We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet resort”
Review of Ruen Ariya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruen Ariya Resort
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We have traveled Thailand for over 5 years now back and forth from Australia. We had never got up as far as Chiang Mai and finally have. Our hotel around the corner from this rest we had booked for 8 days. We asked too check out earlier as there was so much construction going on and not the standards of service we would pay for $150 AUD per night. We just wanted one week off peace and too relax by a quiet pool. This hotel was perfect. Only small though wonderful staff, simple though nice breakfast. The dinners were very nice. We stayed in the royal Jacizzi suite. Was very spacious with little private patio . The Jacuzzi needs a good 2hrs too fill up though very relaxing. The shower could use a little bleach but I don't think any hotel ever does. We used thesis sage mat too put under the bed covers for more softness as beds very hard, some people might like too sleep on a rock and the over 300 channels not one was English. So borrow a DVD player off them. Most times we went too XCentre for odd meal and Ian the owner and locals company. The Botanical Gardens is a must too do. We are more market and drinkers though this was a great few ours. We enjoyed our stay here besides the odd uncomfortable sleep but the pool soon fixed that. If u travelling with family they have a beautiful residence up the back and ur own private pool. We will stay there in July when we come back with friends. I hope u enjoy your stay if u choose this resort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cherie2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Friendly staff, beautiful grounds, with decent sized bedrooms tastefully decorated. A little far from any restaurants and a 10 minute walk to a 7-11. When we were there there was no wifi, and that was a little disappointing. There's also a nice little pool surrounded by tropical greenery. They rent bikes, but at the time we were there no motorbikes were available. Another plus is it's close to many sites such as the Mai sai elephant camp, Tiger Kingdom and other local attractions.

Room Tip: If you need wifi there's a coffee shop near the 7-11 that has free wifi. Also make it a point to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doncoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Booked 2 nights for standard rm and extended 2 more nights in junior suite. Since they were not fully booked, they upgraded us to junior suite for all 4 nights.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. a scooter is available for rental at 150 bhat for half day or 250 bhat for 24 hrs. They will arrange transport to anywhere you want to go. The driver, Mr Kham, is a very safe driver and polite. He will wait for u when you do your things.

The breakfast is limited but that is within expectations. Ruen ariya is a boutique resort with 10 rooms. The staff were attentive and remembered our preferences.

One place to visit nearby is Mon Cham. It is on top of a hill with excellent views and relaxing charm. The cost to go there and back was 1000 bhat. On the way back, we stopped by Mae Sa Waterfalls which was a nice spot.

Nearby local farmers plant strawberries and were good. Strongly recommend! There is a 7-11 nearby (10mins bicycle ride) to buy daily needs. We used the resort bicycles for free! Along the main road, there is a small eatery with excellent tasty food at fraction of price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liyan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days on our honeymoon was a beautiful resort nice and quiet. Really close to the main attractions in Chiang Mai e.g. Tiger Kingdom , Long neck Tribe and Elephant sanctuary and the X centre and lots of waterfalls and bush trials. The staff here really look after you the rooms are cleaned everyday and left immaculate.

We hired a scooter which the reception organised for us made traveling around this area so much easier. they organise taxis its around 500baht to catch a taxi into night bazar which is a 40min ride

i would definitely recommend to people who are wanting to escape the city and book the Jacuzzi room. The TV doesn't have english channels so you can ask at reception for dvd player and pick up dvd's at markets for cheap

for the price you pay which is about $50AUD a night it definitely is a hidden Gem

Room Tip: the Jacuzzi Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordie5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My family of 4 rented a small villa and stayed for 3 nights. The room is very spacious and enough privacy for me and my wife with a private bedroom. Although it's a small resort, it gave us a family feeling, with personalized services. They serve authentic local fair for dinner and good quality breakfast (both in taste and presentation). The location is away from the main road but still central enough in Mae Rim to journey to the other places of interest. My family has such relaxing time; waking up in the morning to the sounds of rooster, birds and dripping condensation water from trees. High recommended for a family stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushroom262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were lucky to stay at the guest house with our familly of 8 persons.
A good quality of rooms and freindly staff helping us out great. We had a private swiming pool but also a nice central pool. The hotel provided us with a bus and chaufeur for transportation to the night market. May be one less positeve thing was that breakfast offered limited choice.
The road from the hotel into the mountains offered plenty of amusement with monkey, crocodile and elephant shows botanic garden ald buggy racing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Me and a couple of my friends came down from Bangkok and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The quietness and completely peaceful surroundings were just the change of pace that was required. Compared to the relative unfriendliness of the hotel staff in Bangkok, the staff over here was very very friendly. We wanted to go to 7-11 at 1 AM, and the staff was more than happy to drive us there.The rooms and grounds were spacious, beautiful and neat. Definitely staying over if I am back in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NaveenSoman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
0.8 mi away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#9 of 19 in Mae Rim
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#12 of 19 in Mae Rim
26 reviews
7.8 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
4.5 mi away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruen Ariya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Ariya Resort

Address: 298 Moo 1 | Mae Ram Sub-district, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range: £16 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Ariya Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tranquil tropical greenery in Chiang Mai, Ruen Ariya Resort offers accommodation with a private balcony and free Wi-Fi access. It houses a restaurant, an outdoor pool and a spa.Ruen Ariya is 5 km from Queen Sirikit Botanical Garden and 10 km from Mon Cham, which offers picturesque views of mountains and valleys. Chiang Mai International Airport is 30 km away.Fitted with dark woo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ruen Ariya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruen Ariya Resort Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing