We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty flowers and a few butterflies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid and Butterfly Farm

Orchid and Butterfly Farm
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
275 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pretty flowers and a few butterflies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

An opportunity to see a great variety of orchids in one place, some with a smell of paradise. They are nicely arranged and amazing that many of them grow hanging in the air with no soil. The butterfly display was a bit disappointing, since there were few of them and not really colorful as I have seen in other butterfly sanctuaries.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BasicsTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    72
    80
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The clue really is in the name of this place. A bunch of orchids and a handful of butterflies is what you get. Our highlight was the ice creams on offer at the end after we'd spent the 5 minutes needed to walk around this place.

We went at the end of a tour having, really would not recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FancyAnAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went as part of a tour and spent 15 minutes there which was enough. There's not much to see just a few orchids and one small enclosure of butterflies.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MiRiAmAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really not that interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Orchid farm was the first stop on my three day trekking trip North of Chiang Mai. I'm not a florist or a butterfly enthusiast, but the farm is nicely structured, compact and colorful. Still, if the visit wasn't included in the trek, the farm would be a disappointment. Basically, there are two "rooms" with rows of orchids strung up on ropes and one "room" where some dull butterflys fly around. There are no descriptions or guided tours and the cafe is quite expensive (for Thailand).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
324 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“a spectacular orchid display”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was my lunch stop after a wonderful trip north of Chiang Mai to visit the Queen Sirikit Botanical Gardens & Park, and a nice walk into the Mae Sa Waterfall & Park. I was delighted to see the incredible orchids in bloom, and interesting displays on how orchids grow. The Vanda orchids & a few others were spectacular and so colorful ! The staff was helpful and friendly, and the buffet lunch very good. It was the perfect late lunch stop on the way back to Chiang Mai.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulAK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orchid and Butterfly Farm also viewed

Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Orchid and Butterfly Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing