We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“........this is a minus 10 review......don't go.......you have been warned.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mae Sa Snake Farm

Mae Sa Snake Farm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“........this is a minus 10 review......don't go.......you have been warned.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Whistlestop tour of the attractions of Chiang Mai somehow included the worst flop show on earth. Cobra baiting is the only way to describe this cruel show. I know cobras may not be the most pleasant of snakes but prodding, poking and aggravating the snakes so that they will show how annoyed and frustrated they can become, in the name of entertainment, is not my way of spending time.

Hopefully you might read this BEFORE you think about going and DON'T bother to waste time and money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bryble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    63
    47
    18
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“one of the World's worst abusement parks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The snakes are poked so that they will react for the visitors photo ops. The poor creatures are kept in horrible cages and they are treated barbarically. This place is even worse than the so called monkey schools and the Tiger Temple.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LaraMostert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Went as part of a tour. Wanted to leave straight away. Crass and terrible conditions for the snakes and birds to live in.
The show was terrible, swinging the snakes around - don't go

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went upon recommended by our driver, saying the farm or the owner has been involved in the filming of Rambo4 and that the farm 'saves' snakes from farmers who find them on their farms.

I used to keep many snakes & we were horribly disappointed.

This is a very small sake farm and the show has started when we arrived. The show consisted of keepers kissing cobras or holding the snake by the tail & tossing them towards the audience making them dodge or scream. The keepers also let some non-venomous snake slither near the audience before pulling them back by the tail and flinging them around.
We hated that they had to leverage on audience's fear to make the show any bit exciting.

They also milked the cobra & offered the venom to the audience, claiming that it will enlarge the mens' privates. I pray nobody who accepts has mouth or stomach ulcers to allow the venom into the bloodstream.

Not only did I feel sorry for the snakes, I feel sorrier for the keepers who have to do this for a living.

The mangrove snake was severely dehydrated, probably dying soon and many snakes aren't shedding well. The enclosures are horrible. We were so disturbed we left without completing the farm walk-through.

The farm saving snakes? Bulls**t.
Cobras for show, cheap non-venomous ones probably end up as food for the King cobras.The remaining display-worthy put into miserable enclosures under the blazing sun.

Go if you have no knowledge of snakes or you will be disgusted like we are.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Peruvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and you have to judge for yourself rather than base on reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

After mixed reviews and hearing the farm was used in the Rambo films (so how bad/cruel a place could it be?) we decided to go and judge for ourselves. The fee was only 200 baht each with an optional donation after the performance. The performances run continuously so turn up when ever you like. The commentary was in English and the guys were pretty funny and tried to involve everyone. Very informal feel and lots of camera opportunities. The guys must have a great rapport with the snakes to be able to handle them in such a way and get so close - lots of trust from both the snakes to the handlers and handlers to the snake.

As someone who avoids the other known places of animal cruelty/exploitation the first thing I did walking around was look at the animals conditions. Some reviews said they were small enclosures however I felt considering in the UK snakes are kept as pets in small vvivariums these enclosures were at least comparable. All the water bowls were full and the enclosures completely sheltered with places for the snakes to crawl and hide away. The snake we held had a large belly from just being fed. The guys there did seem to care about the snakes and enjoyed getting them out and telling us about them. There isn't a lot at the farm but what do you expect for that price. I think this is a place you need to go and judge for yourself rather than go by reviews alone - hard I know as you don't want to risk encouraging cruelty. On this occasion when we visited all seemed ok.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajpaddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mae Sa Snake Farm also viewed

Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Mae Sa Snake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing