We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thais may love it but...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pongyang Angdoi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mae Rim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pongyang Angdoi
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thais may love it but...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Fortunately, I only used the restaurant and did not reside at this clearly over rated establishment. We arrived for dinner at 7.30 and was met by an officious individual who told us that the kitchen would close at 8 pm- some welcome!

Only 2 tables in the capacious room were taken- a total of six diners (all Thai) and it was explained to us that the early closing was due to it being 'the low season' when, logic would dictate that the few customers around would be even more valued and an extra mile could be taken: this logic had clearly by passed the management.

On the way to our table (between the other 2 that were occupied- presumably to make life easier on the staff who would not have to walk so far) my path was blocked by 3 different waiters- none carrying a thing- yet I had to give way to them or they would have simply barged into me. The famous Thai smile was nowhere to be seen.

The menu had only one western dish and the Thai food on offer was almost exclusively spicy and unsuitable for anyone who cannot take the chilies for taste or health reasons. When a wine list was requested, we were told that there was none and directed to a bar where an indifferent "sommelier" demanded to know if we required 'red or white?' She then proceeded to plonk 5 bottles of red on the counter so that a selection could be made. They were of fair quality but all over priced.

The food was underwhelming and as if to add insult to injury, we were presented with the bill while we were still eating the main course; 'So we can turn off the computer.' The service was surly. The price was high.

Thais may love this place but the experienced international traveller should steer clear.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesBarnes084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

i rate a very good for this restaurant because of a nice waterfall panorama view which cannot find this view in any other restaurant in chiangmai.
for taste of food, honestly there are very general, not good or bad. pricing is not so expensive but a bit higher than local restaurant.
so depends on you what you are looking for, atmosphere or foods.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alistitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

First visited here about ten years back. Used to be excellent view, excellent service and at least good food. Only the view remains!
Don't take seats anywhere near toilets, whose smell gently wafts across at least the middle part of the restaurant.
Don't order 'assorted German sausages' you only get two.
Cover you drinks and hold your breath when waitress sprays adjacent tables with cleaner.
It's reservations only, thanks to active tour business...and perhaps memories. But seems complacency and lack of management are taking toll.


Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ifenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mae Rim hotels

Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just outside of Chiang Mai city lies a lovely little place nestled in the mountains, Mae Rim and beyond. Only a 30-40 minute motorbike ride away into a breathtaking jungle will cool you down from the heat of CM city. First you arrive in Mae Rim, but then you venture up the mountain beyond the typical touristy traps and resorts into the true taste of Thailand you have been looking for. There are more tucked away resorts and guest houses than you can imagine. You don't need a reservation and I encourage you to check at least two or more places.
Pongyang Angdoi was our second stop and exactly what we were looking for. No other Falang, set on the river and facing a wonderful waterfall. It is a bit aged, but classic in its typical Lanna style construction with rooms spread out perfectly across the property.
Lovely people to greet you and a well deserved afternoon drink next to the waterfall. Nice choice of food for dinner and even an international wine selection to chose from. I suggest you try the local Thai wine. Relax and sleep well to the river flowing through the resort. Don't forget to wander around the property and see the gardens.

Room Tip: Try to get a riverside room, although the others are nice as well, 4A or 4B will deliver the river s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericovrsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for many years, but we have seen a steady drop in quality, and a big increase in prices..? Today was the last time we will go there. The service was poor, by lazy staff. The food was average, and the prices were ridiculous. We paid more than we would have for a good restaurant in downtown Chiang Mai..! It used to be worth the long drive up there, but not any more. 320 baht for a bowl of fried rice is crazy..! The final bill was almost 2000 baht, with no alcohol, and very ordinary Thai food..? The only good thing wi the scenery, but it is not that good..!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbrunning945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

This is a very good restaurant in a lovely setting. Good Thai food, Falang options and good service. Catering mainly to tourists from Bangkok and elsewhere but still manages to maintain the cuisine of the North. Recently relocated to Chiang Mai , I am so happy to have found this restaurant for relaxing weekend lunches.Will return soon and strongly recommend to all wishing for a good authentic and varied Northen Thai meal at a reasonable price level.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Didn't stay here, just had a lengthy lunch. The restaurant serves good quality, fresh, local fare, with plenty of farang options if you're tired of Asian. The multi-level layout offers panoramic views of jungle, river and a waterfall.There's even a waterfall flowing through the restaurant. Good spot to chill-out after visiting the local tourist-trap monkey/elephant/snake/ crocodile//orchid circuit. Service/kitchen is the usual haphazard arangement you'd expect from any local oriented place in Thailand; food comes when it's ready, or maybe not at all!
Certainly worse places to spend an lazy afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 330driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
1.0 mi away
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
Phu Jaya Mini Resort
#147 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.4 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 18 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
4.6 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
4.3 mi away
Mae Nai Gardens
Mae Nai Gardens
#5 of 18 in Mae Rim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pongyang Angdoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pongyang Angdoi

Property: Pongyang Angdoi
Address: 49/3 Moo 2 Tambol Pongyang, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pongyang Angdoi Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing