an escape to the country and found the ideal spot in the Three Wells Hotel. It's in an idyllic setting, tucked away by a beautiful lake. We were after walks, board games and wine and got the best of each! We didn't need a car to get to the walks we went on and the staff were really helpful in pointing us in the right direction. The staff were extremely polite and accommodating throughout our stay, going out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. The food was great too. I was really impressed with the range of vegetarian food on offer both on the restaurant and bistro menu. Thank You Three Wells!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I chose the Three Wells Hotel for a one night stay to break our journey to Tenby. The hotel has clearly been improved - the whole place was beautifully furnished and smart. My husband and I were shown to our double room, which was very clean and pretty, with a nice view overlooking fields. We sat outside in the late afternoon sun watching the wildlife on the small lake, and although only minutes from the main road, we felt as though we were in the heart of the country We ate a tasty meal that evening, whilst watching a fox on the lane, slept well and after a hearty breakfast continued our journey to Tenby. The owners of the Three Wells deserve much success with this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howey
1.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
12.1 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Wells Hotel

Property: Three Wells Hotel
Address: Chapel Road, Howey, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5PB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Howey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Howey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a unique, small hotel nestled in the heart of Wales. Whether you're visiting the Royal Welsh Showground, doing business in Llandrindod Wells, or getting active walking, cycling, mountain biking or kayaking through some of Wales' finest countryside, Three Wells is your perfect base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Wells Hotel Howey, Llandrindod Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing