We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we'd stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Mae Rim B&B and Inns
New Ashford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we'd stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed a week at Petchara's and Panom's lodge in Mai Rim outside of Chiang Mai. We awoke in our comfortable cottage to the sound of birds, and alternated our days between tours arranged by their Thai Culture Holidays, and resting, reading and walking and eating at the Lodge. Petchara and Panom treated us as neighbors and family and shared their knowledge of Thai culture, food, religion and politics. We visited the temple where Panom had been a monk, and joined Petchara in the kitchen preparing our meals. Everything was arranged to fit our wishes and abilities. Both of us were sad to leave the warm and welcoming Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge and hope to return and stay longer..

Room Tip: The higher cottages have a better view, and the lower older cottages are more accessible to the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Panom and Petchara, the owners are so helpful and welcoming and contribute to the peace and serenity of this perfect place.

The bungalows are excellent, the food is good and you can help cook it to learn Thai cooking. Nothing is too much trouble. They also organise excellent trips. Lovely and quiet and dark at night, such a change from other places.

Stay here! You won't regret it ad it is near all the attractions

Room Tip: The new bungalows on the hill are superb,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willcp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

we spent 9 days in a newly built bangalow and had a great time, far enough from the city to allow quiet sleep and relaxation, walk along the rice fields yet able to reach the city reasonably easily and cheaply if using thai local transport.
It was perfect for what we were looking for.
Panom and Petchara did provide us with unmatched introduction to the Thai culture , food to spirituality, history to cooking.
Amazing.We can highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It is the most peacefull place where I've been, and after 3 weeks in Bangkok , some islands and Chiang Mai Capital, comming here is the best decision we could take. The owners are fantastic people that made us feel at home. The garden is very nice. Everything perfectly well cared. The rooms with all we needed. She teached us how to cook some thai plates. She was lovely! They speak a perfect english. They rent bikes so it is very easy to get to the waterfalls (even we are not so much used to cycling). I recommend to do picnic at the waterfalls at the 4th or 5th level. Close to the lodge there is a fantastic restaurant called Sala Cafe with the best shakes. A lot of thai people come from Chiang Mai to sit in the terraces of the restaurant and enjoy a good meal, shake, iced coffe.... I completely recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

What a wonderful experience staying at this lovely lodge on the outskirts of Chiang Mai. our hosts Panom and Petchara are so lovely and kind it's made our visit one not to forget. The lodge is in beautiful gardens and the wake up call of the wild life is just magical, would come back but next time stay longer. Just wonderfull. Thank you Panom and Petchara for everything you did for us

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Spent 4 nights here and enjoyed everything about the place. Location is very good - only 20 kms from Chiang Mai and all there is to see there, yet in the countryside/ jungle. Very comfortable bungalows in lovely surroundings. Panom and Petchara are lovely people who will go out of their way with help and advice - particularly with Thai cooking and the language. Their two dogs are adorable. Panom guided us on their Adventure Tour and was a great source of knowledge about Thailand, Chiang Mai and Bhuddism and added greatly to our enjoyment.
Thank you both for everything and for the memories of a great place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hands down the best experience had at an Eco Lodge. The entire staff is open hearted and ready to help with everything from serving delicious and healthy food to teaching thai language to helping us get to know the community around the lodge. The owners were incredible people who even shared with us a visit to their place of spiritual practice. We cannot say enough about this place. We will for sure be returning again and again... Thank you so much to the entire staff!

Room Tip: Its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
1.4 mi away
Howie's HomeStay
Howie's HomeStay
#3 of 19 in Mae Rim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
7.1 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jirung Health Village
Jirung Health Village
#2 of 39 in Mae Rim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
1.3 mi away
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ruen Ariya Resort
#17 of 19 in Mae Rim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge

Property: Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge
Address: 113/4 Moo 5 | Ban Tung Ha bon ,Tambon Maeram, Amper Mae Rim, Mae Rim, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-Lodge for all nature lovers located in the countryside village of Mae Rim district, 20 km north from Chiang Mai. We provide the ensuite bungalows with king-size bed, private bathroom,comfortable tiered terraces both in front & back, free Wi-Fi internet and dependable transport for transferring to & from Chiang Mai Airport. If you are the ones searching for a peaceful place to stay on the scenic hill surrounded with tropical forest and highly interested in learning & touching real Thai culture with local people, Banrai Tin Thai Ngarm is definitely the answer. Come to stay with us to fullfill your memorable holidays in the north of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Hotel Chiang Mai
Ban Rai Tin Thai Ngarm Eco Lodge Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing