We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winter's treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Decks Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 14 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Swellendam, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A winter's treat”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The guesthouse is very nice and stylish. I loved the decor. It was a very wet and cold weekend, but in our room it was so nice and warm. The breakfast was well prepared with nice chats inbetween. The owners are so friendly and make you feel very at home!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
26
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We truly had a lovely stay at your beautiful place. It was short but great. AND it was worth the wait.

Both Timothy and I agreed that we have never experienced such a close, cozy and family vibe at a guesthouse before. We think that makes Sunset Decks truly unique. Please, please keep it that way.

We also noticed that your guests are regulars, we can without a doubt see and understand why!

Please can you keep me updated with your next special.

THANK YOU VERY VERY VERY MUCH.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilzek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

For our first visit to CT, this guesthouse was perfect!! The family make you feel very welcome and you meet a range of different people when you are introduced at breakfast. The room we had was spacious and clean and it was well kept by the maids over our two week stay. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, on the early mornings when we were up at 6.30am, there were offerings of hot food to still be made for us, however we felt cereals and toast was enough. The omelettes we had were yummy! We had lots of help and advice on things to do and there was lots of information available to guide the plan for our holiday! The location of the guesthouse is perfect. A 5 min walk from the beautiful sunset beach, where there is the iconic view of table mountain and the valley of Cape Town. It was lovely at evening to walk along here and even watching the sunset was gorgeous. We also made good use of the 'Myciti' bus system, which is again a 5 min walk from the guesthouse, and a very reliable and easy to use service. It will take you to most of the places of great interest and is very cheap!
The price of this guesthouse is extremely reasonable for the great service and environment which is provided. We would not hesitate to return!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and spacious!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My second visit to Sunset Decks will certainly not be my last. This guest house is a family run establishment with the emphasis upon family. Fantastic accommodation, spotless, modern and great food and hospitality. Great value for money too! Conveniently located with excellent conferencing facilities. This place has it all. First class! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcollinscoaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorfen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The guesthouse is in 5min. walking distance to the fantastic Sunset Beach where you have a stunning view to the table mountain. Enjoy the sunrise or the sunset and walk along the white beach to the restaurants around.
The guesthouse itselfe is very "familyary". A great breackfast prepared from Jared is a perfect start into the day. Thank you Jared for the deligious omlets with pesto :-)
The hospitality of June, Lance and Jared was fantastic, too. Thank you Lance for the great wine we had at your privat bar in your living room!
I had the "The Chic" room. It needs a little painting and refurbishing.
I can recommend Sunset Decks to everyone who wants to discover Capetown.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zofingen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at this place. Warm, friendly and all you need. June, Lance and Jaryd made everything possible and made us feel at home!
Excellent, personalized service!

Looking forward to going back to stay with them next time I'm in Cape Town.

The only problem we had with this place: We didn't want to leave in the end.......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niklaus_ammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Sunset Decks was a great place to stay! Lance, June and Jarred were so amazing they made me feel really at home! I had such a blast with them it was a great crack!
After a long days out, it was such a pleasure to get back to sunset decks and have and chillout at the bar with some of the best wine I have had!
Such a friendly bunch I had an absolute blast and I would highly recomed staying with them!
Looking forward to going back to stay with them next time I'm in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
0.4 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
119 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Lodge & Spa
Sunset Beach Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sunset Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Breeze
Atlantic Breeze
#2 of 14 in Sunset Beach
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Beach Villa
Atlantic Beach Villa
#1 of 14 in Sunset Beach
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Waves Guest House
Atlantic Waves Guest House
#4 of 14 in Sunset Beach
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Decks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Decks Guesthouse

Property: Sunset Decks Guesthouse
Address: 4A Engina Crescent, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Decks Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the exclusive suburb of Sunset Beach, we are 500m from the world famous Kite Surfing Beach, with majestic views of Table Mountain. Each unit has a toilet and shower or bath, its own fridge, cutlery, crockery, TV, DVD and patio with braai (bbq) facilities. Every morning we have scrumptious full English breakfasts in the dining room & join us in the fully licensed pub or on the decks for sundowners at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Decks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Decks Guesthouse Sunset Beach, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing