We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing in Nature in comfort with GREAT food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Mae Rim
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing in Nature in comfort with GREAT food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

A great family hotel with a waterfall running through the MIDDLE of the hotel. We stayed in the tents and they were very very comfortable, and we also looked at the other rooms which were great also. Lots of RnR and some fantastic walks and local villages to visit. We will be back.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jack181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    42
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
35
69
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Sukantara is a Must that is have to try once in your life...Landscape,people and food are fantastic and you feel like in another dimesion so faraway from our western way of life.
I would like to thanks all the staff and especially Sam you give us a dream.
Thank you...

With love,

Andrea & Rossella

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAFFO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

A very nice resorts with pretty room, close to nature. However, location is a big far from city center, hotel service is not available at night, lots of forest bugs. Overall, we love staying there and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L1b3rty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
370 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

I stayed at this resort for 2 nights with their adventure package, my choice of room was the deluxe Lanna cottage with jacuzzi. First, the pick up service was not efficient, driver was 30 min late arriving at the airport, left me feeling lost and stranded. It was a scenic 40 min drive to this resort, which is tucked away in a very secluded spot of Mae Rim region. Once arrived, one cannot help but be enchanted by the sight of the waterfall and the surrounding charm. This resort is run by a family, so you get a feeling of staying with a family, rather than usual cold feeling of checking into another hotel.

I shall mention the good things first. All meals are served in the restaurant by the waterfall, which is truly charming and relaxing. Food quality is above average, prices are not cheap but not exorbitant either. My package included all breakfast and a free Lanna stylre kantoke dinner. Kanthoke dinner is served by the outer "platform" with candle lights and one sits on Thai cusion, this is one of those precious experience when visiting Nothern Thailand. Since this resort is far way from everything, I just spend a day relaxing and took leisurely stroll around the resort. Fortunately, there was a lot of see, and abundant opportunities for the photographers. You will truly be in paradise if you love animals. The resort owner keeps a fewe birds (in the cage), 4 free-roaming peacocks, one of them is albino! A cute little long-haired chiquqhua named Mickey, and a parrot to greet you "sawasdee ka!". It's easy to spot the peacocks opening it's fan any time of the day. I was treated to this amazing site each time I had breakfast! 2 resident drivers Pow and Dan (He is the younger one) are both friendly and helpful. Dan took me to the tour which was included in this package, we went to thr elephant camp, monkey trainging shcool, orchid farm and the hill tribes village, etc. He was very happy when he received a nice tip. In the afternoon, I decided to have a relaxing jacuzzi, and was really pleased with my choice, a jacuzzi bath in the open nature was a true luxury!

Now comes the bad things. First, my room smell rather musty all the time, even after airing it for the whole day with all the windows opened. The outdoor bathroom is too exposed and I can see staffs walking pass and see me! The hot water system is not very reliable, it's hard to get the right temperature, it always change from very hot to freezing cold! My advice is try not to take showers at night when it's so cold outside. Wi-fi internet is ok, but with some disconnections, and speed is fairly slow. For those who like to stay at their famous "Eco tent", one has to walk over a hanging bridge to get there, and climb up some unsturdy stairs to get up there. Good walking shoes are recommended, and be careful when transporting your luggage there.

It's hard to say should I recommend this resort or not, you will have to decide if it has the things you are looking for. I'd say a 2-night stay is plenty, the waterfall and the beautiful nature does have a cleansing effect on the mind, more so than the spa they have which was overpriced. If you like something to do at night, then this place is not for you, because it does not offer limosine service to and from the night bazzar like other resorts do, enough said.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Sukantara is one of those magical tucked-away paradises that takes a little research to discover, but once you walk through the tropical foliage and pass the sculptures and enter the reception area that is completely engulfed in a jungle waterfall ravine, your breath is taken away. We came here with an extended family - my wife, brother and sis in law, a friend and our 2 kids - and we rented the double lana cottage. Peacocks (one albino) wandered freely and the exterior world was completely shut out during our whole time here. The staff was wonderful, and we got to know Sam the proprietor a little, who is obviously a hands-on and proud owner. This is a true escape, and one we hope to come back to again in the future. Rustic luxury. Comfort and pleasure in the midst of nature. Near the elephant camps and white water rafting. Romantic. Great for kids. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaManMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Superb setting on a waterfall which was in full flow at the time of our stay as it was the rainy season. This does make it a little noisy but also adds to the beauty of the setting. We stayed for two nights r and r after a very busy week of early starts and lots of activities so the fact that there is little to do here was perfect for us.
There are treking options from the resort and the staff will accompany guests as guides on the longer walks. The restaurant is fine for a couple of nights but may be a little restricted on longer stays.
The stafff are all friendly and helpful and we thought the rooms were lovely and really enjoyed the open air bathrooms which are very spacious.
I would not recommend this resort if you are wanting to go into Chiang Mai but for a jungle setting it cant be beaten.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

The Luxury Camp was an amazing experience which exceeded our expectations.

The relaxed atmosphere was really comfortable, fitted with modern appliances, hot water an in ground spa bath and bamboo shower - pure luxury in Northern Thailand! If you are looking for modern comfort in a relaxed atmosphere with stunning waterfall views, visit Sukantara and stay in the luxury camp - it is an experience to remember!

Australia

  • Liked — Luxury Camp - modern appliances in nature
  • Disliked — the steps to get there!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EliseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Rim
15.1 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#14 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
6.3 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
6.1 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa

Property: Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
Address: 12/2 Moo 8 Mae Rim | T.Maeram, A.Mae Rim, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Luxury boutique resort which is the perfect for private romantic honeymoon. The Resort lies on the sloping bank of a mountain stream in the verdant Chiangmai highland. Mountain water cascades over boulders in the stream, creating tiered waterfalls right below the Lanna-Balinese-style guest cottages and offers the blissful experiences of close-to-nature living, that will remain a cherished memory for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukantara Cascade Resort And Spa
Sukantara Cascade Hotel Mae Rim
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing