We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
68
84
27
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
84
27
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wi fi chiang mai grounds are beautiful hired a car bungee jumping short drive pools resort thailand spa rim bicycles gardeners massage sofa buggies serenity
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017

I'm normally pretty critical in reviews hoping that it provides value to future customers who have bothered to read what I've written in prep for potential visits. This property is far from perfect, but we really enjoyed our stay here. It was nice a quiiet, pretty surroundings and the staff were typical Thai, I'd friendly and always courteous!
Yes, it's showing it's age a bit, especially in some of the room features, but this didn't really effect the comfort, the rooms are quite spacious.
We hired a car from the airport which really made the stay stressfree, as the location from Chiang Mai is about a 45 minute drive, but we also took advantage of being near the hills and driving around local villages and sight seeing.
In contrast to previously visited a Thai cities, there's no tourism hard sell, the prices are mostly fixed and on the down side, English is not commonly spoken, whilst this shouldn't ruin your holiday it did make some dialogue difficult.
My biggest complaint.... 4nights and 5 days wasn't long enough!
Ps, wi fi was great throughout the entire grounds also.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you both enjoyed your stay and the area. There has been a large investment to get good quality Wi-Fi throughout our large area with most people getting close to 30meg in their rooms. We have 2 separate fibre optic lines in and 25 machines to distribute a signal in a resort full of trees. I therefore enjoy hearing that it was appreciated. Some rooms are older than others and the oldest rooms will get a total refurbishment next year but as a family business we have to move step by step. Thank you again.

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This is a lovely resort in the middle of Maerim area, a short drive out of the city of Chiang Mai. This resort was very quiet except for bird noises, the staff are very friendly and the grounds were lovely. There is free fishing, bicycles and wi fi available. We are a couple but meet several family groups who came for the adventure and extreme sports, beautiful waterfalls and plenty of animal parks within a short drive from the resort.
We had a massage in the spa which was very enjoyable. The breakfast buffet had eggs made to order but the other options are not very appetising but we have found that in many Asian hotels and restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stand alone villas and very quiet
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 24Maubeuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review. There are many activities around the resort and the location can be better than a city stay if the main attraction is more than bars, restaurants, tourist markets and traffic.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Let's start it simple: it is a very nice place if you wanna get away from "every day routine" . So, we wanted. The hotel is 20 km away from Chiangmai. We rented a car right in the airport, was easy. It is better to pre-book a car before holidays, will be cheaper. If you wanna stay there you need a transport. By taxi to get to the hotel will be expensive. In general it is a good location. There is an elephant camps, zip lines, queens garden, monkey camp and lots of another things to see. On the reception you can find a lot of booklets with all of the info what you can visit around. The staff is extremely helpful and polite. On any our request they replied immediately. Thank you guys, you are awesome! We had a room with a terrace on the lake. Would not say it was new... but clean. Had towels, bathrobes, umbrellas, boiler, hairdryer. According the standard of a good hotel. It was 16-18 degrees in the time we've been. Would be nice to have a heater in the room, but they don't have. The view from the room is to the mountains, very pretty. So, I recommend. Could smoke on a terrace and have coffe/tea. The hotel has 2 pools, you can rent bicycles for free, can go fishing on the lake or take the boat to ride on the lake. The territory of the hotel is also very nice, clean, beautiful park, area for kids. You can see that the staff take care of the territory. There is a retirement home on the territory of the resort. May be not everyone will like it. We did. Nobody disturbed us. For the honeymoon couples it could be may be not the most romantic thing. People are different. The food is good as well. For breakfast we got everything we needed. Also had dinner once there. No complaints, only compliments. In general highly recommend. We even extended our stay for another week.

Room Tip: The room on the lake is the best:)
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elena_Starchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I do apologise for the delay in responding. It can get a little chilly in January which surprises many people so I will look at the availability of heaters for next winter. Personally I love the short cold season but it is not for everyone.

Thank you again for the long and positive review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The resort grounds are very beautiful and on surface it looks amazing. However, the rooms are starting to show decay. We were in a spa room with a spa that didn't work. The water pressure was low and having showers and flushing the toilet was problematic some times. The room was small and with the rollaway bed there was not much space left in the room. The room had a separate mini living room, otherwise we would have felt like choking in the room.

The restaurant wasn't great and the breakfast very average.

This resort is 45 minutes away from downtown Chiang Mai, so consider this when you are planning a stay here.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Guavaberryteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I do agree that some of the spa rooms are tight on space in the bedroom area with an extra bed although the overall room is large. I am now pointing this out on the various websites.
I have checked our records and we had no defects reported fro your room during your stay. Some problems do occur especially because our rooms are all seperate villas. Often (such as the spa pump tripping out) the problem can be fixed very quickly but we rely on gets to inform us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We love how quiet and relaxed this place is, and this is our second trip here. The rooms are good, the pool is great, the location is convenient, and we generally like this place.

That said, the staff don't like to be bothered by paying customers. For the most part, we have been treated like we'll are at least a mild inconvenience by most of the staff. The restaurant staff are by far the worst, though. Tonight we ordered 3 simple entrées at about 6:30pm, and at 8pm we received the water that we ordered. When I went to cancel the scrambled eggs we ordered for our almost 2 year old, the waiter kept insisting that they would be out soon and that we just need to be patient. I told him that we had waited over 1.5 hours and that our 2 yr old just needs to eat, and not to be lectured about patience.

Our group also bought 2 bottles of wine. The first one was a little "skunky", and we decided not to finish it after a few swallows. I went to ask the manager if we could see the actual bottles before we bought another one, and after insisting twice (in Thai) that we just tell her what we want off the menu, she simply stormed off in the middle of me very politely requesting that she let us look at the bottles before we buy them.

This place has so much potential, and we love the area, but it is hard to get excited about paying for a place with toilets that barely work and servers and staff that act like they'd rather you not come.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Trey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

I am sorry that you found problems during your stay especially as it involved staff service. Normally reviews regarding the staff are excellent. The restaurant suffered from high numbers of guests during the peak season and just before New Year we lost 2 staff to a new hotel nearby so o2 of our staff were relatively inexperienced. This should not have affected your service and I apologise. I have discussed the problems with the restaurant staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews