We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$692
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Proud Phu Fah Resort(Mae Rim)
US$95
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai(Mae Rim)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$32
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mae Rim Lagoon(Mae Rim)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
54
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssala cafechiang maithai cookingshort drivenorthern thailandhostsbicyclesaccommodationkmrimhillycyclingscooterrelaxationtigerelephants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a great escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. Just about 30 mins or so from the city and close to many attractions. Wonderful hosts, very flexible and knowledgeable about everything you could want to know. Spacious and comfortable bungalows. As the hosts, Panom and Petchara also have their own tour business they can really easily arrange any kind of short or longer tour. This was a special place to stay!

Room Tip: All bungalows are similar with the new ones on the hill having a wonderful view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had an amazing time with Petchara and Penom, the ecolodge's owners. They were incredibly welcoming and helpful.
When we arrived, we didn't really have a clue what we'd do for the next few days- we just knew we wanted something off the beaten track and get to enjoy nature. Petchara and Penom concocted a perfect blend of cultural and ecological sightseeing.
Penom is a truly gifted guide and we learnt so much about Thailand's treasures, but also about its cultural heritage, politics, the language... Food was outstanding, beautifully home-cooked meals, simple but probably among the best dishes we had during our entire trip.
Great lodgings, super clean. Beautiful private terrace with view on banana trees.
The two things we enjoyed the most: the food offering to Buddhist monks - an exceptional way to give something back - and the rice paddies.
Ah and last but not least: you have to try their homemade, typical Thai coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustineVanImpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you search for a small family run, out of the beaten path lodge in Chiang Mai area, this is great. Do not expect any kind of luxury or high standard acommodation. It is at about 40min drive from Chian Mai city, in the mountains. Panom and Petchara are great hosts that from moment zero will make you feel part of their friends or family. The cooking of Petchara is great and there are nice local treks or walks you can do around. Panom can give you all kind of insights in local culture and whereabouts, specially if you are interested in knowing more about Buddhism he can bring a great deal of new knowledge and insights o you (he was a monk himself for many years).
Besides that they are really helpful recommending things to do and places to go and arranging transportation.
Again, if you seek a lodge without pretensions but with all you need and a familiar environment this is a really nice place to go. If you expect to be in the middle of what is happening in Chiang Mai, then you might want to rethink.

Stayed: December 2012
2  Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

When we first found Petchara and Penom's web site for their Chiang Mai Adventure Tour and Thai Language Center, we had our doubts about how they could possibly juggle so many services much less do them all well. Believe me, they not only do all services well, but with grace, humor, endless energy and extensive experience. Our primary goal was to find a quiet retreat where we could do the following: recharge ourselves in one place after many miles of extensive travelling; take Thai language classes; explore the Chiang Mai area and generally immerse ourselves in the northern Thai culture. Staying at the Ban Rai Eco Lodge more than fulfilled our needs. Penom and Petchara are both English major graduates with an amazing command of the language. Our daily Thai lessons were customized to our needs in preparation for our son's upcoming wedding to his Thai fiancee. Penom made sure that we not only learned some important phrases but also the cultural nuances that would prevent any farang-y faux pas on our part with the bride's family. He even prepared toasts for us to give at the wedding celebration. When not taking our lessons, we were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful grounds of the lodge, nestled in the foothills twenty minutes north of Chiang Mai. The evening sounds of frogs and crickets, the morning sounds of birds, the star-studded skies, the cool temps/low humidity with sunny skies all added up to the perfect natural tonic we needed after the unbearable heat and humidity of Bangkok, Saigon, Siem Reap, etc. When our wanderlust needed feeding, Penom and Pechara's tour service saw to our explorations of the Chiang Mai area. Besides the usual highlights of the area, Penom includes several exclusive sites for his guests, off the beaten path but on the right track with a strong emphasis on cultural enrichment. Having been a monk for ten years, he adds a more personal and in depth experience to the temple/wat visits. A highlight of our trip was making donations to the monks' one early morning in Chiang Mai. From purchase of food to final blessing from each monk after our offerings were made, we really felt like we were part of a very special experience in the Thai culture and religion. My husband and I stayed at the Ban Rai Eco Lodge for three weeks, truly feeling like we had made it our home. Penom and Petchara included us in as much or as little activity as we wanted, always respectful of schedules and our interests. You'll have a very long and frustrating search finding a place as special as this, and there's no better coffee anywhere else in Thailand!
We were sad to leave, but we hope our future can include a return visit to Petchara's perpetual smile and wonderful cooking and Penom's engaging humor and infectious energy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank withmetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We are staying at this wonderful garden of peace, beauty,and tranquility. It is secluded in the hills outside Chiang Mai. The bungalows are roomy, spotlessly clean, comfortable, with windows on three sides and decks in front and back so it is easy to fully enjoy the ambiance of the nature which surrounds us. The food is ample and tasty. Most is locally grown. The coffee is superb and the honey is fresh from the forest and harvested from wild hives near the owner's sister's farm near Chiange Rai. The owners run the Chiange Mai Adventure Tour company and personally provide specially arranged tours to both popular and unique destinations. Both owners speak fluent English and teach classes in Thai, so we are learning the language and culture of Thailand. The highlight of the day was a visit to the local forest temple - a beautiful and sacred spot..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsha578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews