We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing & great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing & great service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well laid out resort. The room we had was ideal with an outside area to sit, relax and take in the surroundings.
All staff were very attentive & helpful.
The resort is someway out of Chiang Mai but also on the way to some activities. Not hard to get transport to go where you need. Alternatively just relax by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear TasJon,

Thank you so very much for staying with us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai. It pleases me to see that you enjoyed activities in and out side of the resort. I am also happy to see that you found the staff to be very helpful. I will pass along the kind words. I hope that you get to come back to Thailand in the future and that we are able to see you again.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    104
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
216
503
36
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Will not include too many details but just to highlight what we enjoyed or otherwise:

Rooms
- slightly dated and old style controls for electrical items and lights
- top notch bed
- spacious but dated bathroom. Rain/hand shower functional but not up to modern standards

Resort
- plenty of activities for adults & children (at kids club)
- landscaping is extensive, making full use of the valley terrain and local flora. Also unique in integrating rice fields as a central feature
- rice/padi planting was easy, fun and educational activity
- not very conducive for cycling due to up-down nature of the terrain
- many planned activities available for adults or children
- you can get freshly cooked breakfast mains (good and yummy selection) besides the usual buffet spread

Spa
- traditional architecture
- superb service with variety of delicious hot or cold teas

Some (un)expected surprises
- director of spa greeted us and gave us some local tea to take away
- waitresses doubling up as baby sitters at every occasion
- many small four-season 'surprises' and touches and perfectly trained staff that goes towards creating the Four Season experience. This resort is no different in that respect except that it perhaps builds very well on the traditional Thai hospitality.

All in, the rooms could do with an upgrade but the overall resort and service really does justice to the brand.

Room Tip: Lanna pavilion is near to the health club and terrace (where most activities are organised). Checked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shockl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear shockl,

I wanted to reach out and thank you for staying with us on your recent trip. I would also like to thank you for tkaing the time to fill in this response about your stay with us. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed so many aspects for the resort. I would also like to thank you for your comments on the room and to let you know they will be upgraded over the next year. I hope we get to see you again very soon on your next trip to Thailand.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Everything perfect to the last detail. The title tells everything. The Four Seasons always maintain a standard of luxury that cannot be found easily. The facilities, the staff, the atmosphere combined with a thai price is worth your visit. We stayed one week and if our visa wasn't run out we would have stayed longer indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are colder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthenianGodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear AthenianGodess,

I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai. Next time if you want us to help you extend your visa just let us know and that way you can relax longer and enjoy the resort even more. We hope to see you back again soon.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Our only regret was not staying longer and utilising their spa and fabulous restaurants. We ate in the Italian both nights and it was superb. The staff cannot do enough for you, buggy rides to everywhere were fun and necessary as the property is so huge. It's breathtakingly beautiful surrounded by jungle and a watering hole. Would love to return one day..

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bkemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Bkemsley,

I wanted to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to the north of Thailand. I am very happy to see that we have been able to create a small slice of Heaven for you here. You must come back again and try our Spa on your next visit. It is wonderful. Thank you again.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Wonderful hotel in an amazing scenery.
Excellent food and kind service. Spacious rooms in a rice field scenery. Gentle staff. Great choice in Chiangmai. Although it is not in the city center, it is still a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear JulianaSM,

I wanted to thank you very much for staying with us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai and for tkaing the time to write about it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and especially the yummy Thai food we have here. I do hope that you will be able to come back and see us again very soon.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have visited several times in the last "14 years" and have very fond memories ( always :))) after leaving this "magniiiiiificent" place....... , it is located outside of the city and in Beautiful Mae Rim !!! , the natural beauty of the area , as well as the gardens of the hotel , create a certain atmosphere that is sooo very peaceful , I do practice sitting , and walking , meditation , and i found the "energy" at the hotel suitable for being able to meditate as well !..., Jeff Miller , the manager , was at the door to welcome me , and in a very genuine way . We had time to chat while staying there ( in total 9 nights ) and was glad to notice he was Not as formal as previous hotel managers , the staff at the hotel were all but "ALL" so but Sooo very "Kind" always but "always" willing to listen , respond with a "genuine smile :)" and then proceed and try to help no matter what the issue or request , now "THAT" i deeply Deeply "always but ALWAYS appreciate" when visiting . The food , and the "way" it is presented always :) ! . Unfortunately i was out every day , while visiting , so did not have time to experience All the hotel has to offer , it "is" an Oasis and i am Not talking "only" about the location itself , the "human element" , if I may use that expression !!, but then again .. we ARE talking about northern Thailand ( culture , beauty and those "genuine KIND Smiles which I already miss :)))))))
A MILLION THANKS to All !!!!!!!
from alexander

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear alexander d,

It was a pleasure meeting you and having your here with us once again. We are so happy that we can be your "Home Away from Home" while you are with us in Thailand each year. We look forward to seeing you again next year and let us know if we can help with anything before hand.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were looking for a quiet place to unwind, read, eat and swim. we found it at the Four Seasons - and more.

Villas are built amongst carefully landscaped trees and streams around the central feature of a lake and working rice farm. Kuoni had not offered us a choice of villa and ours was secluded, as opposed to standing proud overlooking the paddy fields. The benefit was privacy compared to the rice view villas which are shoulder to shoulder.

Following a fifty minute drive from the airport during which the Asian Trails Rep tried hard to sell his tours, we were checked in by efficient and friendly staff. I shall stop describing people as friendly as in Thailand friendly appears to be the only option - baring one person during our two week trip.

Our room carried the woody aroma of a French country cottage, was of a good size with all the feature one needs - including excellent free wi fi. The bath is a little short but is designed with an al fresco theme. The shower was first class. I regularly denounce hotels fro providing only one armchair in a room for two people. Not so here. However, we never used them as the private terrace was just too beguiling. With its table and chairs and day bed it was akin to having a sitting area inside a butterfly farm.

We tok breakfast on a terrace overlooking the rice fields. This was the best breakfast of our trip and included my favourite 'Eggs Benedict'.

We ate three times at the resort, once European and twice Thai. Good food, not amazing but certainly good.

The pool is excellent by any standard with a small adults only pool siting at a lower level. Pool service cannot be faulted.

The staff will buzz you around in golf buggies if you choose. We chose not.

A complimentary shuttle runs guests into Chiang Mai City which deserves at least one visit. Excursions include mountains and elephants - we have done both before.

The cookery school looked interesting but means an early start and is pricey. As a non cook it would have been wasted on me and my other half didn't want to do it solo.

We would have liked a tour of the grounds with a naturalists but the sole opportunity clashed with the bus to town - pity.

A wonderful stay for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Decide on a pool, rice view or garden villa carefully to match your tastes and pocket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinTurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear KevinTurvey,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Chiang Mai. I am so happy to see that you found the peace and quiet that you were needing. I hope that you will be able to return one day in the future for that garden tour that you were not able to squeeze in this past time. Our gardening team would be happy to show you around.

All the best,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
10.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
8.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
11.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Address: 502 Moo 1, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the majestic Mae Rim Valley, Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai features refined local Lanna Kingdom culture and contemporary designer-enriched Pavilions with stunning views of terraced rice fields and misty mountains beyond. Minutes from the historic city of Chiang Mai, the resort is a perfect springboard for discovering the Northern region's most glittering heritage sites and colourful contemporary life. Explore the resort's lush tropical grounds to discover intriguing insights into the exotic local flora and fauna. Tick off atmospheric ancestral shrines, rice fields and beloved water buffaloes. Discover local flavours and original cocktails, especially those created by world-renown mixologist Javier de la Muelas. Add another talent to your repertoire at the resort's acclaimed Thai cooking school and feel the world from different perspectives at The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing