We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tmagg926
Columbus, Ohio

Would love to stay again

Review of Mae Rim Lagoon
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Sept 2011
If you ever find yourself in northern Thailand, this hotel is a MUST. The atmosphere is so peaceful it is easy to relax. Very nice pool, and the scenery can't be beat. A gorgeous garden and lagoon is a great place to have couple beers.

Now...the service. The family that runs Mae Rim were some of the nicest, most accommodating people I have ever met while traveling. They would sit and talk with us, and we quickly felt as if we had been friends for years. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Excellent, amazing people. A big Thank You to Boat and her family for the wonderful time.

I can definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation. Oh, great food also.
Date of stay: July 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£579
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £579
0.3 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £35
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £48
  • Booking.com
1.4 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £92
  • Booking.com
7.9 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £18
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £67
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool and poolside bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • Booking.com
4.2 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dining Area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £40
  • Booking.com
3.6 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Booking.com
7.9 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £41
  • Booking.com
8.1 miles from Mae Rim Lagoon
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Mae Rim
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
27
19
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
19
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Personalised service, really friendly from the begining, in the midle of great montains and a Lotus Lagoon, perfect for 3-4 days relax and really close from many Orchid farms, National Parks, cascades...
Highly recomend it!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is surprisingly affordable and has very comfortable, stylish rooms - ours with it's own balcony and a marvelous view. It's surrounded by a big beautiful garden in which you can eat in privacy in one of the small terraces. The staff and not least the owner was so nice and helpful. Somehow the atmosphere was very calm (well it was low season) and romantic :-) Remember to bring you own vehicle - taxis are not easy to find. Otherwise there is a driver connected to the hotel.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pannington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel (more like a resort) is situated on a peaceful landscape with cozy decoration in every corners specially the reception corner by the lagoon. It is good for a weekend to find peace and nature. Love the garden with big trees. I was impress by the newly built swimming pool which I really enjoyed sibbing my beer by the pool side every afternoon.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Choke007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We had a great stay at the Mae Rim Lagoon. We went up for a peaceful 4-day weekend and got just what we were looking for. The location is great. Although it is outside of the city, we were a 15-minute car ride to Chiang Mai and all it has to offer, while at the same time having the peace and quiet of the countryside, views of the mountains, the beauty of the green grass and flowers, and the view of the lagoon. We found the staff to be helpful, the rooms to be clean and well maintained, and the overall experience one of our favorites! Sitting by the pool, or relaxing in the spa, or just walking around the area, no matter what, we enjoyed it. It is an older hotel, but do not let that keep you from spending some time in this area. Thanks Mae Rim, we will be back!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2011

For those who hate the chaos of the city, this is the place you can find a peace of mind (and yet a short distance from Chiang Mai city). For me, it's,by far, the best family run hotel. Friendly and attentive staff. Great food by the way!

Date of stay: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrawanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews