We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Three Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Three Wells Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Howey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lingfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in Room 12 twin ensuite for 3 nights and we would have happily stayed for longer, a very peaceful and relaxing hotel. This may only be a 3 star rated hotel but having stayed in a 4 star last year in the same area I would rate this one higher for the comfort of the hotel and attentiveness of the staff. I hope they suceed with this hotel and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    52
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
71
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanboidy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A peaceful hotel in the countryside overlooking a small lake - what more could you want! The bedrooms are all en-suite and are extremely clean with everything you could wish for including Welsh Cakes and other goodies.! The young owners are extremely pleasant and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The restaurant overlooks the lake and the food is of excellent quality. Most of the rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard. This is our second visit and we are returning again in May for a walking holiday in the beautiful Powys countryside with 28 of our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinandmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Wonderful weekend wedding catered for ALL and service with a smile. The picturesque Three Wells was a perfect setting for the whole weekend with large rooms to suit all that travelled and stayed. The whole day ran smoothly and dinner service was exceptional to accompany the delicious food on offer.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent 3 glorious days over the last Easter in the "Three Wells Hotel & Restaurant" near Llandrindod Wells in Mid-Wales. It was bitterly cold and the mountains were covered with snow but the sun shone, there was plenty of fresh unpolluted air and and the surroundings were beautiful.

The Hotel itself has its own lake with a swan, some Canadian geese and ducks and this a fantastic setting to wake up to each morning.

The Hotel staff were kind and warmly hospitable and always ready to fulfil a chore, answer questions or give practical advice. Thank you, Jonathan.

The food was of an exceptionally high quality, whether it be a savoury breakfast, a scrumptious Pub supper or a Gourmet meal for special occasions - as it was over Easter. ( A bouquet of flowers to the gifted Chef, Michael)

We can highly recommend this venue for any occasion. Outstanding quality and not overly expensive.

Jeff Lederer

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We spent two nights on 15th and 16th Feb 2013. at this lovely hotel. We were upgraded to a suite with lovely views over the lake to the hills beyond. Our room was stylish and spotlessly clean with complimentary snacks and tea and coffee and our bathroom was spacious and ultra chic. The food was fantastic; some of the best we have eaten anywhere. The lounge and bar areas were comfortable and very warm. Thank you to the staff who were so friendly and welcoming. We are so glad to have found this little gem of a hotel and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here using a groupon which included 2 nights and a 3 course meal at the hotel.

The location was beautiful, right on a lovely lake in a countryside setting. The staff were lovely, friendly, helpful and couldnt do enough for you.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night, as per the groupon. The restaurant describes itself as fine dining, im afraid i have to disagree. Very limited choice of only 4 options. I ordered lamb, it arrived as the smallest portion I have ever seen in a restaurant (2 small fatty pieces of loin and one ravioli with some sauce) and it was stone cold. I asked to have something else, as eating cold fatty lamb completely put me off what I had ordered and was served the mushroom risotto.

I am a huge fan of risotto, have eaten it in many fine dining restaurants, and although this time it was hot, it tasted like overcooked savoury rice pudding with chewy mushroom pieces in it. Im really not sure what stock it was cooked in, tasted a bit meaty which was odd considering it was the only vegetarian option on the menu. The starter and dessert were average, the starter again being very small. My partner ordered the beef and did enjoy it, though again the portion size was very small.

We retired to our room hoping breakfast would be better the following morning, again it arrived luke warm-cold. I did not complain this time and ate it as i was starving from lack of food the night before.

Our room was spotlessly clean, however the decor was very dated and felt like we had stepped back into the 90's. The maid did inform us however that they were re-decorating all the rooms slowly, Im very glad that you are! Little touches such as welshcakes, crips, bottled water were very thoughtful and lovely.

I think our room must have been above the kitchen, as we were woken up by shouting people at 6.45am and did not get back to sleep. Walls were very thin i think!

We decided not to stay a 2nd night, as the area was a bit too quiet for us being a young couple used to city life. We also did not want to stay for another luke warm passable breakfast, or be woken up early by staff shouting. They did give us a free drink to apologise for the cold food, so that was nice.

Im really sorry to have to write a bad reveiw about this hotel, as the staff were lovely and they are clearly trying to make it into a nice hotel. Its just a shame that some things like the food don't quite make the standard!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that has been re-decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josefeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent 2 nights at this excellent hotel on an amazing value Groupon voucher 21/22nd Feb 2013. The room was large, warm and recently decorated with an on suite bathroom and a view of the lake. Tea/coffee making facilities and crisps, welsh cakes and biscuits were provided free.
The hotel has a dining room overlooking the lake, a bar and sitting rooms.
Our voucher included a three course dinner for two on the first evening. When given a menu I enquired whether there was a separate menu for our voucher but it included the full restaurant menu!
The food was excellent and we enjoyed it so much that we paid to eat there on our second evening. The menu is not extensive but the food is well cooked.
We enjoyed the hotel and would consider it to be good value had we paid the full price!
The staff could not have been more helpful and the hotel setting is delightful.
This young couple deserve to succeed with this relatively new venture.
Chris Jones. Feb 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christopherjNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howey
1.5 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
786 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#27 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Highland Moors Guest House
Highland Moors Guest House
#5 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Wells Hotel

Property: Three Wells Hotel
Address: Chapel Road, Howey, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5PB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Howey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Howey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a unique, small hotel nestled in the heart of Wales. Whether you're visiting the Royal Welsh Showground, doing business in Llandrindod Wells, or getting active walking, cycling, mountain biking or kayaking through some of Wales' finest countryside, Three Wells is your perfect base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Three Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Wells Hotel Howey, Llandrindod Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing