We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in a beautiful setting”
Review of Proud Phu Fah

Proud Phu Fah
Ranked #13 of 48 Restaurants in Mae Rim
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This small resort also does meals and their restaurant is superb. We ate here twice and enjoyed both meals. Their soup made with pork stuff squid is delicious as is their red snapper and mango salad. Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenLanghammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a wonderful experience. The restaurant is perfect, with three cute cats.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amphoe Muang Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing cuisine!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The restaurant is outstanding. The food and wine (and Belgian beer) are incredibly delicious and served so nicely and with a twist. Reasonably priced. Don't forget to try their home made tiramisu!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Such a shame, young inattentive inexperienced staff, terrible food outrageously priced for what it is”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I am confused by the high rating this restaurant has received so far, we are staying at panviman resort up the road and thought we'd try this place on review recommendations and we are so unbelievable disappointed. We have spent a long time in Thailand and one of the reasons we come back is for the food, generally cheap and amazing, but this was such a let down. The restaurant itself (part of a hotel) is nice enough, a bit random with the chairs and table cloths but that's normal for Thailand, the food was awful though, my boyfriend's pad thai was swimming in oil with little to no taste and mine (fried rice with hot basil omelette) was just horrible. And at 150baht each dish we paid way over the odds (pad thai in down town Chiang Mai was 30thb and amazing). In addition, they added a 10% service charge to the bill which is not customary in Thailand!! We wouldn't have minded too much though except for the fact that the staff just weren't interested in offering service other than the minimum requirement of carrying the food over to us..we even had to go grab our own drinks that they got out but then left on the table the other side of the restaurant!? Odd.
I would absolutely not recommend this restaurant and will not ever be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley_rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
“Lovely, Lovely Proud Phu Fah”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for seven nights in the first week of October and fell head over heels in love with the place. Such a beautiful little resort in breathtaking surroundings. After coming from a Victorian winter the climate was perfect.
The room was well appointed and reception was willing to help with anything we needed. They even worried for us when we stayed in Chiang Mai one night unexpectedly.
We ate 90 percent of our meals at the resort because quite frankly it was marvelous...try the chicken wings!
The massage therapists that treated us to body bending bliss each day were lovely. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the English speaking staff very helpful and great fun.
We enjoyed our time in Mae Rim so much with their help.
All of our jungle dreams came true and we had a truly tranquil break from it all. The mountains, the stream, the jungle were the perfect antidote.
We would recommend Proud Phu Fah to anyone going to Chiang Mai or Mai Rim. We loved discovering the gorgeous little art details scattered along the walking paths and watching the giant fish in the ponds around the resort. Aaaah, such a lovely, lovely, place. We are planning our next trip back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neeny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Proud Phu Fah also viewed

Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Proud Phu Fah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing