We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and you have to judge for yourself rather than base on reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mae Sa Snake Farm

Mae Sa Snake Farm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and you have to judge for yourself rather than base on reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

After mixed reviews and hearing the farm was used in the Rambo films (so how bad/cruel a place could it be?) we decided to go and judge for ourselves. The fee was only 200 baht each with an optional donation after the performance. The performances run continuously so turn up when ever you like. The commentary was in English and the guys were pretty funny and tried to involve everyone. Very informal feel and lots of camera opportunities. The guys must have a great rapport with the snakes to be able to handle them in such a way and get so close - lots of trust from both the snakes to the handlers and handlers to the snake.

As someone who avoids the other known places of animal cruelty/exploitation the first thing I did walking around was look at the animals conditions. Some reviews said they were small enclosures however I felt considering in the UK snakes are kept as pets in small vvivariums these enclosures were at least comparable. All the water bowls were full and the enclosures completely sheltered with places for the snakes to crawl and hide away. The snake we held had a large belly from just being fed. The guys there did seem to care about the snakes and enjoyed getting them out and telling us about them. There isn't a lot at the farm but what do you expect for that price. I think this is a place you need to go and judge for yourself rather than go by reviews alone - hard I know as you don't want to risk encouraging cruelty. On this occasion when we visited all seemed ok.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajpaddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    63
    47
    18
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazed for all the wrong reasons. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Me and two friends attended the snake farm as we heard it is very popular in Chiang Mai! On entry it is 200 baht which is a fair price. But as soon as we walked through the door I regretted giving them the money! It's impressive to see these incredible creatures up close but that's as far as the positive goes! To say the cages are small is an understatement with little to no foliage for the animals to escape the torment. The animals apart from snakes are treated no better for example all the birds had no chance to fly , an alligator with a small puddle and a tiny concrete enclosure. Most to all of the animals looked very sick and un well! The show was alright but consisted of throwing snakes around which I really don't condone also a python kept in a tiny potato sack which had clearly been in there for the whole day. So please please avoid going don't give them the money to continue bringing such majestic animals down to such a cruel and punishing level!

Helpful?
2 Thank Wrightyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It was fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped by when returning from tiger temple, did not expect anything and had we all had fun. Took many photos with us, snakes and iguana. The staff very friendly and seems to be enjoying their work and having fun all the way. They did not put the smiling faces on just for the show, inbetween the shows they joked around with us and between eachother. Worth a visit if you are already in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gastroenolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Get up close without being nickeled and dimed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

200 thb entrance to an interesting and fun snake show. I liked the way you could pose with the snakes, scorpion and iguana with out having someone ask for money. The photo opps are included and we had a lot of fun interacting with the animals and staff. The snake show was good fun, and everyone in the audience had big smiles. I know some may object to animals being used for entertainment, fair play. But the affection the staff has for their animals is apparent. Tips are requested at the end of the show, but optional and no pressure. Enjoy and have your camera ready!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank miller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for first time snake farm tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

If you've never been to a snake farm, its probably worth it for the 200 baht. They have about 10 types of snakes, and one of the women there guided us around and was really knowledgeable and funny. At the end there was a show was cobras and king cobras. I also held a boa for the first time and took pics, which was pretty cool.

Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mae Sa Snake Farm also viewed

Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Mae Sa Snake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing